We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenfall Inn(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
Glendower Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Araliya Green City(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hill Club(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Collingwood Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stamford Star Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tanosa(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,284)
Filter reviews
2,284 results
Traveler rating
791
854
406
152
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
854
406
152
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaindian restaurantmagnolia restaurantsri lankatea roomgolf courseold world charmsnooker roompublic roomsgrand indianlobby areabreakfast buffet ismain restaurantcolonial stylecommon areascolonial timeswi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,336 - 1,341 of 2,284 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is as per the name "grand".the best thing was the morning breakfast which was out of the world.. The atmosphere in nuwara eliya is also good.. Must stay but one night is enuf.. There is no swimming pool or any extra-activities except cycling .. So one night should be okay.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Ruch4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review and your endorsement of the the experience we provide. Apart from Cycling, we now have a revamped nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Beautifully situated, with absolutely lovely gardens.
We stayed one night. The room was very comfortable. Thoughtfully a heater was provided which helped us stay warm. The room had a lovely view to the gardens, so the lack of a lift was not a problem.
We ate at Restaurant Two (it is just at the end of the drive and not part of this hotel). We did not want Indian food, as we are from India.
I spent some time looking at the old black and white pictures hung all over the hotel. That for me was the highlight of the stay.
Overall the service was good - I think with some extra effort they can delight the customer.
Breakfast was nice with reasonable choice.
I would recommend a stay to experience a heritage building that has a lot of history associated with it.

Room Tip: Room on second floor gives a good view of the gardens. Get a room facing the front. Ask the staff to tell you about the hotel. By default they dont.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishalbhaskaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and your kind words about the experience we provide. To delight every single guest of ours is indeed our singular aim, and we are happy to learn that your stay with was an enjoyable one. Yes, the vintage photographs display many facets of Sri Lankan Life in the past, and are appreciated by many.
We have revamped our nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just 1 night in October, very small room but it had all we needed, location is great and the town is within walking distance.
We enjoyed lunch here served in a small dining room, I think it was called Magnolias, food was lovely and there was a great choice of non alcoholic beverages, we were half board so ate our dinner in a large dining hall, there is a dress code which included long trousers for men which they seemed quite strict about, food was great with lots of choice and same goes for the breakfast, no complaints here about this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank julier1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review and your endorsement of the the experience we provide. To delight every single guest of ours is our singular aim, and we are so happy to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We have revamped our nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have spent an amazing two days fly fishing with Susantha at the grand hotel. Very helpful and knowledgeable.
The hotel is truly breathtaking with the views of not only the tea plantations but the surrounding forest.
Food at the hotel is amazing I suggest trying the club-sandwich and steak sandwich the best around. are one of the most amazing you will see.
Brian

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihiri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and your kind words about the experience we provide. Yes, Susantha is a very knowledgeable Naturalist, with a years of experience, and we are happy he was able to add value to your holiday in Nuwara Eliya. We have developed a new nature and adventure program and also hope to open an authentic Thai restaurant, which will no doubt add value to the Grand experience in this Hill station. So, we do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On the approach to this hotel you are struck by a the wonderful Victorian architecture of this Hotel. The grounds are well maintained but the interior is showing its age. We found the layout confusing and constantly got lost trying to fine our room. The room was small and in need of an upgrade the view we had was of air conditioning units. The buffet for dinner and breakfast was fine with a good range of food for all tastes. We found the staff to be lacing in training and at times unhelpful. We were not sure if it was because of language barrier or what but everything seems to take a long time and lots of confusion about simple requirements like order coffee/ water/ wine etc was a problem. We also had lunch in St. Andrews and found the same problem with the staff there as well. The one thing the Hotel has going for it is that it was a fantastic tea menu and we did enjoyed sampling the delights of the region. We stayed for one night and booked this hotel because the Tea Factory and St. Andrews were fully booked but overall it was our worst hotel in Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that you did not find all of our facilities and areas to your liking. We will be concentrating on improving our interiors to complement the Garden and the heritage factor of the hotel, in our next refurbishment program. However, we are happy to note that you found the quality of our food and the selection of Tea we offer to be of a very high standard.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews