We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old place”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Beautifully situated, with absolutely lovely gardens.
We stayed one night. The room was very comfortable. Thoughtfully a heater was provided which helped us stay warm. The room had a lovely view to the gardens, so the lack of a lift was not a problem.
We ate at Restaurant Two (it is just at the end of the drive and not part of this hotel). We did not want Indian food, as we are from India.
I spent some time looking at the old black and white pictures hung all over the hotel. That for me was the highlight of the stay.
Overall the service was good - I think with some extra effort they can delight the customer.
Breakfast was nice with reasonable choice.
I would recommend a stay to experience a heritage building that has a lot of history associated with it.

Room Tip: Room on second floor gives a good view of the gardens. Get a room facing the front. Ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishalbhaskaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and your kind words about the experience we provide. To delight every single guest of ours is indeed our singular aim, and we are happy to learn that your stay with was an enjoyable one. Yes, the vintage photographs display many facets of Sri Lankan Life in the past, and are appreciated by many.
We have revamped our nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just 1 night in October, very small room but it had all we needed, location is great and the town is within walking distance.
We enjoyed lunch here served in a small dining room, I think it was called Magnolias, food was lovely and there was a great choice of non alcoholic beverages, we were half board so ate our dinner in a large dining hall, there is a dress code which included long trousers for men which they seemed quite strict about, food was great with lots of choice and same goes for the breakfast, no complaints here about this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank julier1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review and your endorsement of the the experience we provide. To delight every single guest of ours is our singular aim, and we are so happy to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We have revamped our nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have spent an amazing two days fly fishing with Susantha at the grand hotel. Very helpful and knowledgeable.
The hotel is truly breathtaking with the views of not only the tea plantations but the surrounding forest.
Food at the hotel is amazing I suggest trying the club-sandwich and steak sandwich the best around. are one of the most amazing you will see.
Brian

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihiri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and your kind words about the experience we provide. Yes, Susantha is a very knowledgeable Naturalist, with a years of experience, and we are happy he was able to add value to your holiday in Nuwara Eliya. We have developed a new nature and adventure program and also hope to open an authentic Thai restaurant, which will no doubt add value to the Grand experience in this Hill station. So, we do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On the approach to this hotel you are struck by a the wonderful Victorian architecture of this Hotel. The grounds are well maintained but the interior is showing its age. We found the layout confusing and constantly got lost trying to fine our room. The room was small and in need of an upgrade the view we had was of air conditioning units. The buffet for dinner and breakfast was fine with a good range of food for all tastes. We found the staff to be lacing in training and at times unhelpful. We were not sure if it was because of language barrier or what but everything seems to take a long time and lots of confusion about simple requirements like order coffee/ water/ wine etc was a problem. We also had lunch in St. Andrews and found the same problem with the staff there as well. The one thing the Hotel has going for it is that it was a fantastic tea menu and we did enjoyed sampling the delights of the region. We stayed for one night and booked this hotel because the Tea Factory and St. Andrews were fully booked but overall it was our worst hotel in Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that you did not find all of our facilities and areas to your liking. We will be concentrating on improving our interiors to complement the Garden and the heritage factor of the hotel, in our next refurbishment program. However, we are happy to note that you found the quality of our food and the selection of Tea we offer to be of a very high standard.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My friends and I visited Grand Hotel for lunch in October 2013. 6 of us walked in looking for a restaurant for lunch. When we found it and asked for a table for 6, the waiter (young local guy) suggested we try the buffet instead in the other restaurant. We went to check it out and decided to go for the proper restaurant with a nice a la carte menu.

We sat down in what was a nice and cosy restaurant and when we were ready to order, we called on the waiter.

We started to each give our orders, taking turns to carefully state what we wanted when he very rudely and abruptly stopped us after placing our first order. He told us, and using very rude, almost commanding hand gestures for everyone to CONSOLIDATE our order and that I should tell him the whole order alone. For e.g. I should tell him how many soups we wanted, how many of the same mains we wanted. Dude, seriously, we are at a bloody hotel and is it so difficult to take 6 orders? Anyway, we adhered and I consolidated the orders. Meanwhile, the same waiter was behaving like he was not even interested in being there when we ordered water and he did not even acknowledge and walked off.

The food came. 2 of my friends ordered clam/mussel pasta with WHITE wine sauce because they were having bad stomaches and did not want any cream. Instead, 2 creamy chicken pastas came. When we asked the waiter to come and that they served us the wrong dish, he INSISTED that it was CLAM/Mussel pasta. At this point we were speechless. We told him to try the damned meat and tell us if it was clams. He took it to the chef then came back to 'apologise' for their mistake. While waiting, I had the risotto which was absolutely sh** (just like rice soaked in cream) and my friend's expensive seafood platter too was below standards with prawns not being fresh and flakey.

Anyway, the 2 pastas finally came and guess what? Cream sauce. Voila. Perfecto. Why put white wine pasta on the menu if you just want to serve whatever you damned well please? Screw it, we could not bother to get a new order.

Yummy, when I was eating, cockroach crawled up my table. I crushed it with the place mat and told the waiter about it. He cleaned off the crushed cockroach with a tissue and walked away. I called him back and said, are you going to change my place mat? He pulled it off and walked away. Took about another 5mins before he came back with a "new one", probably the same one.

Anyway... the breads and buns served before everything were really good. That's all I can say about this restaurant.

You'd expect service to be a top priority when it comes to being in the hospitality industry but I guess not.

I'm not one to complain but even service in KFC is better. Just feel the necessity to warn people and/or to let management know. There was no manager around and the whole fort was manned by one incompetent and professionally rude waiter.

Hotel is beautiful btw.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest, We are extremely sad and shocked to hear about your experience. Your detailed description while sounding very unpleasant, has made us look at ourselves and examine the way we treat our customers. We do get an overwhelming majority of positive and in fact, excellent comments about our services, but that will not prevent us from giving your review top priority. Even as I write this response many of our managers are probing into this incident. At this point, I would earnestly request you to provide us the dates and times if possible so that we could get to the exact circumstances of this series of events. you may contact me on rm@grandhotel.lk.
Whilst thanking you for taking the time to review us, we do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Smart old fashioned hotel now showing its age a bit. Rather smallish room. Was rather windy and cold. We exhausted the supply of tissues trying to stop the draughts and loud rattling from the window panes - (putty and sealant dry and hard so panes were loose.) Floors uneven and sloping leading to unexpected cupboard door openings. We also had a number of inflated balloons in our room - not sure why, Didn't find the string quartet but it looked like the sort of place that would have one.
Restaurant good and staff helpful and friendly.
Certainly not a characterless modern like many others and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Check for rattles and draughts. Ask for ac - maybe noisy but you should be warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to note that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us. However, we note with concern your comment about the window rattling due to strong winds. We have now checked all our rooms and have corrected situation. we thank you for bringing it to our notice. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our room was big with a good sized bathroom. The bath was very deep; we added plenty of hot water and had a great soak. The room and bathroom were clean, tho they struggle with the mould in the bathroom. An exhaust fan would help with the mould. The room had a heater and was well appointed.

The food was a highlight with lots of traditional Sri Lankan to choose from. We ate in the ball room as well as the smaller snack bar. Great staff.

Check out the gift shop located in the lowest floors. Most of the souvenirs were priced well, below what we found in other places. Lots of quirky clothing.

This was part of what was a fantastic Bunnik 17-day tour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review and we are glad to note that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us. We have taken special note your comment about the rooms and have taken immediate remedial action.
In the meantime we would like to inform you of the additions we will make during the coming months. We have revamped our nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green City
Araliya Green City
#9 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $199 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing