We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nidwalden Resort(Nuwara Eliya)(Great Value!)
$46
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trevene Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$34
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
$248
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Allen(Nuwara Eliya)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$48
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unique Cottages(Nuwara Eliya)
$67
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
$257
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,315)
Filter reviews
2,315 results
Traveler rating
811
864
407
152
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
864
407
152
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaindian restaurantmagnolia restaurantsri lankatea roomgolf courseold world charmsnooker roompublic roomsgrand indianlobby areabreakfast buffet ismain restaurantcolonial stylecommon areascolonial timeswi fi
Filter
Updating list...
1,465 - 1,470 of 2,315 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Beautiful old hotel with excellent service and wonderful original features. Enourmous dining room with wonderful buffet dinner. Wifi in public areas - good opportunity to sit in the comfy couches of the beautiful lounge area. Close enough to walk in to town and go shopping/looking around.

Nuwara Eliya was getting ready for new years so it was a bit noisy but the room while old was comfortable. It was lovely to be cool!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review and we are happy to learn that you were able to enjoy and appreciate the colonial ambience of the property and have an enjoyable stay. We are constantly looking at enhancing our service and adding value to our guests experience ,which is why we have some exciting improvements planned for the future, which we hope you would be able to enjoy when you visit us next. Yes, the city does get noisy during the april season, but now the garden city is back to its famous tranquility. So do visit us again, and best wishes from all at Grand Hotel.
Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is having some renovations carried out in the front side of the building but once in side this is no problem. Lovely afternoon tea and cakes and coffee shop area is spacious and airy. Perfect to relax in. The town has been busy with Poya festival and new year. The climate has been lovely after the heat of Colombo and we needed jumpers in the evenings and blankets on the beds! Check out the bathrooms as there are v good. Always a thing to consider in SL

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiCarolP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review and we are happy to learn that your stay with us was most enjoyable. The Grand Hotel has been providing accommodation for over 120 years, and has been constantly making improvements to the property and the services , to delight our valued guests. We are happy to hear your comments about our new artistically designed washrooms which is one such recent addition. Thank you once again and best wishes from all at Grand Hotel.
Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely old building, rooms need some work considering the rack rates!
Nice restaurant, beautiful gardens, but the rooms really are not good enough. Wifi in the very nice lounge areas. Afternoon tea looked terrific

Room Tip: Don't go to the back, noise of dogs, the generator etc, was pretty annoying
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigrid_b23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review and we are happy to note that you enjoyed most of the services offered by us specially the High Tea, which is now a popular feature in Nuwara eliya.
We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Thanks and best wishes from all at Grand Hotel.
Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Yes it is truly Grand, majestic. One of the finest hotels. We enjoyed our stay here.
The GM welcomed us and made us feel comfortable and the check in was smooth.
Rooms are great and so the restaurants and the hotel and ofcourse the garden and the lawn. Not to forget the climate of Nuwara.

This hotel is highly recommended.

Drawback - no LCD tv (less no of channels), even the budgeted hotels now has lcd tv's.
Our children were really board, as there were no games or entertainment for them.

Deepak Shantilal

Room Tip: Room with golf seems to be good but as there was some work going on, we were given garden view, which was also fine.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank deepaksbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for reviewing us and we are happy to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We will take special note of the improvements mentioned by you, and will address them in our upcoming refurbishment program. Thanks and best wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Colonial type hotel with beautiful garden. we can have walk in that huge garden area. Since April is the high season for the nuwara eliya too much noisy in day and night time. Any way great climate there. Although there was a cool climate they always offering us hot hot food. I like to to have coffee of grand hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460kismet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest, We are happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for reviewing us. The Food, Garden and the rest of what you see is the result of the untiring effort of our dedicated team, who are constantly looking to do better. Your appreciation will only encourage them to improve and provide a better experience when you visit us next. The Coffee we serve is Hansa, and the Tea, Dilmah, both world class products. Thank you so much for your post. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews