We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Super hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the Grand after booking via Agoda the day before. Check in very easy, no queuing at a desk and we were shown straight to our room. We had a very large room in the Governors wing with antique furniture and the old cast iron fireplace. The room itself was very comfy and a proper duvet which was nice after just sheets in the 'hot' places.As it gets a bit chilly in the evening, our turndown service included the little heater being switched on so the room was lovely and toasty!

Even though the hotel has been extended it still retains a 'Colonial feel' with open fires in the entrance in the evening, long sweeping stairways and plenty of lounges. There is a pub and large billiards room, perfect for a pre dinner drink. There are quite a few restaurants including the buffet(which had a huge selection), a la carte and an Indian restaurant.We ate in the a la carte restaurant, super food, excellent service and a elegant setting- not too expensive either! Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

The grounds were really beautiful although as it's known as 'little England' it was cold and rainy so not much chance to have a good look around. Great for star gazing though as there was little light pollution.
Lonley planet regard this hotel as 'a bit plastic' couldn't see that at all! I wasn't particularly aware of lots of tour groups, we were independent travellers and saw a few couples who were doing the same thing.
The centre of Newara Eliya itself is a bit of a nothing place but a good stop on route if you are traveling up through tea country and maybe heading south if you pick a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubtfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest. We are delighted to read your review and we thank you for your kind words. The Grand has been providing accommodation to visitors since the 1930, when the then British Governor, Sir Edward Barnes, chose this site to build a bungalow for his personal use. Since then the property has seen many enhancements to cater to needs of the discerning traveler. e are happy that your stay with was most enjoyable. The gardens are at their best and is a result of months of hardwork put in by our garden team led by Mr. Nathan, who is a proven Champion in his trade. At the same time we are constantly looking at further improving the facilities, service and the food of the hotel, which would make your next visit even more enjoyable. However, challenging it sounds, our singular aim is to consistently provide an experience such as yours' to every single guest who walks in to our hotel. We thank you for your endorsement of the "Grand experience", which will only encourage us to do better. Best wishes from all at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    730
    355
    134
    77
See reviews for
492
853
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, beautiful garden, good food bad very close to town and other places to visit .

Avoid to get a connected room , it is noisy and no noise proof among rooms.

In general it is a good hotel but the price is little bit high for blue

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osyousef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing us, and we are happy to note that your overall experience at the hotel was good, except for the few areas for improvement mentioned by you. We are planning some improvements to the facilities and services in the not too distant future which would address the points mentioned above. Thank you and hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable. Best wishes from all at the Grand Hotel.Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a pleasant two night return visit here in March. Check-in was rather slow due to the arrival of a number of tour groups. We stayed in the ‘Governor's’ wing in a large triple bed room. The bathroom wasn’t luxurious and was a bit shabby but was adequate. There was no air conditioning but you certainly didn’t need it in March, as the temperature was quite cool at night. There was no problem with noise from the corridor. The food in the Barnes Hall restaurant was very good with a wide range of international and Sri Lankan dishes. However, the dining room was extremely noisy and busy with mainly large groups and the entertainment (band) was poor. The staff was generally very good and friendly. The setting is very nice and the formal gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. The hotel still seems to cater mainly for tour groups so may not be the best option for independent travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and we are happy to note that you enjoyed most parts of our service and found the quality of food good. During the last 2 to 3 years we have seen a steady increase in individual travelers as against group travelers. As for the temperature in March, well, this is as warm as it gets here, and still it is very pleasant. Infact during this time of year, we have a large number of holidaymakers from other parts of Sri Lanka visiting Nuwara Eliya. We have some additions and improvements lined up for the future, which I am sure you will enjoy in your next stay at the Grand Hotel. Best wishes, Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our 4th hotel in Sri Lanka and by now we were getting a little blasé about the excellent and friendly service we were experiencing everywhere, this was no exception. We were greeted by a simply splendid afternoon tea with a delicious selection of hot and cold treats. In some ways it was like stepping back in time, when did I last have Battenberg cake? I think I ate too much as I finished with scones jam and cream!
The room had everything we needed including fridge/mini bar and safety deposit box at no extra charge. The room was smaller than other rooms we had had and there was only one bedside table. There was an old fashioned fire place. The bed was very comfortable and bliss no loud music to disturb our sleep.
The bathroom was modern and very pretty. The shower was over the bath.
The stay was let down by the dining room which was large, crowded and noisy. What atmosphere there could have been was spoiled by a group playing loud Western pop music. The group was good but this seemed totally wrong for this setting and it also made conversation difficult if not impossible at times. On the plus side there was a very good selection of food and several dishes were freshly prepared while you waited.
Gardens were lovely and very well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us and the rest of the hotels in Sri Lanka was most enjoyable. At the Grand Hotel we take pride in combining the old world charm with up-todate and luxurious facilities, to satisfy our valued guests. We are particularly happy to note that the Battenberg cake, made by our Food Olympiad award winning Pastry Chef, Sanjeewa, was to your liking. At the same time we are taking note of the areas for improvement mention by, and will take corrective action. Thank you, and best wishes from all at Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

from the outside the hotel is beautiful but rooms are old and need renovation especially the bathroom
maybe a decade ago it was a very nice hotel but it was a dissapointment. we expected much more. the food was ok

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank otvaltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest, We thank you for your review and do appreciate the areas of development mentioned by you. What a guest sees and experiences today at the Grand Hotel, is a result of improvements which happened during a span of well over 100 years. However, we assure you that we will continue to add value to the property, using the inputs we receive from our valued guests, such as you, and move from strength to strength. Please do visit us again to enjoy the new additions we have made for your comfort. Thank you and best wishes. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Previously the Governor's Home set in lovely landscaped gardens, retains a grand, sedate atmosphere with beautifully maintained spacious rooms & public areas throughout. No a/c but a lovely experience if you like old style character.

Room Tip: We ordered a tuk tuk from the front desk which arrived in minutes & took us around the lake &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and for appreciating the heritage value of the Hotel. Please be assured that we will keep improving our property and the services, to complement the beauty and tranquility of Nuwara Eliya. Hope to see you again, best wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

So they have a beautiful garden and they can brag about that but is a good hotel one who has a nice garden. Rooms are old and rustique won't cost them much to install Ac that gives hot or cold air instead of the horrendous electrical air heater that makes a horrific noise ( and is out of context of the Room ) , no wifi in the room (what 4 star can brag about that) , no minibar , bathrooms need serious refurbishment , we had to fight a giant mosquito in the bathroom and cleanliness can be improved . But I guess you won't find any better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchouery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are saddened to hear that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been, and we are planning to address the very areas of improvement mentioned by you, in our upcoming refurbishment program. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Sri Lanka, and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you and best wishes. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing