We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

So they have a beautiful garden and they can brag about that but is a good hotel one who has a nice garden. Rooms are old and rustique won't cost them much to install Ac that gives hot or cold air instead of the horrendous electrical air heater that makes a horrific noise ( and is out of context of the Room ) , no wifi in the room (what 4 star can brag about that) , no minibar , bathrooms need serious refurbishment , we had to fight a giant mosquito in the bathroom and cleanliness can be improved . But I guess you won't find any better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchouery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are saddened to hear that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been, and we are planning to address the very areas of improvement mentioned by you, in our upcoming refurbishment program. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Sri Lanka, and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you and best wishes. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you are linked to a tour bus, no doubt you will stay here. Rooms and service very good.

But for the individual traveller, personally would not recommend. Eating there is like being back at a boarding school - all buffet style which is fine but difficult to find a spare table and very impersonal. Actually we found the service at the buffet pretty hopeless because there were so many people. Certainly not our type of hotel and expensive for what we got

Room Tip: We were upgraded! V. comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scandal186421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not comfortable in our Buffet restaurant. It does get crowded on certain days, which is why we offer the option of dining in our Supper Club or Indian restaurant. However, we are taking serious note of your comment and will find ways to provide a more personalised service in our Restaurant.

During the last 3 years we have experienced an increase in the number of individual travellers, who stay for at least 3 nights, which is why your comment is important to us. We thank you once again, and hope the rest of your tour of Sri Lanka was enjoyable. Best wishes from all at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

You may like it or not to stay in this english decadence. We were happy to sleep in a clean bed. but is this really worth over 200 U$? This you may discuss. The next morning, when I got to know, that our guide didn't even get a cup of tea not to speak of a breakfast, I really was embarresed. 19th century not only as an outside impression!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We trust your stay with us was enjoyable, apart from the two points mentioned by you. Tour guides and drivers are given special concessionary rates for facilities used, in addition drivers are served a cup of tea at 6am and 5 pm.
As you correctly pointed out, the question of value for money is indeed debatable, and we would like to leave it for our valued guests such as you to discuss. But what we are certain about is that we will improve both our property and service levels so that visitors are encouraged to spend at least 3 nights and obtain the full value of a stay in Nuwara Eliya and the Grand Hotel. Thank you once again for you post. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Extremely beautiful setting and building of this hotel with a history of over a century however compared to the prices being charged the hotel does not live up to its grand heritage. I've stayed in hotels like this before where whilst keeping the old charm the other hotels have ensure latest modern technology and comfort being provided in rooms unfortunately not this place.
Pros
1. Very warm and friendly staff
2. Very good food
3. Genuine feel of the vintage old days
4. Views

Cons
1. Towels in bathroom seem to have been in circulation for a century - so rough that I had skin peel off
2. Extremely uncomfortable beds very very soft mattresses without proper stabilisation
3. Worn out fittings, carpets in the rooms, not the cleanest bathroom
4. About a 20 year old TV in the room
5. No wifi or Internet connections in rooms

Don't get me wrong it is a beautiful place to stay but when you command prices on the lines of 160 -200 Usd per night these are certain ares that need to be improved for a truly luxurious experience in amazing surroundings.

I hope this grand old lady does not sink further

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank enjoytravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your extremely informative review. We are happy to note that you find the level of service and the food very good. At the same time we appreciate your views on the areas we need to improve. I can tell you with confidence that we have plans to improve and add on some exciting new features and facilities in the coming years. So the Grand will most certainly be more luxurious and enjoyable when you visit us next. Thanks once again and best wishes from all of us. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is 30mins away from the Nuwaraeliya. Very cold and chilling place. Have been here on office trip. Very well maintained hotel and very helpful staff. The buffet in this hotel is very good. I am a vegetarian and was thinking not much for me in offer in Srilanka. But to my surprise there were lot of vegetarian dishes and very tasty ones too :)
Very calm and relaxing place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anil19584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was most enjoyable. Although we continue to receive very good comments on our food, our Chef and his team are tirelessly looking at ways to satisfy the varied food preferences of our valued guests. We hope to add more variety to our food, in the not so distant future. So, please do visit us again, to experience the value additions we have made to the Grand experience. Thank you, and best wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

An old colonial palace with long winding corridors, plush carpets and an atmosphere straight out of the raj - and prices in the bar to match!! The buffet style restaurant is extensive and varied.Ideal location from which to explore the old town and relax in the temperate climate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathanmckenzie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. Whilst we thank you for your generous complements, please be assured that we will continue to strive to excel in everything we do. so that guests such as you, will have an even better stay next time around. To live up to the Grand Tag is a challenge we embrace with confidence, and we hope to add on some exciting new features, which I am sure you will enjoy. So thanks once again and warm wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A taste of how the colonials used to live back in Queen Victoria's time. Large bedroom with everything that you want or need. Food excellent both for buffet dinner and for buffet breakfast with a wide choice. Grounds very well kept. Hotel is only a short walk from the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest, We thank you for your review. "Old fashioned Elegance" with modern conveniences is something we strive to present to all our guests, and we are happy to learn that your stay with us was a memorable one. We will continue to add on facilities to the property, and at the same time improve the level of service,so that discerning travellers such as yourself would have even a better staty, next time around. Thanks once again and best wishes to you from all at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
353 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $201 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing