We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

As large, old, colonial hotels go, this is a fine one. There was some confusion in finding our reservation upon our arrival, but the issue was quickly resolved, and the staff was most apologetic for the inconvenience. Subsequent to this little slip up, R L Luckshalyan went out of his way to ensure that we felt welcome, which was much appreciated. Our room in the colonial wing was large and comfortable with a pleasant view. Other than breakfast, we chose not to dine in the large dining room, having had our fill of Sri Lankan buffets. The menu in the smaller restaurant was excellent, however, and it was open around the clock. The common spaces in this lovely old building are charming and welcoming. We particularly liked the the "tea room" with its wonderful display of decorative Dilmah tea tins. The selection of teas was broad, and the tea itself was made to perfection. The staff was helpful and charming, particularly the room attendants. The grounds of The Grand are lovely, and the location of the hotel is convenient to downtown, markets, the other stately, old hotels in Nuwara Eliya, and of course to the golf course. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. Please be assured that your comments about our reservations system has been noted and corrective action has been taken. . We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed many of the "spaces" we have created in our hotel, specially the Dilmar Tea Bar, which at present is a hot spot in Nuwara Eliya. Your complements on the 24 hour Magnolia Coffee shop will be conveyed to our Chefs. Thank you and best wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,281 - 1,287 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Grand old hotel with excellent public rooms but rather small and indifferent bedrooms. Lovely dining room, pity about the fairly indifferent dinner buffet - it's a much better bet to eat at the small Curry House in the hotel ground.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are happy to note that you have enjoyed the ambience of a "Grand Old Hotel". The Property which has been standing for over 150 years, has periodically undergone changes to cater to the changing needs of guests, and we hope to keep the improvements going, so that we can make your stay even better next time around. Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is a firm favourite of mine in Sri Lanka. Decently appointed rooms and good public spaces.
It has increased its prices significantly in the last few years, and improved quality marginally.
They need not worry about that as it seems to be always full.
Two constructive points.
The reservation system is a shambles
The hotel has about 18 gardeners and is justly proud of its fine, English-style gardens, but not now. Everything is in preparation for 'High Season' in 6 weeks time. With 18 gardeners you can do better than that. Rates now bring you good customers earlier in the year too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impalauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, and we are happy to learn that your stay with us was mostly enjoyable. However, we are taking serious note of your comment about the reservations system and have taken corrective action. April and May are the best time for flowering plants in these parts, which is why you would have seen lots of preparation work in the Garden.However, from April to December, most flowers are in bloom. So we invite you to visit us again and see what additional features we have added, to make your stay even better. Thank you, and best wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is really a trip back in time. 30 years ago it must have been 5 star or what they called it then.
You can get the feeling that you are in an old hollywood movie. The buffet morning and dinner is excellent. If you have the time, take a cup of the or coffee in the afternoon with cake and candy, then you will always remember your stay at Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our brand new Tea terrace, with speciality teas from Dilmah. This is now one of our most popular outlets, and we thank you for reviewing it along with the rest of our Hotel. Please do visit us again. Best wishes from all the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Appropriate name. The hotel is very grand and harks back to the old colonial days of visiting dignitaries and rich tea plantation owners. Everything is dark wood and large, heavy furniture.
The room was quite small but very opulent 1920s. It even had an Edwardian fireplace (with a fan heater in it). The dining room was huge and furnished with the same style of dark, heavy furniture. The buffet food was, quite simply, the best we had in Sri Lanka with the usual curries but also a wide choice of fish and meat dishes. The gardens were beautiful and must look lovely in the spring. Altogether a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessies_Grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest. Many thanks for your review and we are glad that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We are also happy to know that you have enjoyed the ambience of a bygone era. To hear from you that the food at the Grand Hotel was the best in Sri Lanka, is indeed a complement we greatly value, and we thank you for that. Please do visit us again to see what improvements we have made, with guests such as you in mind. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grand Hotel is one of the best kept Colonial hotels in Sri Lanka. You get that feelings once you enter the hotel garden itself. Warm welcome at the entrance & friendly reception staff make you feel like you're home away from home. Rooms on the golf wing are slightly better than rooms in the colonial wing to be honest. Meals are exceptionally good & International buffet has a mouthwatering spread. Peaceful, quite place to relax in the hills.

Room Tip: Request for rooms in the golf wing which has more space rather than rooms in the colonial wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgePaul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the colonial ambience of the Grand Hotel. Nuwara Eliya or "Little England" as it is often known, is blessed with many beautiful natural and manmade attractions, and we at the Grand are constantly trying to complement these highlights by our facilities, service and food. Your generous comments will only encourage us to do even better, so that we can continue to delight each and every one of our guests. So thank you, and do visit us again and see what new facilities we have lined up for you. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent one night here, blown away by the old colonnial style, Not sure would recommend the Sri Lankan style drive to get there! No pool but it is so high up we sat in front of log fire! Worth a stop over on route somewhere but maybe not a long stay. 4star but don' t expect modern luxury. It is very different.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and your appreciation of the character of the Grand Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Please do visit us again and enjoy the additions we have made to the facilities and service. Thank you and best wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#10 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $230 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing