We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Araliya Green City(Nuwara Eliya)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
$209
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
$149
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$50
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$201
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$57
$45
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,291)
Filter reviews
2,292 results
Traveler rating
797
856
406
152
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
856
406
152
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaindian restaurantmagnolia restaurantsri lankatea roomgolf courseold world charmsnooker roompublic roomsgrand indianlobby areabreakfast buffet ismain restaurantcolonial stylecommon areascolonial timeswi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,485 - 1,490 of 2,292 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grand Hotel is one of the best kept Colonial hotels in Sri Lanka. You get that feelings once you enter the hotel garden itself. Warm welcome at the entrance & friendly reception staff make you feel like you're home away from home. Rooms on the golf wing are slightly better than rooms in the colonial wing to be honest. Meals are exceptionally good & International buffet has a mouthwatering spread. Peaceful, quite place to relax in the hills.

Room Tip: Request for rooms in the golf wing which has more space rather than rooms in the colonial wing
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgePaul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the colonial ambience of the Grand Hotel. Nuwara Eliya or "Little England" as it is often known, is blessed with many beautiful natural and manmade attractions, and we at the Grand are constantly trying to complement these highlights by our facilities, service and food. Your generous comments will only encourage us to do even better, so that we can continue to delight each and every one of our guests. So thank you, and do visit us again and see what new facilities we have lined up for you. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent one night here, blown away by the old colonnial style, Not sure would recommend the Sri Lankan style drive to get there! No pool but it is so high up we sat in front of log fire! Worth a stop over on route somewhere but maybe not a long stay. 4star but don' t expect modern luxury. It is very different.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and your appreciation of the character of the Grand Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Please do visit us again and enjoy the additions we have made to the facilities and service. Thank you and best wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arriving in Nuwara Eliya having travelled through enthralling tea country the Grand reminds you of a large country house in rural England.

Large public rooms with many charming old photographs of a bygone era, a lovely billiard room.

We were shown to our room (103) which was extremely stuffy - one wall was boiling hot to the touch and it was apparent there was either a boiler behind or hot pipes - we decided to try a different room (239) on the first floor which fortunately did not suffer in the same way. Both these rooms are quite small and relatively old fashioned (slightly jaded) which is not so grand. The bathroom in particular was quite scruffy and some modernisation of these rooms would be welcome.

We were on a half board booking and hence ate the evening buffet which was absolutely superb with very good service to match. As it was wet most of the time in Nuwara Eliya we spent quite a lot of time in the hotel and were also able to sample the A La Carte restaurant for lunch - also very good.

All in all a very enjoyable stay but the rooms need a bit of work.

Room Tip: Most rooms are small and some modernisation is needed. Room 103 is to be avoided because of the very hot wall.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing us, and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our public areas and in particular our food and services. Our Chefs and the Service teams are constantly making improvements to reach the highest possible level, and your comments would most certainly be a source of great encouragement to them. At the same time we appreciate your views on the bedrooms and will most certainly improve them during the next refurbishment program.
Thank you once again and hope you will visit us again to see what enhancements we have made for your comfort and convenience. best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived in Nuwara Eliya only to discover that the place we had booked did not have room for us. After looking at a number of mid priced options which to be honest were quite shocking we decided to buck up and stay at the Grand. Very glad we did. Had a wonderful drink in the bar and a good Indian meal.

Although the area around Nuwara Eliya is wonderful the town itself is a bit of a dump and the weather can be cold and rainy so having an lovely place to hang in, in the evening is a must. Unfortunately there really are no good mid priced options at the moment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest, We are happy to learn that you found our hotel to be a "Lovely Oasis" in your tour of Sri Lanka. Over the last few years we have created spaces and places where guests can spend time inside the Hotel, specially when the weather is not too conducive for excursions. Our latest addition is the Tea Terrace, and please be assured that we will have more "things to do" when you visit us next. We are very proud of our food, and the Grand Indian restaurant is a very popular outlet. So thank you for your comments, and please do visit us to again and see what additions we have made to make your stay even better. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of our tour of Sri Lanka.
First impressions are very good with large impressive reception rooms and a warm welcome from the staff. The buffet style dinner was beautifully presented and of near Michelin star quality. The wine list was extensive and included some wines which were exceptionally good value for money in Sri Lanka where wine is generally expensive. We chose a South African Sauvignon Blanc which was excellent.
The entertainment provided in the restaurant was very good.
The room was large with high ceilings and the en-suite bathroom was functional if not modern.
Sound proofing between the rooms was poor. You could hear conversations from the room across the corridor and early leavers curtailed an otherwise comfortable night.
Breakfast was yet another culinary delight with a vast range of different options.
The gardens are lovely with the topiary superb and the several different brugmansias in pots stunning.
All of the staff were very helpful and cheerful and the restaurant waiters were the best we encountered in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your comment that the dinner buffet was near Michelin star class, will certainly be a great source of encouragement to our Kitchen Team led by Chef Arosha, as they are constantly trying to improve the quality of food in all our outlets. It was a good decision on your part to stay for 02 nights, which gave you the opportunity of absorbing what this 180 year old property has to offer. However, The Grand Hotel and Nuwara Eliya has enough of attractions and things to do, to justify a star for at least 04 nights. In conclusion let me thank you for the great comments, and please be assured that we will keep in my mind your comment about soundproofing rooms when we so our next refurbishment. Hope to see you soon, best wishes from all at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews