We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a remind of British colonization..Like that sense..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“With a remind of British colonization..Like that sense..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a smell of grand old days...They wanted give some hint. The food also not bad. Had to wait for a long time as I can remember...Not bad to stay.. The hotel appearance was changed unharmed and modified without erasing the old Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaturika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    742
    362
    138
    78
See reviews for
500
873
65
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Grand Hotel was part of our small-group tour where we stayed for 2 nights. The large colonial building was set in magnificent gardens close to the town with elegant public areas and excellent albeit rather formal service. It felt like I'd travelled back in time to a more genteel period in history with beautifully maintained antique furnishings throughout. The buffet breakfasts were the best we experienced on our trip and the buffet dinner was the most sumptuous I'd ever experienced. At USD 24 it represented great value not to mention an absolutely divine culinary treat. For a less expensive option we also tried the Indian restaurant in the garden which was quite pleasant. The majority of guests were Muslim and I recommend taking something a bit dressy for dining in the evening as there's a posted dress code. Also remember that the climate is considerably cooler up in the highlands so bring a light jacket.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank allyson_mackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

What you look in for a hotel room is not there!!!The rooms are really small, cramped with less space , same is the case for bath rooms!!The hotel is otherwise beautiful.Nice restaurants,gr8 food!The entire hotel is done in british architecture style.Also worth mention is the shopping area of the hotel which has nice stuff.As there is a sudden shift in temp as u reach nuwara eliya,so be preapred & carry sm warm stuff too ,specially if with children..For a short stay, its abs.fine to stay in here but for a long stay, must explore other options too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jitinnidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Grand is above our usual price bracket but it was my birthday so we treated ourselves to two nights in August. I mentioned my birthday when booking and we found fruit platters, chocolates and balloons in our room, complements of the hotel. We ate in the Indian restaurant on our first night and in the main dining room the following night - make sure you book in advance. We thought the main dining room excellent - really enjoyed the food - but my favourite was high tea on the lawn!
The experience was a nice time out - we just went to a tea plantation, bought our jackets and walked around Victoria Park and up Single Tree Hill.
It's worth including Nuwara Eliya on your trip and I'd recommend The Grand - Especially for the food!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tms2indub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

good 5 restaurants, rooms were clean , housekeeping services are fast, had a vary good experience of mid night safari at 1.30 am, full co-operative staff, good pub , only indian restaurant service need to be improve rest all is value for money, good 5 star historical property, need to be minimum for 2 nights there

Room Tip: its all excellant , try to get rooms on level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jksugars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. We hired a driver from Colombo and the journey was very long - about 6 hours - the roads out of Colombo are terrible - bumpy and congested, and as you get further into the highlands the roads are incredibly windy. I think we averaged a speed of about 40 km/hr for the trip. We were greeted with 'welcome soup' when we arrived and told there was a problem with the room - we had inadvertently paid for 1 guest only, we could still have the room, but had to pay about an extra $USD 30 a night. I thought they took a little long to get our room organised, they seemed to have no appreciation of the long journey there - people don't want to be kept waiting after an exhausting trip.

The lobby and restaurant area of the hotel are very opulent but that's where the opulence ends. We had a 'deluxe room', and it was small, had an old TV and if you wanted a mini bar, including a fridge, you had to request one! I have never heard of this before. Bathroom was small, towels were threadbare, as were the blankets on the bed. My partner complained to the reception staff that the room was not 'deluxe' and not good value for money, they made a half hearted effort to show us other rooms, but these were equally small (or smaller) and poorly appointed. I also needed a Dr when I was there and had to ask the reception staff twice before one arrived. They first told us the Dr would come in 20 mins, 2 hours later, nothing, so I called again. The Dr explained the reception staff had not communicated clearly. All in all, very poor value for money and we were disappointed with our stay - we paid around $USD200 a night to stay here, you would expect more for your money.

The housekeeping staff are very nice but do come along very frequently - remember to put your "do not disturb" sign in place if you don't want to be constantly answering the door. The hallways are also very long and you can hear people/trolleys going past constantly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooter4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great hotel in Nuwara Eliya, part of its Colonial architecture.

You can see hotel's age in its rooms with average facilities, but the general feeling was stronger to me.

Beautiful garden and inside halls.
Great photographic opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epirotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing