We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherwood Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
$209
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$149
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
$149
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$201
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$50
$47
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$57
$45
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
83
68
30
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
68
30
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomnice viewhot waterarrived late in the nightone nightsri lankawalk minutestown centremake teacold climateview from the balconyan extra blankettuk tuknice roomhomely stayplace to stayheavy rain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 210 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Me and my family stayed at this nice little cottage in nuwara eliya, the place is not a an hotel and is located on a hill that makes it alittle bit hard for persons that has problems hicking to reach. The family was very freindly, and the rooms a clean and nicely kept in a small garden of flowers and a view over town. Its quiet easy tonhick down to town and st andrews hotel if needed. I would recommend the rooms that are abit more exepensive to get the view and cousiness. All in all for this price its a perfect match for backpackers, couple that dont need a luxury comfort or a small family that want to relax for a day or two in a more guesthouse type of of location!

Room Tip: Get the more exepnsive rooms with view! Enjoy!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0bias77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nuwara Eliya is the highest town in Sri Lanka and rightly named 'little England'. We arrived in January and it was colder and wetter than the UK. A warm welcome at Sherwood Cottage helped. The guesthouse is a 5 minute walk uphill from the town and has incredibly steep roofs. The rooms were very clean, if basic with fantastic views. Mishan and his family did everything they could to help us and the food was so good at dinner that we chose to eat there both nights of our stay. It was too cold and wet for us to do any exploring and sight seeing so I can't comment on the ' attractions' of NE. What I will say is that I left a bag of clothes in the the taxi booked by the hotel to take us to Buttala, and when I called the driver he said it wasn't there, Mishan said it could have been stolen at my next stop which was impossible and which belongs to a very good friend of mine. He also asked me to make a good report. What I have said is fair and honest. If you decide to visit NE, take warm clothes and an umbrella.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It's a very cozy family-run B&B on the chilly mountain side, by the Owner (Mishan) and his mother who is a great chef. The location tho not the best, the surrounding is quiet and peaceful. We stayed in the City attic room which is very spacious and value for money.

We spent the Christmas there and Mishan with his family and friends were more than hospitable to host a Christmas bbq dinner for the guests. It's a very nice gesture and extra mile he goes to ensure every guest is well taken care of.

Would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryokosha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The owner of the place is more than hospitable. They offered a pot of hot tea when we arrival, which indeed a great help in the montain chill. They could prepare wonderful local foods for breakfast and dinner as you required with a reasonable charge, and the taste is just as good as resturant.
The room is clean, well facilited. However, there is no window in the bathroom and chill winds just circulate in, moreover, no heater and air-con provided. Basically, we wore clothes to bed.
The location is not ideal, on the mountain side. The road is under maintaining which is hard for u travel with a car, and the walking path to town is not easy to reconginize without light.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sophia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent there one night with my family in City attic room which is a bit of adventure with a beautiful view of Nuwara Eliya city! The road we went is called Water-field drive and the entrance to the narrow steps to the hotel was a nightmare with a stinky garbage bin. However, the cottage is nice, clean and well maintained.

The owner, Padmini aunt is very friendly and kind. The room was spacious with a king size bed. The bathroom was clean though the commode was not that clean. There was a nice bath tub with enough hot water. They provided an extra blanket as soon as we requested since it was a bit colder inside the room. The only issue was there was poor Wi-Fi signal strength in our room.

However, it was a nice experience staying there in a cute, quiet place like Sherwood cottage.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSapphireLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews