We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little England”
Review of Nuwara Eliya and Tea Country - CLOSED

Nuwara Eliya and Tea Country
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little England”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Loved Nuwara Elia - full of interesting things to see and places to visit. It is a complete mix though - be prepared for poverty and luxury side by side. Visit a tea factory - so interesting and like stepping back in time, but you will despair at the tea pickers working conditions and pay - how can this be accepted in this day and age? Visit the nearby Horton Plains and see the views from World's End - worth every penny!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank planetdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    332
    76
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
167 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tea heaven”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

everyone in this world must have tries Ceylon tea.. if you have not then you must do so.. Finally i managed to come and see the place where its grown. the highest peak of Sri Lanka is in this area and its rally a beautiful Hill station you wanna come and chill out..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawahar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for a laid back holiday but don't expect too many activities”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a lovely vacation in Nuwara Eliya. It's beautiful, green and transports you back to the English countryside.

While Nuwara Eliya is very pretty, unless you love hiking in the countryside, there is not much to do within the town itself. We went with a friend who is from Sri Lanka and his family. Between us we had 4 children under the age of 5 so we couldn't go visit some of the more stunning vistas as there was some hiking involved and we were not sure how safe those places would be with 4 hyperactive kids running around.
.
We did go boating and visited the tea gardens (both very pleasant). We also took a trip to the dairy farms nearby and it was really enjoyable.
In Nuwara Eliya, we stayed in a private bungalow with a beautiful garden. The sight of mist covered mountains greeted you every morning. We had ponies coming to our house every morning and the kids enjoyed their pony rides. There are local markets nearby where you get amazing fresh produce too.

The biggest downside of Nuwara Eliya, is the bad roads which make road travel a torture! Its an approximately 160km drive that takes about 8-9 hours because the road is really narrow and crowded. Also there are hardly any good rest stops along the way. So if you go with little children, I would recommend either avoid the road travel and take a train or take plenty of chips and cookies along!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moushumi_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful place which offers you scenic and panoramic views. People are very friendly and helpful. Lots of tea plantations and it just seems like a heaven on earth. If you are going to Sri Lanka then Nuwara Eliya is a must visit city!

Helpful?
Thank Abeer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Surprise After a Long Trip”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After around 8 hours by car, tasting different types of tea on the road you finally reach a hotel in a high mountain region. the surprise is that the hotel is amazing from the moment you arrive, from the welcoming staff, to the cleanings of the room to the tasty food and the good Spa. if you go to Sri Lanka you must visit this hotel

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuwara Eliya and Tea Country also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing