We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana”
Review of Nuwara Eliya and Tea Country - CLOSED

Nuwara Eliya and Tea Country
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nirvana”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The change in climate is remarkable in Nuwara Eliya. The trees, the mist, the lakes and the hills of tea make for a heavenly and ethereal landscape. This is THE escape that you're searching for to find oneself.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    332
    76
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little England, an apt name”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The journey from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya is remarkable one with water-falls,tunnels,lush green tea gardens, mountain roads and forests. The best part is the weather. It really reminds of naughty weather of England.Perhaps the coldest place in Sri Lanka, which is hot and sultry. The lake at 6,500 feet is charming.
Taste the varieties of Tea . The price is not cheap compared to India or China. For people from warm countries, a nice hill station, an added charm with the beaches of Sri Lanka.
But be careful about leech. Avoid green areas near water. Carry some salt which can only separate it from your body. Dont wear slippers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shyamaladv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Never leave out when travelling to Ceylon, plan two or more days for this region..”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Amazing landscape. Do not never ever leave out when travelling to Sri Lanka! This is the most representative part of the island. Dont forget to bring some pens or little cosmetics presents for the tea flockers, factory workers and little boys running around and selling flowers. The region is poor and little present from all around the world will make locals very happy..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Rad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
““Marvelous Experience””
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I loved Nuwara Elia the most in my trip to Sri Lanka,So beautiful and green. lots of tea plantation it's just amazing ,We visited the Mackwoods tea factory which was very interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mozin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ramayana Tour at Nuwara eliya”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nuwara eliya is closely associated with various Ramayana sites and beautiful hill resort too. We travelled to Nuwara eliya via Ramboda hills and Ramboda waterfalls. There is a Hanuman temple maintained by Chinmaya Mission/Srilanka at Ramboda hills. As the temple was closed durng noon time, we had to wait until 1500Hrs. In the meantime, we had lunch at nearby restaurant run by Chinmaya Mission which was just delicious as we were longing for a veg food during our travelling. The view from the restaurant was really wonderful. Our next stop was Ramboda falls. As our Guide, Mr Chinthaka knows the area and the people well, we availed a lift from a nearby hotel which went to the base level and walked few meters to the falls. The next day was started with a visit to Sita eliya temple first which is small, simple and beautiful. We were really thrilled to see Hanuman foot and the ghat where Sita has bathed. The Hakgala gardens containing Ashoka vana was a feast to our eyes with natural beauty. The day was just beautiful with a slight drizzling. We also went to Divurumpola where Sita underwent 'agni' test. Eventhough we understand there are so many Ramayana related sites in and around Nuwara eliya, we had to cut short our visit due paucity of time, but I will definitely visit Nuwara eliya again to explore more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajan294009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuwara Eliya and Tea Country also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing