We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,899)
Filter reviews
2,899 results
Traveler rating
1,661
861
255
79
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,661
861
255
79
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carriageunique hotelnature walkexecutive floorold railwaypick your ownsri lankaunique experienceoriginal featurestake homelocal villageour honeymooncorner roomeach eveningabove sea levelwinding roadstrawberries
Filter
Updating list...
2,282 - 2,287 of 2,899 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2011,the drive to the hotel from Kandy takes in some stunning scenery,and we stopped for lunch by some magnificent waterfalls.The road leaves a lot to be desired but not too bad.The hotel itself is great,we had a lovely time.I would suggest 2 days is about the right length of stay.The way it has been converted from the original factory is amazing.The option to dine in the Railway Carriage is a definate must - brilliant,i know you don`t get hardly any discount if you are staying on a half board basis but believe me the food and service combined with the quirkiness of the evening was worth every penny ,it was great.Overall an amazing experience/visit which i will never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rsbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Having arrived at Colombo airport on 15 December 2010 we headed with our tour guide on the 5 hour trek to this hotel. In hindsight now we should have stayed one night in Colombo after our 11 hour flight. We were wrecked. BUT boy was it worth it. We were welcomed at the front door and shown our room (only downside they don't have air conditioning). Huge room and bath by the window to look out at the amazing views. Dinner - well what can we say it was truly fantastic - I would put the food at this hotel to be in the 10 start range. We wee only staying one night there on our tour and just wished we had had at least 3 nights there. Next morning again absolutely fantastic breakfast and when we opened our bedroom curtains the view was seriously breadth taking. The hotel is amazing having once been an old tea factory. The manager and staff were truly wonderful and courteous and nothing was too much bother. Really really wish we could have spent more time there.

Mary & Graham, Jersey, Channel Islands

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 196maryita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Had the weather been nice, instead of the dense fog and pouring of rain, I'm sure this hotel would have been a nice experience. Having learnt from a couple at dinner the night before travelling, that their tour operator had pulled out, we were slightly concerned that Kuoni was allowing us to continue up to the same hotel.

We witnessed visible landslides in about six different areas and the main road was completely blocked in one stretch, resulting in us going up a mud track lane, right on the edge of a cliff that had no safety barriers and potholes every foot of the way, up to the tea factory (see enclosed photo's for driving conditions). Had the feeling of having my stomach in my mouth for the whole journey up to the tea factory and when there, visibility was to about 10 feet and nothing to do as the three spa staff were fully booked.

Only saving grace was the dinner we had that night. Instead of the usual "same-same" buffet rubbish, we opted to go to the 'al a carte' train carriage at the back of the hotel. We paid 4,000 rupees instead of 4,400 because we were half board and with the wine, spent a further £100 on dinner. It has to be said though, the food was exquisite, but I don't know if that's because I had had eight previous nights of buffet food, which I think for anyone, can get really quite tiring.

Also, there is no iron in the room. Anything you want to have ironed is done so by the hotel staff, which again, there is another surcharge for. The management's excuse for no iron is the charge to your credit card for damage to the carpet; 250,000 rupee's to be exact, which is about £1,500 for four metres squared worth of carpet.

Would only recommend this hotel if you know the weather will be good, otherwise I would have to say, it's nice, but not that nice.

Oh, and for good measure, we only had a light breakfast. The first 21km of our journey to the next hotel was potholes, potholes and more potholes and that took 1.5 hours.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr-Traveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

First of all lets talk about the approach from Nuwara Eliya. The road is 17 klms of potholes. Sheer Hell.!! It takes about an hour to reach here from the town. Once you arrive the place is quite unique , with very nice rooms, attentive service with good quality and verity of food. As it was our 40th wedding anniversary the chef even produced a cake with sparklers etc for us which was totally unexpected. Apparently our tour organisers had informed them of the event!!
Our visit was spoilt by the weather which closed in on us for the period of our stay which unfortunately was only one night. However my wife who in her childhood was a frequent visitor to the area assured me that the secenery is quite outstanding when the cloud disperses .

Despite the road, if I was in the area I would be prepared to try a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHilaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed at the Tea Factory hotel for one night during our tour of Sri Lanka.
The hotel is located at the end of a very bumpy road that is full of deep potholes - it is a real shame that the owners of the hotel don't repair it as that would improve the experience of staying at the hotel so much. The hotel was only 14km from Nuwara Eliya, however it took us over an hour to travel there because of the condition of the road - not a good start!
The hotel itself has been well restored and has retained many of its original features. The interior of our room was quite nice and relatively spacious, however its location in the building was not great - we were overlooking the hotel's delivery area and as it was very noisy outside during the night - dogs barking, cars screeching and hotel staff gathering there to chat loudly. It was not a great night's sleep.
The food in the restaurant was not great - bread was stale, the food was not tasty and the choice for vegetarians was almost non-existent.
Nevertheless, one thing that we thoroughly enjoyed about the hotel was the Tea Picking Experience at the Micro Tea Factory. It only cost us 500 Rs each for this and we were taken to pick tea in the hotel's plantation and afterwards we were taken around the micro factory to see how the tea was processed and were then given two packs of tea to take home with us. The tea picking experience was great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwdlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews