We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Unique Cottages(Nuwara Eliya)
$85
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctuary Hills(Nuwara Eliya)
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heidi's Home(Nuwara Eliya)(Great Value!)
$39
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $44/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,873)
Filter reviews
2,873 results
Traveler rating
1,644
856
253
78
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,644
856
253
78
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carriageunique hotelnature walkexecutive floorold railwaypick your ownoriginal machinerysri lankaunique experiencetake homelocal villageour honeymooncorner roomeach eveningabove sea levelwinding roadstrawberries
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 2,873 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Our stay at the Heritance Tea Factory was like transforming back through time into a charming hotel rich with history. The property is an old tea factory turned modern hotel placed on top of a hill surrounded by beautiful scenery/tea plants. We stayed a couple days at the HTF and it seemed like a perfect amount of time to take advantage of the activities available (tea picking, tasting, etc). The train dinner is a MUST DO and it fills up quickly so make sure to book as soon as you arrive.

Nuwara Eliya is a little cooler than some of the other places in Sri Lanka so it is worth bringing some warmer clothes here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side facing the entrance to the hotel as it is a little quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory.

It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well.

We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

The drive to this hotel is a long and bumpy one on a narrow up in the hills, but the trek is worth it. This is a traditional hotel turned from an old tea factory, which has a real fragrance of tea! There are some lovely areas outside, cottage gardens, putting green and a manicured lawn. The staff were friendly and welcoming, happy to help. The room was large with a seating area and dresser and had a bit of a chill to it, which was actually lovely having been in the humidity for so long. There was in fact a heater rather than an air con unit which was welcomed. The bathroom has everything needed, the shower was good, albeit the bathtub was a little small. There was a good choice of food in the in-dining menu and service was quick. The breakfast buffet was good and felt very relaxed. Sadly we didn't stay long enough to fully enjoy the facilities, but a stay here would be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nikkirollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory.

It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well.

We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

We didnt sleep in this hotel .only for lunch very clean and nice place staff also freindly .delicious food with good services .hotel bit far from the nuwara eliya city but you can make nice drive though the tea plantations.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Kanch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation.

Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The Heritance Tea Factory has the kind of old world charm and seclusion that is so hard to find these days.

Set in the remarkable tea producing area of Nuwara Eliya, the difference in temperature here compared to everywhere else in Sri Lanka is remarkable.

Either side of our one night stay here we were baking in 30 degree heat and 80 percent humidity but here it was just 14 degrees and rain sweeping in at right angles like being in the UK or where we live in the south of Victoria, Australia in winter.

The hotel and restaurant were first class and the old lifts that service the hotel a reminder of the 1930's and a simpler time.

The staff were wonderful and the drive into this hotel up a steep, isolated road - is something you will never forget.

This is the perfect one or two night stay for those planning a Sri Lankan holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation.

Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We had to change rooms on arrival (317) which overlooked service area and car park ... was shown to our next room (309) which had great views overlooking the valley !
Went for lunch was excellent but very large portions and great milkshakes !
We both had massages at Misty Spa which was reasonable priced and great peaceful experience ! Girls were polite and very good x
We had dinner in the train cab TSK8865 a great dinner with unique feel . Chefs came to see us a nice touch ! We had a great 8 course dinner with a lovely guy the conductor !!! Well done enjoyed every minute.
Unfortunately we could not do tea picking due to heavy rain but heard of other guests it was very informative !
Thank you

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ashbradz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory.

It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well.

We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews