We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,902)
Filter reviews
2,902 results
Traveler rating
1,664
861
255
79
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,664
861
255
79
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carriageunique hotelnature walkexecutive floorold railwaypick your ownsri lankaunique experienceoriginal featurestake homelocal villageour honeymooncorner roomeach eveningabove sea levelwinding roadstrawberries
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 2,902 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

The drive to this hotel is a long and bumpy one on a narrow up in the hills, but the trek is worth it. This is a traditional hotel turned from an old tea factory, which has a real fragrance of tea! There are some lovely areas outside, cottage gardens, putting green and a manicured lawn. The staff were friendly and welcoming, happy to help. The room was large with a seating area and dresser and had a bit of a chill to it, which was actually lovely having been in the humidity for so long. There was in fact a heater rather than an air con unit which was welcomed. The bathroom has everything needed, the shower was good, albeit the bathtub was a little small. There was a good choice of food in the in-dining menu and service was quick. The breakfast buffet was good and felt very relaxed. Sadly we didn't stay long enough to fully enjoy the facilities, but a stay here would be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nikkirollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory.

It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well.

We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

We didnt sleep in this hotel .only for lunch very clean and nice place staff also freindly .delicious food with good services .hotel bit far from the nuwara eliya city but you can make nice drive though the tea plantations.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Kanch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation.

Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The Heritance Tea Factory has the kind of old world charm and seclusion that is so hard to find these days.

Set in the remarkable tea producing area of Nuwara Eliya, the difference in temperature here compared to everywhere else in Sri Lanka is remarkable.

Either side of our one night stay here we were baking in 30 degree heat and 80 percent humidity but here it was just 14 degrees and rain sweeping in at right angles like being in the UK or where we live in the south of Victoria, Australia in winter.

The hotel and restaurant were first class and the old lifts that service the hotel a reminder of the 1930's and a simpler time.

The staff were wonderful and the drive into this hotel up a steep, isolated road - is something you will never forget.

This is the perfect one or two night stay for those planning a Sri Lankan holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation.

Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We had to change rooms on arrival (317) which overlooked service area and car park ... was shown to our next room (309) which had great views overlooking the valley !
Went for lunch was excellent but very large portions and great milkshakes !
We both had massages at Misty Spa which was reasonable priced and great peaceful experience ! Girls were polite and very good x
We had dinner in the train cab TSK8865 a great dinner with unique feel . Chefs came to see us a nice touch ! We had a great 8 course dinner with a lovely guy the conductor !!! Well done enjoyed every minute.
Unfortunately we could not do tea picking due to heavy rain but heard of other guests it was very informative !
Thank you

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ashbradz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory.

It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well.

We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

It was a unique experience at Heritance Tea Factory. It is a different experience than other hotels where you get a real feeling of tea and upcountry culture. A lovely place to be relaxed and stay peacefully. The staff members also unique there and had a homely experience with them. Food also superb and really admired the welcome tea served. Lovely room view of mountains and superb early morning view. My little one also well looked after at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thilini_PE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation.

Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews