We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building with professional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautifully rebuild of the tea factory. The only place in Sri Lanka, where we get professional services on European level. I love the tea lobby and the tea. To tell the truth, we was only at the tea lobby and eat at the lobby bar, and don't see the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank zsszn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,595)
There are newer reviews for Heritance Tea Factory
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

A unique, well executed experience. We really enjoyed our short stay at the Tea Factory. The drive to the hotel and its location is stunning. The hotel has been thoughtfully converted keeping many period features. It is well balanced with comfort and cosiness combined with the added interest of industrial chic. The staff are excellently attentive. They value feedback and clearly act on it, creating a genuine sense that they want guests to be happy. Thanks for a memorable experience, a highlight of our trip!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank OxfordBergamot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

A tea factory converted into a hotel . Indeed a once in a lifetime experience. The approach to Nuwara eliya is picture perfect. Green hills covered with tea, winding roads and everywhere you look lush greenery. The property is situated in a valley and from afar it looks like any other old factory. As you enter you realise the painstaking efforts to convert this factory to a hotel with modern amenities while still retaining the old structure without damaging the brick work, lift and over all layout. You are welcomed with tea while the check in is done. Getting into the lift and while your eyes wander and take in the ambience. The rooms are modern yet have an old world charm.Staff is attentive, kind and helpful.We had a set dinner on our first night. Served with fine crockery, changed for every course and exquisitely presented. Transports you to days gone by when the british ruled. We went for a nature walk the next day, walked for almost 8 kms amongst tea bushes and plantations, breathing in fresh air along the way. An exhilarating experience. Dinner was a reservation in the train wagon for $ 75 per person it was on the steeper side. A wagon with 4 tables, a station master, a train horn and fine dining. Food was good , served every course with great care and all our little requirements were met. Breakfast also is a wide spread of srilankan, indian and continental. The spa is good but do reserve in advance as most people use it and worth it as its really relaxing. If you can afford to , this is a must do on your trip to Srilanka, Nuwara Eliya is the jewel in the crown in Srilanka and a visit to Heritance Tea Factory is indeed a life time experience. Every time I think of our trip, I am transported to the greenery and tea factory. Without a doubt a true gem in Srilanka

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bbhesania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Unlike anything we have ever experienced before. we went to many hotels in sri lanka but this is the only place that we celebrate our anniversary... The best place for a holiday very beautiful hotel.. friendly staff... best service.. clean room... love the special tea. Thank you for the surprise that you gave in the room.. we will come back...

Room Tip: find in the top floor............
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crishtoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were all treated like royalty in this hotel. A great welcome, smiling and accommodating staff. We loved this property. It was exhilarating that they have changed a former tea factory into a hotel and were able to offer their guests an extraordinary experience. The lift was a one of a kind, 200 years old lift. There were strawberries and cream in the room waiting for us. The view from the room was spectacular. We were surrounded by a tea plantation and it was green everywhere. The buffet breakfast had very good spread. They had both local food and intercontinental choices. The spa was very good too and the lobby is so comfortable.

When i was reading the other reviews, i read a few which mentioned that the rooms should be sound proof. I believe the property was built mainly with wood and not bricks and cement, hence you can hear people talking and walking. But this was not a huge problem for me or my husband. The noises did not disturb our sleep. We understand the source of the noises.

We also did a tea plucking session. We were given a tour in the mini tea factory. Then we went tea plucking with baskets on our heads. It was certainly a fun experience.

We loved everything about this property. It was a pity that we only stayed here for a night. This is a place that we will certainly return to. Good job team at Heritance Tea factory. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxetraveller2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The customer service is exceptionally good. All the staff I came across at the door, front desk, tea bar, dining area/buffet (Roshan, Umesh, Kaushalya, Pradeep and few others), room service, housekeeping and the organic tea factory were polite, professional, friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, helpful, courteous and had a great attitude. They did very well to make us feel comfortable and happy with the resources that has been provided to them which is not enough for the high prices the hotel charge their guests.

The rooms were below average. Not comfortable beds. The rooms should be sound proof. I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and didn't sleep well at all. It was so noisy even in the middle of the night. I'm afraid this hotel is haunted. I strongly believe there are ghosts in bedroom. I speak through experiences I had in the room at night. My mother who stayed with me said the same thing. She hasn't slept well either. Which is obvious because it's such an old place. Also we hear people talking and walking in corridors, other rooms and at the kitchen in the middle of the night.

The hotel needs to be well lit inside even during the day. I don't know why they turn off the lights during the day. You do charge us a lot of money for all the services I'm sure you can afford to pay the bills.

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner on all days we stayed at HTF hotel and everything is over priced for that below average quality of the food. I personally love good food and am ready to pay expensive rates for good food. But the food at the buffet and the A la carte menu was disappointing. Very few choices at the buffet too. The food didn't taste good either.

I used the spa for a manicure, pedicure and a full body massage. The Indonesian ladies were very friendly and professional. They did a great job. Well done!

Please do something about the noisy rooms and the ghost problem. Please make the beds, linen, pillows, bathroom and toiletries more appealing and comfortable. I feel it was an absolute waste of money and time staying at your hotel for 4 nights. There's hardly anything to do. You should add more facilities to keep your guests entertained e.g. Live band, swimming pool, games room, proper gym, few shops etc. Also please add more choices in your menus and buffet and make the food more flavoursome and appealing.

Over all I'm disappointed with the quality and standard of the hotel. It wasn't a comfortable relaxing experience. It's not your staff fault it's the management. Staff did very well with the little that was provided to them but the management should spend money to make it more pleasant and enjoyable for the guests. I don't think I'll return to this hotel again. Big thank you to all the lovely staff for the great service :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissPepperCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetherset, General Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Customer,
We thank you to have selected HTF and to have stayed with us for four nights and for your valuable feed back.We are glad that you have liked the service provided by the staff and their attitude towards the customer .
We also thank you to have mentioned about the negative experiences which you have had in regard to the room and the food. We will definitely look into all the shortcomings you have highlighted and rectify them immediately.
In regard to the ghost you have mentioned,this is a surprise to all at HTF and the first time we have got a comment as such. You may realize that we have more than 1000 reviews and none of our guests have commented about any ghosts in the hotel.The hotel is more than 18 years in operation with a year round occupancy of 80% ,many guests have stayed at HTF , we could assure that not a single customer had experienced something like this before.
We once again thank you to have stayed at HTF and for your valuable review ,we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

a long way to get to this hotel we only stayed a night so the whole experience was rushed i would say it would be best to have two nights.the hotel is in good order but not at a five star standard perhaps four star. We had room service dinner which was ok . The breakfast was excellent and the staff were all fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,547 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,043 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
167 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
308 reviews
5.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $246 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing