We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a novel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Truly a novel experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Staying in this hotel is truly a unique experience. The hotel has an ambience of old-world charm, from the lift with its manually-operated doors to the old-fashioned sign outside the dining room stating the dress code.

The service was splendid, and the staff were also very friendly to my four-year-old son, playing with him and making him feel right at home.

We went on a tea leaf picking session and they managed to rustle up a mini sarong for my four-year-old son, much to his delight.

Unfortunately, we could not dine in the Railway Carriage Restaurant because children were not allowed during dinner service. The manager offered to arrange a child-minder for us while we had dinner; we declined it, but it was a nice gesture. They did allow us onto the carriage before dinner service to just take a look.

Our stay here was comfortable, and what I really appreciated about this hotel is that, unlike all the other hotels we stayed in in Sri Lanka, this hotel offers ample lighting in the bedroom - enough light to read by even.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    758
    226
    66
    33
See reviews for
583
1,385
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The opportunity to stay in a tea factory on a tea plantation was what attracted us to this hotel. The drive up is long and winding but the views en route are spectacular. The welcome at the hotel was friendly and the main ground floor area is well presented. The rooms were on the cool side so heaters are provided together with extra blankets which were needed! Felt the facilities in the room were on the mean side, no cushions or extra pillows for sitting up in bed and admiring the views. Only tea making as standard although coffee can be requested. Toiletries minimal and difficult to get out of their containers. Restaurant a strange affair with buffet set menu. You select from the menu then collect some parts yourself whilst other courses are delivered. First time I've left a restaurant still feeling hungry! Feel hotel pays more attention to cost saving than guest satisfaction.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

One of the best period hotels that I have ever been to. They have an excellent staff with service attitude and everybody around is quite helpful. The colonial look and feel, maintenance of old tea factory setting add to the beautiful locales outside.

Positives: Just about everything- views, food, service quality, cleanliness, garden nearby, special touch for honeymooners..

Negatives: nothing against the property but the drive from Colombo airport/Kandy is tiring and long for the distance.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a better view and are quieter. But they also have a higher tariff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family at the top floor rooms ( ideal rooms for the best views ). Though the views were excellent, but I think this should be a hotel first and a historic tea site second..
The hotel management should pay more attention to the basic amnesties like sound proofing the rooms (trust me.. this is one major issue) , not charging wayy higher rates for rooms and stuff like extra beddings etc, providing good facilities for customers like a 'proper' gym / pool and some entertainment in the hotel too (it gets boring if u stay for more than a day here )
I Believe that they should not put all their focus on providing 'tea' only..and the heritage. ;)
They also provide driver residence with meals..which is a good thing.I asked my driver and he said he enjoyed more than us as all the drivers were having a party :D
Anyways, this place is recommended only If u have ample cash ( also they charge from ur credit card instantly if u r booking online ) and I suggest only for a day max. Rest u can stay at cheaper but gkod alternatives near the Lake gregory in nuwara elya which sure is a more peaceful and modern place

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Haaris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The views from this unique hotel are wonderful.

Check in was extremely easy, the easiest in five months traveling. The room was very clean and comfortable, the bathroom could have been cleaner.

All the staff were very good always had a smile on their face.

The food here was only average. Breakfast was good, although quite a few flies.

We were given hot water bottles in the evening, which was a great extra.

We stayed one night, which we felt was just about right.

Our driver also stayed the night and didn't have a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

After ask the great reviews on TripAdvisor, we added Nuwara eliya to our trip plan just to stay in HTF. It's a great place in a beautiful surrounding no doubt about that but over all hotel experience was pretty much average.
The train ride to Nuwara eliya was great and so was the drive to hotel. The view is awesome and so is the first impression on the hotel. The welcome with turmeric tikka n tea is good touch.
The pitch sale for private dinner at carriage and spa was over kill though.
The ambience and decor of the place matched with what we had expected with converted tea factory, staff in colonial uniform and old world charm. But the place over all had a worn and old look over all specially our room. Our room was on 1st floor and extremely small. Two single bed were joined to make double bed. People upstairs were very noisy and roof seemed to shake everytime someone walked. We could hear children scream and play til late in the night.
Restaurant and bar was good. There was huge amount of choices.
We stayed there a night so didn't get to do the tea picking tour. May be next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank geminigirl_2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Quite a long, treacherous drive to the hotel but once you arrive, it's like being in your own little world. After having stayed at another Heritance hotel and then this, I have come to believe that this brand equals top-notch quality and service. They have also retained and restored part of the tea factory and it adds an interesting and educational dimension to your stay. Very restful respite in hill country and btw, don't miss a hike in Horton Plains!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish_East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,477 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,966 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing