We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The narrow road leading to hotel was scary at times but once we reached the hotel we were delighted as it was such an amazing concept adapted throughout the hotel.breath taking views from our room. It was such an awesome experience. Service was excellent will definitely be back.should be rated as 5 star

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SCooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,653 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous one night stay on our honeymoon trip around Sri Lanka and the Maldives. Thoroughly enjoyed our tea picking experience and our dinner in the railway carriage - you must try this as the 'guard' is absolutely crackers but great fun. Also fab to see Scunthorpe steel in such a far-flung place! Thoroughly great time and fab breakfast to boot. Go... You'll love it!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The scenic way between tea plantations leads us along 12 km on a very narrow concrete road from the Nawuara Elia to the old Heritance Tea Factory. It was a brilliant idea to convert an old factory into a beautiful hotel accommodation, a sort of Loft hotel.

The welcoming acceptance with traditional tea and tikka ceremonies is nice and touching, it immediately throws us into a relaxation mood. Our 5 rooms are nicely furbished, somewhat small but comfortable. The service and the response of the staff is efficient and friendly. We still had 2-3 hours to the dinner time so we ordered, in the meantime, few small local dishes and snacks with beer, all are nicely presented, very tasty, and are served exactly after 20 minutes from order as promised.

The dinner buffet and the breakfasts are well organized, designed for large audience, but the quality of food is average.

It is nice place for hiking, relaxing, reading some books. Spa facilities are good. Should the management considers adding a high quality gourmet restaurant, specializing in Sri Lankian food, it could fade. d a lot to the attractiveness of this place.

One problem we were confronted with was a bad insulation between the floors, we could hear the steps of the guest in the upper floor rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PUMAtrack70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

On our journey from Kandy to Yala National Park we decided to do a bit of a de tour via the Heritance Tea Factory for afternoon tea. The view from the factory was incredible and the factory itself was intriguing and beautiful particularly inside. The staff were friendly and helpful and we sat over looking the tea plantation with our huge and amazingly good value afternoon tea. A mixture of traditional British and traditional Sri Lankan cakes. We only stopped for tea and then left to make it to Yala for the evening I would really recommend stopping off here even if it is just for a passing visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We travelled all over Sri Lanka and this was my favourite hotel. It is just so unusual you will never see a hotel like it. The night time buffet was by far the best we had in Sri Lanka and the most reasonably priced. They had an Italian theme buffet on the night we were there and it was lovely. The only thing they can improve on is updating the rooms a bit and the cleanliness of the rooms could possibly be improved, as I noticed my friend's room had 'clean me' written across the window pane! However you don't care or notice as it is just such a lovely fantastic charming hotel and place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I wanted to get a break from work stress and boiling weather condition. I stayed with my mother this April, the location was surrounded by the mountains and hotel is far away from busy crowded towns/cities. Hotel interior and architecture is unique and its one off experience I had staying there. Staff is friendly offered us their fullest support to have a relaxing, luxury holiday I really wanted. Rooms are clean and warm, liked the strawberries offered at the room and I enjoy the theme of tea factory. Food was delicious and had a variety and always match the hesitance standard quality. It is indeed a satisfactory stay and value for every rupee spent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zareefa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Adding to other reviews - I have to praise the 1 hour tea plucking tour operated by the hotel at the charming little tea factory. I believe it's open to external visitors as well. The staff dress you up with traditional clothing (beautiful Sari for the ladies) and off you go with a wooden basket to pluck the leaves for yourself. It's a lovely experience and the staff educate you how to pluck, and which leaves serve the various tea types (black, green, white). at the end you watch the tea making process in the factory and get to taste all tea types. The kids and I loved it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Tal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,084 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,597 reviews
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
175 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
330 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#15 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $256 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing