We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night to break up the journey from Kandy to Yala,so we cannot comment on many things but our room was fine for 1 night,a little smaller than some but perfectly adequate.It is a very tiring long drive to this hotel,but a very scenic drive never the less,although the clouds descended as we arrived,very reminiscent of the Scottish highlands.We had dinner buffet style in the hotel and it was very good,and a couple or three drinks in the colonial feeling bar,the whole place was quite formal and was like stepping back to some bygone British empire film set.The whole area is very picturesque and interesting,plenty of colonial history and Nuwara Eliya is a delightful place,again it seemed like we were visiting a Scottish highland town,very unique.
So I would recommend this hotel for a stopover but its isolation would limit my wanting to stay more than 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alekos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 2,724 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

What a fantastic experience in the beautiful Sri Lankan tea country. The old tea factory has been perfectly transformed into a hotel, the only thing letting it down are slightly dated rooms but the decor and vintage factory structures more than make up for it. It's chilly up in the hills so bring a jumper and definitely try all the curries and tea you can! If you love hotels that are a bit different and unbeatable views look no further.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the very end of the hotel as the winds are pretty loud at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDGE-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A lovely building converted to a hotel from an abandoned tea factory and many original features have been kept. No air conditioning and thus we had to keep the window open - unfortunately there was only one setting - fully open and as we overlooked the main entrance we were woken at 5.00am when other guests made an early start. The hotel is high up in the hills and for the 2 days we had no views as low cloud cover all around. Suggest you don't bother to get a room at the top with double aspect views as there were no views. Met a couple who had done this and had paid quite a bit more than us, and were thus disappointed. Arrived on our 40th wedding anniv., and had booked a meal in the Railway Carriage - more about this later. Discovered it was a Poya day (Buddhist Festival) and No alcohol available in the hotel. Luckily we were able to postpone our dinner for 24 hours - and what a meal. The railway carriage was run by Pushparag who made the evening - you dined to the sound of the train and even yours seats wobbled as you seemed to travel over the tracks. The food also wonderful and very good value - it was the highlight of our stay in Sri Lanka

Room Tip: Not room 202 as it was over the hotel main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legoupil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel located literally above the clouds at 2000m above sea level amongst a working tea plantation. It's a hike to get there and would recommend for couples rather than families with younger children. (Not many activities for kids and mist guests are older couples).
Restaurant service is quite formal and has dress code.
Sunset drinks on the lawn a must. Take warm clothes as it cools down at night considerably which is a nice change during the hot summer days.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadwarriorasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved every minute. Great rooms, staff and food. The hotel owners have maintained the quirky old features of the factory which really adds to the charm as well as the beautiful setting in the beautiful tea plantations.

The hotel offers a 1hr Tea picking experience which is highly recommended and at £2.50 per person an absolute bargain the price also includeds a tour of the mini tea factory, with a nice pack of tea for you to take home on check-out. We also enjoyed the 2hr nature walk which takes you through the tea plantations - would recommend that you do this early morning or evening due to the hot weather.

Special mention to Mutuu was really helpful and couldnt do enough for us.

Loved this hotel !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissVip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Worth the extra trek from Muwara Eliya to this amazing hotel, for all the world a functioning tea factory from the outside, but stunningly converted into a luxury hotel in the inside, with some of the original machinery still operational. Very friendly and helpful staff, great food and of cpourse, amazing tea. Only thing to remember is that this is in the high tea country, so weather is much cooler than down by the coast. Take some warm clothes!

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views, when the mist clears in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LONGJOHNSILVERSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel, which is more like a resort experience due to the fact it's quite isolated (about 30 mins drive from Nuwara Eliya... it's about 15 mins to the end of the hotel's drive!) but unique in every way. Quirky staff, quirky uniforms, Very memorable. Lovely comfortable rooms, very decent dinners - delicious curries! The only disappointment was the breakfasts - much of it was stale and dry and it was the same every morning (we stayed for 3 nights). The bread was also sometimes stale which was a shame. The Sri Lankan breakfasts were the best which I realised very quickly! There is no pool but nice walks around the place, you can pick tea, ride (cheap) bikes, go into Nuwara Eliya for afternoon tea at the Grand Hotel.. we enjoyed a 3 hour hike in Horton Plains National Park which we really enjoyed. Tip for the hotel if you read this : PLEASE replace the TV in the bar! We tried to watch the 20/20 world cup and couldn't believe there were flatscreens in the bedroom but the main bar TV was from the 1980s with awful reception. It just looked very unprofessional. But all in all, fab stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,193 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,660 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
966 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $203 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing