We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views and great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritance Tea Factory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing views and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at the Tea Factory hotel for 2 nights after the journey up from Kandy on the train, which, by the way, had some beautiful views of the tea plantations and jungle.

The Tea Factory is located 2009mts above sea level, according to my ipad, and we did feel a little effect of the altitude after climbing the steps to our room on the second floor room! Its also about 9 miles from Nuwara Eliya which our guide drove round but we didn't stop at, it looks such a pretty town, situated around a large lake, with a park racecourse and golf course, very upmarket. If you have time I would suggest you take time out here to explore more.

The Heritance Tea Factory, is as the name suggests an ex real working tea factory that lay abandoned for a number of years before being converted into an hotel. The room we stayed in was very pleasant, large bed, TV (the first we had seen after 2 weeks in Sri Lanka !) tea making facilities, of course, etc. The bathroom was ok, functional with a shower over the bath, could do with a refit really but was fine. There are 60 or so rooms so this was the first real "Hotel" we stayed in in Sri Lanka rather than the small 6 or 8 room premises we had stayed in earlier.

The hotel food was excellent. very large buffet area, eat as much as you want, with various curry dishes, non curry dishes, some items cooked for you as you watched, salads, breads, lots of desserts. Basically an excellent selection and quality of food, waited on by very pleasant staff in a very nice setting. You can reserve tables if you wish. They tend to fill up the left hand side of the restaurant first and then the bottom right, so if you get there at the wrong time you could be sat on your own for a while.

The Tea Factory has its own mini tea factory on site which you can pop down to, just a few yards from the hotel, press the doorbell, and a very nice lady will come out, dress you up and take you round, its only small so 30mins is all you need. Well worth doing.

Other hotel facilities include a spa, pool table, small library area, above the smoking bar, a tea bar, lots of history about the hotel and the big engine! Also if you are approached by a guy wearing a blue boiler suite, yellow safety helmet and a cardboard spanner, don't worry he's asking you if wish for a special "Engine" cocktail (took us by surprise!!! I must admit!!!) There is also a small rose garden area which is worth looking at, as well as other activities put on by the hotel such as picking your own tea!!

There is a sitting area outside with 6 or 8 tables and umbrellas where you can take tea, cake and light lunches. We asked for toasted sandwich, which was very good, when we ordered it it was clear blue sky and quite warm, by the time the food came, which was only about 15 mins, the clouds/mist had come up and we couldn't see anything, in fact the hotel which was only about 50 mts behind us was also beginning to fade!!! quite funny and being British we stayed there and ate our food in the fog!

The best thing about staying here are the views. They are amazing. You look down on the small holdings where farmers are tending their crops, you often look down onto clouds (camera opportunity) and look across at the rolling hills. This assumes that the mist hasnot blocked out the view of course!!! The mist tends to come mid afternoon / evening but had gone by the morning, but it can come and go in minutes.

I think its an hotel you should visit just because its so unique and the views are unbelievable. Oh and I was able to pick a little piece of my own tea as a souvenir, as the hotel is surrounded by tea bushes, that for me was a big plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niveklb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    734
    217
    64
    33
See reviews for
553
1,334
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at The Tea Factory for one night whilst touring Sri Lanka on our Honeymoon (Mid-March 2014), and found it a wonderful and unique hotel, with lots to keep us occupied. With only a day to enjoy the surroundings we took advantage of the 'Tea Picking' activity and the Nature Walk. The Tea picking was brilliant - we loved getting dressed up in Sarong and Sari, carrying baskets on our heads and picking the tea we eventually took home as souvenirs. The Heritage Walk took 2 hours, which may sound long but it was a lot fun and very interesting. It was a lovely way to enjoy the views of the plantations. The staff were always attentive and polite; we had a great, clean, comfortable room with 270 degree views. We also had a meal in the 'Train Carriage', which was a really fun and tasty evening. The host for dinner was hilarious and it's always great to see someone who genuinely loves their job. I would definitely recommend the Tea Factory to anyone visiting Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel is a very cleverly converted tea factory and the way the restoration and refurbishment has been done is what makes it an interesting place. With exposed trusses, the old machines still installed, the old elevator still cranking up and down, it was great theatrics. But there was no shortage of creature comforts. The 4 floors, originally tea drying rooms, were converted into guest rooms with all the luxe fixtures in place. The food was great and huge varieties of it. Plenty of the veggies are from the gardens and organic to boot. Of course the setting is fabulous as the hotel sits atop a hill in the mids to acres of tea plantations, so expect beautiful vistas from everywhere, including the bathroom!
Fresh organic strawberries to welcome you in the room, free wifi, amazingly attentive and responsive staff- if you are going to the tea area in Sri Lanka- don't miss out on staying in Newara Eliya and at The Tea Factory.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor that overlooks the front gardens. The rooms on the other side overlook the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kalimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Great room with a stunning balcony looking at the tea fields. This hotel is stunning inside and out, with very friendly staff and great food (and tea!). The welcome was really nice- you get greeted with some spiced tea and a handful of sugar/ cardamom and fennel seeds to eat. Staff made us feel really welcome from the start and we sat on comfy sofas admiring the building whilst they sorted our booking effortlessly. They even sorted the transfer from the train station with no issues.

We did the tea plucking which was really good fun and a great insight into what goes into the making of the tea we drink.

The climate here is lovely and cool so we enjoyed sitting on the outside terrace with a cup of tea.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grace c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a really nice time staying 2 nights at the Tea Factory Hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, and the bathroom was nice. Nice sheets and towels. We had excellent views of the tea fields from our room. The welcome was just lovely, and the staff very friendly. The service provided was great. The hotel has a lot of character with the old tea making equipment. We had a great 'tea' experience staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for only one night and were really sorry that we had to leave so quickly. The hotel is astonishing and really something else for Sri Lanka.

The whole hotel is tea-themed since it is an old english tea factory. Food quality is outstanding and the staff was also quite friendly. If you enter the rooms you feel like travelling back to the colonial era - really amazing experience.
The gym could use an overhaul but it is okay.

We are already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muemmeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great room, clean and special hotel. It's look like old from the appearance but it's totally different inside!! Decoration is great !! Staff are really polite and helpful, delicious food in the restaurant. Their staff provide the services more better than the 5 star hotel, we felt really warm and being respected.

I would recommended to stay at least 2 nights because it's really far away from the Colombo

Room Tip: Choose higher standard grade of the room (both end), you could enjoy 3 side of the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
23.1 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing