We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely...Note to self: come again to a premium room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply lovely...Note to self: come again to a premium room”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location: it is a bit far from colombo 5 hours drive minimum..But wanted to make my wife's bday ( we are newly weds as well) special and decided to stay for two nights..Before going to the hotel i heard the road is a nightmare but to my surprise it was concreted all the way upto the hotel ,but as the road is narrow one vehicel will have to stop when ever a there is an oncoming vehicle.

The Room: I saw the premium and superior rooms , I wanted the premium room so badly with 270 degree view and size, but all were pre-booked so had to settle for a superior room. It was kinda small but was cozy and clean. The size of the room (204) is the only negative thing we encountered for the whole trip

The service: From the point entry it was all smiles from the staff I have to give a special mention Meiyappa the doorman who anointed us with a pottu & prabashini (the lady at the reception) who made us feel special as soon we stepped in to the hotel. The service at the bar , room service was also prompt & polite..Hats off to the team on that

The food: I thought the whole experience couldnt be any better until I had dinner on saturday night..Simply wow...Had an excellent spread of good food from starters to deserts. Waiting for a omlet or a hopper at the action station was a delight as the people were a nice to talk to.

Activities available: Activities were limited but that didnt stop us from relaxing and enjoying the atmosphere. We liked the biking, mini tea factory , putting green as minor distractions from relaxing...

Overall: Brilliantly maintained hotel, lovely service and food as well.Would definitely make another trip there hopefully to a premium room

Room Tip: Loved the premium rooms..And the price diff from standard for HB was only 3000LKR (<30 USD) ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neero700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    773
    233
    66
    36
See reviews for
598
1,403
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, a converted tea factory, with the conversion done very nicely with attention to detail. The rooms are somewhat on the small side but it's nice, lovely views. The food was just ok. Staff were really nice. The only negative is that the hotel is isolated, quite far from nuwara eliya so you need a car to go anywhere, nothing is within walking distance. Next time I would prefer a hotel in nuwara eliya.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bolsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Worth the detour to experience a wonderful hotel with excellent food and service in an authentic tea factory setting. We chose this location for this very experience and loved every minute of it!

Special thanks to the Manager Raj who found us the perfect room and Manoj who created the perfect cocktails.

Monique and Joanne

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank monijoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

W e spent one night in the hotel which is very remote but definitely worth the efoort of getting there. It has won various regeneration awards and has fascinating history but some of the bedrooms are a bit tired and could do with modernising again.

It was a national holiday when we were there so no alcohol was allowed to be served....except in the dining car, which was a really sumptuous meal and a hilarious and unforgettable occasion, completeley made by the guard/waiter wo was brilliant. Stunning views the next morning, it is a must-see place on your SriLnakan itinerary.....but don't drive there yourself !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Unlike the previous reviewer, I certainly wouldn't describe this hotel as luxurious. But it is nevertheless well worth a visit as it is an interesting converted tea factory building, and is in a wonderful location. When we arrived, mid-afternoon, the hotel was enveloped in mist - very atmospheric. Next morning we awoke to brilliant sunshine, a stunning view over the tea fields, looking down on a cottonwool blanket of cloud that was lower down the hill. During the day, the clouds rolled in and out, so we were alternately in sunshine and mist. We loved this!

The staff and service were, on the whole, excellent - especially the smiling turbaned man who carried our bags to our room, and the wonderful doorman who bowed us in and out.

We were here just for two nights/one day in order to experience the tea growing area, and didn't have any arranged outings. We enjoyed spending our time going for walks on our own around the various tea pluckers paths in among the tea bushes.

Our room on the third floor had wonderful views (at the front of the hotel - at the back you would overlook the car park), and had everything you need. We found it comfortable, if characterless. The lounge was OK, though the area at the far end seemed to be plagued with flies, which we didn't like. The patio cafe at the front of the hotel was a lovely place to sit and have a drink/snack/read a book.

The buffet dinner and breakfast were adequate - but a long way from the best food we had on our trip around the island. Desserts were particularly not nice - like shop-bought confections, much too sweet and odd-tasting. And there were flies around the fruit at breakfast. Coffee was Nescafe unless you ordered an espresso, which was good and strong (for an extra charge).

Lots of dogs barking, and we needed ear plugs at night as there was a lot of yelping going on that we found distressing.

Overall, I was pleased we went to this hotel as its unique architecture and location balanced out its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Make sure you are overlooking the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and loved every minute. Very luxurious hotel and we were treated like royalty. Its far from the madding crowd and we had trips out each day and were able to come back to peace and quiet. Until the local dogs barked all night at the boars coming down from the hills !. We had a premium room with a triple aspect view. we could watch the sunrise from our bed. It had a great mini bar which for once wasn't vastly expensive.
The enormous bathroom was impressive and that and the rest of the suite was kept immaculately.
We arranged Balanise massages at the spa and I have to say it was one of the best I've ever had. My husband fell asleep during his !
The drive to it is an arduous and ear popping 2 and half hours and not altogether pleasant. But once there is was well worth it.
The food in the restaurant was of excellent standard and plenty of choice. (We were half board).
It was my birthday the restaurant team presented me with a lovely birthday cake and a hand made card was left in our room as were flowers every day
The views were breathtaking and the tea delicious
Would reccommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Try to get a premium room. lots of room in these
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at Heritance Tea Factory for the benefit of the future guest. We are very happy to note that we have been able to offer you a pleasant Birthday surprise and that you have enjoyed the Spa.
Your compliments to staff and food has been duly passed on to the entire team and look forward to welcome you back in the very near future to the Heritance Tea Factory on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

In the middle of the tea area you will find this old teafactory. beautiful views around. although we sleapt at the executive floor the rooms are a bit old and outdated. Nothing annoying, but still.
you can make some nice trips in the area.
the food we had in the restaurant ( we had a la carte since we would not join the italian buffet) was very mediocre, we did not finsh our plates, dissappointing quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to note that we have been able to offer you a pleasant experience at our hotel.
Constructive feedback of your recent stay posted on TripAdvisor is most welcomed as it gives us the opportunity to correct ourselves where necessary in order to serve our future guest even better. We shall immediately look into the areas of concerns that you have indicated.

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,519 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,016 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
158 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
285 reviews
5.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing