We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good as the other hotels we had stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
kleen
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not so good as the other hotels we had stayed in”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Interesting hotel situated inside a disused tea factory. There was some of the machinery on display and still working! Rooms comfortable and clean. The buffet was not as good as other hotels we had stayed in on our trip to Sri Lanka. The facilities were also not so good. However the location and interior of the hotel made up, in part for this. A perfectly adequate overnight hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterKleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at Heritance Tea Factory for the benefit of the future guest. We shall immediately look into the areas of concerns that you have indicated.
Thank you very much again for your review. We invite you to visit us once again

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory






The Management
Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    756
    226
    65
    33
See reviews for
578
1,379
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The plus points;
1. Awesome location
2. old world charm
3. Exceptionally good service
4. the guided walk through the tea plantation should not be missed.
5. the tea picking experience and the tour of the mini tea factory is worth spending some time over.

Negatives;

1. please ensure that you take the full board option as there are no other options for lunch / dinner and the restaurant at he hotel is pretty expensive
2.There is nothing to keep the kids engaged, hence do not plan more than a nights stay if you are traveling with kids / teenagers.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

It is with great pleasure that we read your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for all the lovely compliments extended. We do have a kid’s play area and constructing a warm water pool as a value added facility.
Thank you very much again for your review. We invite you to visit us once again

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel was converted from a tea factory and it is amazing. It has a panoramic view from the grounds of the hotel. It has the old fashioned service of yesteryear with staff wearing clothes from the early times. Our driver did such a good job getting to the hotel as it is up a windy narrow road and not many passing spots. There is not a lot to do there. There is a spa which we didn't use whilst we were there. As we were surrounded by mist when we were there, it was nice in the evening to sit in front of the fires in the bar, something we haven't done for a long time so enjoyed that. Staff were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at Heritance Tea Factory for the benefit of the future guest. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments to staff and food has been duly passed on to the entire team and look forward to welcome you back in the very near future to the Heritance Tea Factory on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.

Thank you very much again for your review.

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I can understand why this hotel is so popular as it is very different but as a previous reviewer has pointed out its not for everyone. Personally I found the level of attentiveness a bit too much. The staff are of course carrying out their instructions and they are polite and pleasant at all times, it was just that I was scared to pick up a spoon or a napkin as one of the waiters would dash over and do it for me. I'm sure I am in the minority as most people will love this hotel, my husband liked it very much. The gym has been mentioned previously and it is dated but the treadmills work so no excuses! Lovely food, great views. I'm sure this hotel will be popular for years to come.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annelizabethSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at Heritance Tea Factory for the benefit of the future guest. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in progress of upgrading our gym.
Look forward to welcome you back in the very near future to the Heritance Tea Factory on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Thank you very much again for your review.

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Setting of this hotel is quite unique and different to all other hotel I've been in Nuwara Eliya.

Its a tea factory converted to a hotel situated about 14km away from the Nuwara Eliya city center. Location is somewhat remote and the road reading from Kandapola town to the hotel is quite narrow and only a single vehicle could pass at a time. Surrounding and the landscape of the hotel is breathtaking.

Staff : We were greeted at the entrance very warmly with a traditional welcome according to Hindu/Tamil culture and with a hot cup of tea :) Staff at the reception was very prompt and did not take much time guide us to the rooms.

Rooms : Room and the bathroom was quite spacious. Luckily we were at the top most floor that gives the best view of the hotel surroundings.

Food : Buffet was more towards western cuisine i would say but you do get several local dishes too. Nothing to complain about,offered a decent spread and food was delicious.

The hotel has a small tea factory which we could not visit due to our short-stay, but i highly recommend others to visit the tea factory if time permits.

All in all, we had a very memorable stay at the hotel and hope to return there for a much longer stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crishani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at Heritance Tea Factory for the benefit of the future guest. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back in the very near future to the Heritance Tea Factory on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Thank you very much again for your review.

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borsbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good service, very good food, friendly staff,big rooms. Would have loved to stay more than one night. Location is amazing. Walking tour with guide was a nice experience. The small teafactory is charming. The flowergarden is beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andré s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at Heritance Tea Factory for the benefit of the future guest. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back in the very near future to the Heritance Tea Factory on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Thank you very much again for your review.

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Me and my friends thought to travel Sri Lanka last month.well to be honest in the beginning we didn't think that it would be this awesome.Out of the places we went, this tea factory was right up to the mark.what really we liked was the service was simply excellent! what we really loved was the beauty of the location.The rooms were clean.

To get those experience we really had to get a guide.without them we wouldn't have even get here!

if anyone looking to vist Sri Lanka go through this web site they'll help you!

http://www.jeromwintours.com/?r=104

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager - Dev George at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at Heritance Tea Factory for the benefit of the future guest. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back in the very near future to the Heritance Tea Factory on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Thank you very much again for your review.
The Management

Heritance Tea Factory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing