We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow what a lovely hotel. Food was fab. Nice selection of both local and international cuisine. Did lots of trekking into the woods and surrounding villages. Wish I had more pens and pencils for the local village kids. I had some but there were so many of them asking for more. Great views from the rooms especially in the morning when the mist covers the mountains. Hotel gives a sense of colonial era. What a great place to enjoy a Ceylon cup of tea and to relax in the cool highland temperature!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we read your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for all the lovely compliments extended.
We are also very happy to know that you have enjoyed the trekking and visit to the surrounding villagers.
One again thank you and look forward to welcome you back to the Heritance Tea Factory in the near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Our warm wishers to you for a Happy 2014.

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,487 - 1,493 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I traveled from Kandy for 3 hours to visit the hotel and tea factor because of the reviews on tripadvisor. We had lunch and had a small tea manufacturing tour while we were there. We ordered Western food since Nuwara Eliya and this hotel was all about the English traditions but we were extremely disappointed with their set menu, ala carte, AND wine! The lunch overall was terrible and overpriced but I am giving the hotel an average rating because the person that gave us the tour of the mini tea factory was cheerful, helpful, and informative.

Reviewers failed to mention that this is not a place to stay for less than 2 days since the road are extremely winding and it takes about 3-4 hours to travel to Kandy and at least 30-40 minutes to downtown Nuwara Eliya. Reviewers also failed to mention that if you don't "dress the part", the staff will not be as helpful and engaging.

If I was to stay in Nuwara Eliya for 3+ days and just chill on a tea plantation hotel, I'd give HTF a shot. Bring warm and decent clothes to fully enjoy the old English tea plantation hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We shall take serious note of the concerns raised by you and would take immediate steps to further improve our services.

We regret very much that you have not been happy with the services offered by our hotel although most of our guests have had a delightful stay as per their reviews.

Nevertheless we thank you again for the comments. We invite you to visit us for a longer stay. We do trust that one would require more than a visit to really enjoy all that we have to offer.

Our warm wishes to you for a Happy 2014.

The Managment
Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at his hotel - 23 to 25th Dec 2013. This was our second time at this hotel-almost 10 years back was our first stay. What great experience. The staff were efficient, engaging, and couldn't do more to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms were great and so was the food served. Will be going back!!!

Room Tip: Great place to spend a few days. Great staff, good food, good room facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsokaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, Assistant Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Season’s Greetings! Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at the Heritance Tea Factory on Trip Advisor and for all the lovely compliments extended to food and service in particular. Look forward to welcome you back in the near future perhaps for a longer stay.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It's true that we stayed at the Tea Factory about ten years ago now, but that in itself is proof of how unforgettable it is, as it remains one of the most enjoyable experiences of my travelling life. The setting, the history, the climate ... yes, all wonderful, but what we remember best was the sense of fun. During supper the waiters dimmed the lights, donned masks and danced a strange 'ghost' routine for us - the next day it was a cricket dance! Bizarre but hilarious. When we went up to our room (it was St Valentine's Day), they had transformed a pair of our pyjamas and a pillowcase into a smiley person and put chocs and flowers out for us. We stayed in quite a few hotels in two years in Sri Lanka and this was among the very best.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great place to relax amidst lush tea plantations, this colonial building blends history and luxury to creat a perfect ambience. Try to go for the superior cornner rooms as they have a great view. The staff are very friendly and always smiling. Not to to forger Mr Raj who i think was the front office manager was very helpful in gettin around and making my honeymoon at tea factory a splendid stay. The morning trek offered by the the hotel is also not to be missed, provides great stamina and breathtaking views.

Thank Imran A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

If you ever want to experience staying at an old tea factory with excellent rooms and fantastic service, this is the place you should stay in! Most professional and most wonderful service. I can't say more :) simply fabulous! Try the tea plucking experience and the guided walk. We had madam rajeshwari for the tea plucking and mr Mohan for the walk and both proved to be wonderful!! Highly recommend this place to anyone!!
Bhaskars from Singapore

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakshmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The trip up to Nuwara Eliya and the tea country is very long, winding and spectacular, but worth every one of the hundreds of hairpin turns. It was after dark by the time we arrived, so it was only the next morning upon looking out the windows of our room that we realised what an amazing setting we were in, surrounded by tea plantations in the mountains high above the clouds. The hotel itself is also an eye opener, set inside an old tea factory with an old turbine generator, moving mechanical gears and a charming old elevator reminding us of its past use.

The food was great; in addition to the delicious Sri Lankan curries, Chef Shanmu also prepared for us some special dishes based on tea and a surprise for our wedding anniversary. We highly recommend dining also in the train carriage outside, with its unique setting and entertaining conductor/host, Pushpa Raj. One of the highlights was picking our own tea leaves, which was then made into our own tea to take home with us on our departure. The hotel arranged for a retired tea master, Nadraja, to introduce us to the tea picking and tea making process, and then guide us through a tea tasting afterwards. Another memorable experience was a tour through the tea fields and the local village by Mayappan, who later took us to the village Hindu temple for a special puja/blessing ceremony.

The rooms were comfortable and the public spaces were very nice. Only the spa and fitness facilities could do with some improvements, but we hear that plans are in the works for this.

Many thanks to all the friendly staff for a great stay and great service, especially Raj on the front desk, Gihan on F&B, Nalendran the restaurant manager and expert mixologist, and all others we mentioned earlier.

Room Tip: Executive level floor recommended. We had room 416, which is a corner room overlooking the front sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RONausOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,601 reviews
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
176 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
333 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#15 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $256 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing