We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great experience for one night stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is around 16km from the town and the road is very narrow and thus the approach was difficult which is why I won't go there again. But the experience itself after reaching the hotel was nice, a hilly place surrounded by greenery and nature and the decor inside made it very unique. Although we were initially given a room with a view of rusted hut roofs and a chimney, we had to complain to our tour operator to get it changed. The new room also had a bowl of strawberrys and cream which I heard was a norm (thus felt discriminated as to why it was not in the room in first place). The food was okay although you would expect a much better spread given there is no alternative in the neighborhood ( that may be a reason not to improve the quality and variety of food). The weather was just awesome and despite rains we just felt like strolling around. Some members of staff seemed arrogant/unresponsive. The restaurant had lot of trainees as waiting staff, who didn't know what they were supposed to do and thus service was not efficient. Overall worth at least one visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sacmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    758
    226
    65
    33
See reviews for
583
1,384
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel itself is simply fabulous due to its setting amongst the tea fields and that it is a former tea factory - an amazing way to experience this beautiful part of the world. It is at the end of a long winding road but it is truly amazing - the tea factory is simply surrounded by gorgeous tea fields. Many aspects of the factory have been maintained that you can look at and enjoy.

We ate breakfast and dinner here and it was some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka. The dinner buffet had freshly made kotthu one night - we had been hanging out to try this typical Sri Lankan dish and it didn't let us down. There was a wide selection of excellent quality food and dinner also had an selection of imported ice cream - yum!

We got a massage at the spa and it was excellent - great quality and a fair price.

The service in the hotel was excellent - we were really impressed.

The rooms are beautiful with big windows to enjoy the view with and lovely decor. The bathrooms are big and the showers are really good.

We did have an unfortunate experience here - on the first night we were allocated one of the rooms with a balcony and the doors did not seal properly, causing a very cold draught to enter the room, making it so cold that the heater couldn't work properly. We had a horrible night of sleep as we were so cold! However, the way the hotel managed this was very impressive, hence our still high review overall. When we complained the first time, housekeeping brought us extra blankets - we probably should have asked to change rooms then, but it was very late at night. When we asked to change rooms the next day this was organised promptly with no fuss. Even though the reception was busy with a large group checking in, we were assisted straight away and offered a new room on the third floor (no balcony = no door for draught to come through) it was fabulous and warm. Also when we went to collect our bags from the other room, the hotel had tried to address the draught by sealing up the door with some towels etc. OK so maybe there shouldn't be the draught in the first place, but we were very impressed with how this was handled.

Room Tip: Check the windows and doors in your room to make sure they are sealed so that a cold draught can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our tour from the Cultural Triangle to Yala. Whilst it is out of the way it is an amazing building in a beautiful and unique location.
We ate in the railway carriage on our first night and whilst a weird experience (we were the only diners) the food was amazing and good value. However on our second night the cost had increased by 2500 rupee!!! We ate a la carte in the main restaurant and this was also ok and you would certainly be able to find a variety of foods to eat for a short stay.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and one of the highlights of our stay was the nature walk. For 200 rupee it was fantastic and really informative - would thoroughly recommend. We also went to Hortons Plains from here and whilst it was an early start and quite a long journey you would only save yourself about 15 mins by staying in Nuwara Eliya and personally I would much rather stay here.
The rooms were small and a bit dated but the views were ample compensation for the absence of some of the small touches experienced in other similar standard hotels on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdbridge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Difficult to rate this hotel, because although it has many good points these were more than cancelled out for me by its inaccessible location. It's 15 kilometers on the wrong side of Nuwara Eliya (from Kandy) which meant 3 hours or more of steep narrow winding road with a lot of slow- moving traffic, and the usual heartstopping dodging between trucks, buses and tuk tuks with inches to spare. Not a journey for the fainthearted or anyone prone to travel sickness! Then we had to repeat the whole trip in reverse when we returned to Colombo as the alternative route via Hatton is apparently under reconstruction. It took us 6 hours driving time from the Tea Factory to Colombo, and road conditions were normal.

The hotel itself is surrounded by working tea plantations, and I found the stark contrast between the basic conditions of the plantation workers and the luxury of the hotel quite confronting and a bit embarrassing quite frankly.

The hotel is constructed inside a disused tea factory, and is cleverly designed in a way that incorporates original features. Our room on the Executive (top) floor was cosy and had fantastic views over the plantations and surrounding hills. The weather was wet and windy during our stay, but I loved the sound of the wind howling around the building while I was snuggled up warm inside with my hot water bottle - supplied every night at bedtime, total indulgence. The public rooms downstairs were a couple of degrees cooler than was comfortable, and for some reason the hydronic heating was switched off. The staff supplied us with portable fan heaters, otherwise it was too cold to sit around for long. There isn't much to do, particularly in bad weather which makes the 'nature walk' unattractive. The hotel website advertises horseriding, but in fact they only offer pony rides for children. A tour of the working tea factory nearby took about ten minutes. Excursions by road are not appealing either as they entail tackling the 5 kilometre single track pot-holed driveway there and back.

The food was OK. Some strange ommissions at breakfast - only instant coffee available and limited cereal selection. The Sri Lankan dishes at breakfast and dinner were superb, in particular the vegetable curry selection was the best I had all holiday. Some 'international' cuisine was less successful, but very popular with many of the other guests so only a matter of taste I guess.

Overall I was underwhelmed by the experience. I had expected a similar standard to the Heritance Kandalama, and it fell way short of that. Maybe the best it can do in such a different location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had just one night for Nuwara Eliya - wrong decision and selected the Heritance Tea Factory Hotel - perfect decision.
Looking at the photos the hotel seemed most uninteresting. A "boxy" building. But like the old saying goes - "Do not judge a booth by it's cover". This Hotel is the result of the efforts some obviously brilliant, creative and smart business persons with a fantastic sense of aesthetics who have transformed this factory to a lovely hotel. Everything is super about this. Some guests complain about the dress code during dinner but it is quite uncalled for. The place offers an enchanting experiences which you have to....well experience. At the risk of being labelled biased I feel guests from the more developed world will find this far more interesting than others. The lift - for example. Western tourists were gaping at the antique piece which still operates. By we also have similar lifts in Mumbai over 80 years old and in superb working condition. You know what I mean.
They have a live demo of a huge turbine every evening which was very interesting for my son 8.5 yrs. The mini tea factory in the hotel premises also offers fabulous insight.
Food - Good, Rooms - On the smaller side but expected, Bathroom - Well appointed but small, Staff - Hugely knowledgeable & professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabondanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We checked into Heritance Tea factory for 1 night in June( 17th June). We were travelling with our parents aged 70+ years and booked 2 rooms. Our stay was great till the rude shock that awaited us on our check out the following morning. On check out, we requested the room bill to which Front office staff said they automatically charged our credit card ( we later discovered they charged us over by INR Rs 20,000 or USD $ 400) We were given a receipt which we relaised much later was only for extras- that is our dinner. We were asked to return our room keys, one key was returned but the other was handed to the Porter who came up to collect our bags. The staff then created a big deal about the misplaced room key, they refused to release our baggage saying they can't let us go without the room key. Apparently they had checked every corner of the room and couldn't find the keys. Our parents were visibly rattled and so my husband decided to head up to the room to look for the keys with the porters only to find the keys hanging on the door!! On demanding an apology we were literally shown the door by their aggressively rude Assistant manager(Dev George Wijesuriya) & Front Office Manager- who accused us of being irresponsible. So apparently the room key is very expensive and it is the duty of the hotel guests to hold on to their key- it was our fault for handing it to the porter/ leave it hanging on the door. What was completely astounding was the way in which they approached the situation( pointing their fingers aggressively at us and using words like "Jollywell") and refused to apologize. Adding insult to the injury, we later discovered that our credit card was overcharged by INR Rs 20,000. On emailing the hotel, we received no response, it was only after our email to booking.com Customer service, that they followed up by reserving the charge on our credit card. The General manager- Mr Perreira had only issued a standard apology promising to get to the bottom of the situation, only we haven't really got full report from him ( its been 3 weeks!)
So here's a note to Heritance and Aitken Spense hotels: you may have a great property but if you don't have great managers and an effective team more responsive and sensitive to your guests needs, get out of this business.
It is such a shame because there are so many positives: great setting ( surrounded by tea gardens), the building- working tea factory, location- away from it all, comfortable rooms, delicious food & great spa BUT it takes a bad management team to put this all in the dust bin
Moral of our stay-
1) ALWAYS CHECK YOUR BILL as you are likely to be overcharged
2) NEVER LEAVE YOUR ROOM KEY ON THE DOOR or hand it to porters- you are likely to get verbally abused and chastised by the managers- SORRY!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Pritifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetherset, General Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We appreciate very much your constructive criticism with regard to your recent stay with us.As mentioned to you via our E Mail correspondence we truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your family.At Heritance Tea Factory we constantly strive to ensure that all our guests are provided with the superior hospitality that we are synonymous for providing and we are deeply sadned that we fell short of our goal at this time.As mentioned to you we have taken all necessary measures to investigate the said matter and corrective action has been taken accordingly.
With regard to the concern raised on the over charge, please note that since the initial booking made via Booking.Com was for two nights and later the reservation was amended to one night we had to obtain authorization from Booking.Com first, prior to making the refund.We trust you have now recieved the said refund.
Once again we truly apreciate your feed back and hope very much that you will visit us again.
With Best Regards.
Roshanlal Perera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This review is a bit dated. We went on our Srilanka tour in April 2011 but never got around to reviewing the hotels so far. But I felt I had to let everyone know how good this place really was! So here goes...

Although Heritance tea factory can be a bit difficult to reach.. once you get there, it's sheer beauty. The hotel was originally a tea factory, hence the name. The rooms are such that you wake up to breathtaking valley views of the tea gardens all around the property... The continental fare is pretty good, as with most star hotels in srilanka. We tried Srilankan food but they say you've really gotta have a taste for it. Surprisingly, they make some mean Italian dishes!

The hotel has a small tea factory adjacent to it that they give you a tour of. If you're keen and the weather permits they even let you pick tea leaves in the traditional costume. Even our little one had a great time there with the pony ride they arranged for her.

And last but not the least, what always stands out in any hotel in Srilanka, is the warm people and their ever present hospitality. Absolutely loved our stay at this place!

The only downside to the entire thing are the prices which can be a bit steep. I remember the hotel charging us 200 Srilankan rupees for a Banana for the baby! But if prices are not a concern then I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thediscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,477 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,966 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing