We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in a tea plantation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in a tea plantation”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is an old tea factory converted into a hotel. The road to the hotel from the main road is a single track one and takes around 20 minutes drive. We stayed here for one night.

The hotel is situated in the middle of a tea plantation and from the outside looks no different from the many tea factories you will have seen on the drive from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya. Inside is where this comes into its own. You walk through the main door and are transported back to Colonial times, with the style of staff uniform and the inside decor.

Everywhere you go you are surrounded by the memorabilia from the old tea factory with certain items/machinery that still work. The lift from Reception to the rooms is an old one, where you ahve to close the two doors to operate it.

The rooms were small but very comfortable and we had another good nights sleep here. Heating is provided in the room as it can get quite cold at night. Luckily we did not have to use the heating, even though it was noticeably cooler than in the previous places we had stayed in Sri Lanka. Taking a jumper is probably a good idea to this part of the country.

There is a lovely bar just off the main restaurant where we had a steak sandwich and a couple of drinks. The steak sandwich cost around 8 dollars.

As we were there in the off season the hotel was not that full and did not offer the buffet menu, just a set menu with a couple of choices. The set menu cost just over 15 dollars a person and I thought the food was very good. There is a Railway Carriage restaurant here as well but I would not go and eat there. The cost of the food is nearly three times of that in the main restaurant.

You can take a walk throught the tea plantations if you like. We did not do this as shortly after arriving the mist rolled in and reduced visibility substantially.

This is definetely a hotel worth staying at, for its individual uniqueness, though one night is probably enough as there is not a lot to see apart from tea!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    773
    233
    66
    36
See reviews for
598
1,403
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A must go destination if you like Tea! It was a real Tea processing plant converted into a 4 Star hotel. The route up to the hotel is scenic and create a nice atmosphere, the hotel will arrange for you to be a tea picker for a day if you are interested. The rooms are decent sized and we had a very pleasant stay.
There are no restaurants nearby so prepare to eat at the hotel in the evening.they served a buffet when we were there and it was very good quality with lots of fresh produce sourced locally.
It is worth a 2 night stay to explore the countryside around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothfairy723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

To reach the hotel seemed like mission impossible because of the twits and turns up in the hills, huge tea plantation fields along the way. We had a deluxe toom at the 3rd floor quite spacious and beautiful view of the landscape. The hotel design was all wrong , like the toilet for example the toilet paper was too low to reach like 2 inches above the floor. Second thing I noticed in the room there were two wooden bars across the room which got no use for them. The walls and floors and ceiling are so thin that you can hear footsteps all over. Those are small things that needs to change for better comfort. The Food, the massage were good and the staff are very friendly. The hotel was opened in 1996 and its all about tea and you see it everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zakovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The drive up to this hotel is long but lots of beautiful sites to see. We had a superior room which is definitely worth it. You get huge windows which you can see 3 different views. Make sure you watch the surise from your room. We were only there for 1 night, in the 3rd floor.
We had a massage which was amazing!
Food was quite nice compared to the other hotels we stayed at sri Lanka.
Would of liked to have another night here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_lj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

An excellent hotel, very beautiful, industrial vintage style, but only one small problems the walls and floors and ceiling are very thin and you can hear footsteps all over, but other that that the view is splendid and try dinning in the train, have a good stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The story behind the hotel is interesting it self to make it a nice stay. Whilst getting there is a bit of an issue the atmosphere is great once inside.
The food and service is excellent and the flavors are different from other parts of the country (maybe due to height factor.)
Walking around the surrounding tea plantation is a nice way to relax (although we were warned of the presence of snakes !!)
Been told that the four seasons can be experienced there but never tried.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footloose l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed as a group of 12 in May for one night. It is an old property which has been renovated as you can read in other posts also. It is a very beautiful property. But the charm wears off pretty soon. It is too far away from any place else. You cannot go to the city. The sound insulation is very poor. And there is nothing much else to do there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaileshB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,519 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,016 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
159 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
286 reviews
5.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing