We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking view with fantastic atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
iran
Level Contributor
220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Breath taking view with fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Staffs were great - nice remodeling from tea factory to hotel .
Nice room with fantastic view -
Bath with view to tea plantation .
Nature walk around and plucking tea was great .
The only annoying thing was our transfer to horton plains which had considered to be by van with the cost of 6000 rupee but in the morning there was a normal sedan car with the same price !!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rezaakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,416
    758
    226
    66
    33
See reviews for
583
1,385
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was my second stay at the hotel. The service was impeccable as always and the location is amazing. It's like stepping into a postcard. It is an experience more than a destination and is a 'must-do' stopover on your Sri Lanka holiday.

I came back to the hotel with a large group of guests from Australia who were with us on our wedding trip and they all loved it. It really is a beautiful hotel and a unique experience of Sri Lanka.

Being my second stay, I would really like to see the hotel do a little more. There is no real 'tea' menu to speak of. Being the "Tea Factory" hotel, it would be great to be able to try some different teas. The spiced tea welcome drink is amazing but you cannot buy it, only enjoying the tiny cup on arrival. The rooms could all do with a bit of a refresh and the sound travels quite freely from the halls to the room so can be a little noisy. A lot of the waitstaff in the restaurant seemed quite inexperienced and given it is a very popular hotel for foreigners and locals, we had quite a bit of trouble with a drink order in either English or Sinhalese as it seemed Tamil was really the only language known by the waiter. A little restrictive in a hotel where I would imagine English to be a common language among guests. The last time we stayed on the Executive Floor, we had lovely appetisers served to the room before dinner which we didn't receive this time.

None of the above comments would ever stop me from returning or recomending guests to visit the Tea Factory, just some constructive criticism. It is truly beautiful and truly Sri Lanka. As Mr Fernando would say, "Do try it" :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolee262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is a converted tea factory and is quite an amazing use of an abandoned facility. It is rather isolated but we went on a guided walk in the evening with a local hotel employee and we learned a great deal about life in the hinterland of Sri Lanka. The facilities and food are good but not quite up to the standard of the other Heritance hotels in Sri Lanka. However, anyone touring the country would find this a valuable and interesting addition to their experiences.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel. All the tea factory memorabilia to dinner in the train carriage which was a foodies delight. Due to an oversight we did not have a reservation in the train, but the manager did a bit of reorganizing and we had a special night with friends. Our waiter made the evening with his repartee etc. The grounds surrounding the hotel and gardens were well tended.

Room Tip: Overlook the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having come from Kandy to Nanuoya via train (fantastic journey and well worth it for the experience by the way), we met up with our guide and drove up into the hills to the Tea Factory hotel outside Nuwara Eliya.
Having visited a tea factory on our last visit the building looked very familiar, and once we went inside we could see how much effort had been made to keep the character of the original building, even to old steam engines (I think they were anyway!) in the basement level.
The surrounding area is beautiful, but can get quite chilly at night as the mists drift in. In some respects that's a nice change after the heat of Sri Lanka.
Food was good generally although not the absolute best we ate, but having said that we declined the option to eat in the railway carriage outside the dining room mainly because there wasn't anything on the menu we really fancied.
Service was amazing, we had a flower heart on our bed when we arrived, and generally everyone in the hotel was friendly and spoke good English.
I'd recommend doing the walk round the tea fields with the botanist if you have time, it's a lovely way to spend a morning, and is a nice gentle walk in the sun.
Having stayed in Nuwara Eliya previously, I much preferred this place even though being out of the town means there's nowhere else to go at night (if that's your thing).
It's totally worth it just for the surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were pretty excited to be staying here before we left on our trip. It certainly lived up to expectations. We traveled as a family (all adults, approx 30 for our mum's 60th).

At times the Tea Factory felt a little bit like a cruise ship with staff singing and dancing at dinner and dressing them up in silly outfits of an evening like a factory worker - but other than that, it was a brilliant place.

We were pretty underwhelmed by the chef's specialty at dinner, and with dinner overall (one of the nights was room service. But breakfast and lunch were excellent! We had lunch out on the balcony and it was brilliant.

We went for walks around the tea fields, and did tea picking which I highly recommend.

The staff were brilliant and I wish I could remember the young guy's name who welcomed us one night, and was genuinely friendly to us. He woudl be a front desk supervisor I'd imagine, nevertheless, he was really great.

But the real winner here is the fantastic building and its location. We didn't explore town at all, because we were so happy to spend our time at the tea factory. You can also satisfy all your tea-tourism needs without stopping at any other factories throughout the area.

The rooms are not big in comparison to other hotels in the price category throughout Sri Lanka, but that is because of the heritage of the building, which is excellent. The rooms are still a great size though. The view from our room was magnificant. And often we had our windows open. At night staff deliver you hot water bottles even. Ask for a view from the front of the hotel looking at the tea fields only, rather than the back down to the village. This is because rooms at the back of the hotel sit above the car area which can be noisy in the mornings.

The other big winner - HBO for the drivers! Sri Lankan hotels haven't yet worked out that drivers will be a major source of referral of guests, but this one at least is looking after them!

We loved the tea factory, and will definitely be back. Just hopefully they wont make the poor guys dress up in the lobby next time :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This was quite a journey from nuwara eliya on quite a rough road but once there the views are breath taking and the whole placehas a lovely feel to it.

We'd checked in and then on arriving at our room we were given our first surprise a lovely heart on the door (it was our honeymoon) a very nice touch. Our second surprise came when we went down to dinner when we were escorted to a secluded table where we were given an a la carte menu to choose a four course dinner from. The food was lovely and we were made to feel incredibly special, a thank you to all the staff for that. On returning to the room I had a bouquet if hand picked flowers waiting for me, again another lovely surprise.

Free wifi for all guests was very handy and we had a reasonable sized room with windows on two sides. It was a little dated in style in the rooms but the experience was one not to be missed. This was a truly memorable overnight stay before heading to our beach hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_is_lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,477 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,966 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
271 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing