We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theme hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Two nights stay during island group tour, hotel included in the package.
If you like to spent a few days in a calm and relaxing area, this is a good hotel for you.
Location is rather remote, but, as mentioned, very quiet and relaxing on top of a hill.
The theme is...tea. Building is from origin a real tea factory and is re-build into a 4* hotel.
In the public areas like the lobby, restaurant, bar...you are surrounded with many items from the old tea factory, even large pulleys and a steam machine are used as decoration to take you back to the old days, indeed a nice job done !
Room and bathroom were not very luxurious or spacious, but still OK.
No airco in the room which was no problem for us in this season can become one with higher temperatures during high summer !
To step into the bath to take a shower you have to use the step in front of the bathtub because the upper edge of the bath is quite high !
I can imagine that some people could have a problem with this.
Service was perfect and of a high standard throughout the entire hotel !
Breakfast was very good, everything you could wish for.
Also diner (buffet type) was a treat !
Our only lunch here was a la Cart, to choose between two set menu's.
We had the mixed seafood menu and that was quite a surprise, it was delicious, see photo's.
Hotel is well located for hiking in the area but we just walked into the village and visited a nursery, a school and some farm's, all very nice, a lot of "couleur local".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,775 - 1,781 of 2,724 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night only, which is enough. The hotel is fantastic, in an old tea factory, We enjoyed looking at the old machinery and photographs. We took the option to pay for dinner in the train carriage, which I cannot recommed enougn. The quality of the food and wine is excellent - the best meal in Sri Lanka. At £25 per head is excellent.
Two minus points are: we got very little sleep due to dogs barking and what sounded like gun shots most of the night, this spoilt the visit and the whole experience.
Also when we arrived we wanted to visit the spa but was told there were no vacancies until the next day, which is not good enough when you are only there for one night. Also there is no pool.
The room was lovely, with windows on almost all sides and lovely views.
One night is enough as there is nothing else to do there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were booked here for one evening only of our Sri Lanka tour, my husband's 70th birthday and although quite a long transfer from our stay in Kandy the drive was unforgettable. Although drizzle all the way the sight of the women with baskets on their backs picking tea from the vibrant green bushes in this unique setting is the predominant image in my mind of Sri Lanka. There was also a fascinating stop at a working tea factory and lunch facing an amazing waterfall.

Apparently the narrow, winding, badly maintained approach road of the hotel is the bane of taxi drivers who once refused to go all the way resulting in a shuttle being laid on. We arrived in the rain and mist and left in rain and mist but worth it for the novelty value and comfort.

Our room was first rate with orchid petals arranged on the bed for my husband's special birthday.

We decided against dining in the train carriage in case no-one else booked, also with the seats being on one side of the carriage perhaps not a socable enough setting for us. Furthermore there was no allowance for the fact our booking included dinner in the main restaurant.

So we dined in the buffet restaurant and this was perhaps the best meal we had in the five hotels we stayed at. The meal was finished off with celebration cake and sparklers arriving on a trolley. There was also a good two piece group playing in the dining room.

Once again great staff and Sri Lankan hospitality.

Unfortunately our transfer from here to Ahungalla was seven and a half hours but that is an issue with our itinerary not Heritance Tea Factory. Great stay and experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZebraLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

One of the highlights of our ten night trip, despite rain and mist this hotel felt warm and welcoming. Smaller than the other hotels the degree of personal attention was great. All the staff from welcome to departure seemed to genuinely care that you were having a good Sri Lanka experience. In particular , the service in the Restaurant was very good and a compliment to the Chef resulted in a special pud! I recommend inclusion in any itinerary.

Room Tip: Did not hear of any bad rooms. Ours was warm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynneE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Was a bit sceptical when we arrived at this hotel - a converted tea factory. It was very cold, wet and windy high up in the tea plantation but once inside we were treated to unusual decor with a very comfortable room and a lovely hot cup of tea to welcome us. All the staff where pleasant and helpful and the food was lovely too. I loved the special little touches like - hot water bottles 'cos it was chilly that night and special canapes on our bed when we arrived back from dinner. Many of the tea factory items still remain ie the lift etc. All very interesting and different from the usual hotels.

Room Tip: Choose one at the top, cos the views are amazing although during our stay it was very misty so we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in heritage in June 2012 .. It was an experience in itself... The scenic beauty .. The place .. The food.. The ambiance ... Rooms everything was upto the mark...
Don't forget to have your table reserved in the restaurant on wheels which is a train coach where a fixed meal is served but only on reservation.. It is an experience in itself ....
Must go for all..
We even did tea plantation and my 6 year daughter loved it...
Pony ride on the hills was a bonus...

Room Tip: Take the room facing the tea gardens..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pallavikhannaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is one of its kind. You have to be here to experience its beauty and standard of service. The best place to relax and drink tea. Take a walk down the tea estate and experience the fog that sweeps through these lovely slopes. We had rooms on the executive floor and felt very cosy and comfortable. Drink a glass of wine by the fire place and have an extraordinary dinner experience 2200 meters above sea level. The staff are so very friendly and the GM goes out of his way to meet expectations. I have been here twice already and will always go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,193 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,660 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
966 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $203 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing