We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This old Tea Factory on top of a hill turned hotel is really a unique experience. The transformation has been really well done and in itself is worth seeing. The bedrooms are a bit "cosy" and the floor boards could do with some better dampering but overall this does not detract from the experience.

The food is really excellent and if you are there for more than one night you really should book the railway carriage a la carte restaurant. It is exclusive restricted to 16 diners in an old railway carriage, it's a seven course fine dining menu for 5000rp (c£26) per head, and the station master head waiter is a wonderful character who makes the evening.

Overall the staff are really very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: If you are only staying one night and you like a unique dinning experience get your travel agent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seebeforeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 2,711 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the outside, and especially on a cold, foggy and rainy day, this looks like a hotel from hell, but step inside and everything changes. The building has been tastefully converted into a stylish hotel. It's good for a one night tourist stay but lacks features that seasoned business travellers may expect. For instance:  single bed in the cheaper rooms; only one usable electric socket; in-room tea making facilities but no coffee (yes, yes it's a converted tea factory but that's no reason not to provide coffee). The bathrooms are poorly designed as you need to use a step to get into the shower, and the shower screen does not move meaning you need to be agile to turn on the taps before taking a shower. Toiletries are limited.The common areas of the hotel are cold as are the rooms though they soon heat up. The tv has a few international channels including BBC. The free Wifi worked well throughout the hotel. The spa had a wide range of treatments.
There may be better options to stay in Nuwara Eliya, and if you do so, it's certainly worth the trip up the single track road to eat in the Tea Factory restaurant where the food was excellent.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cubata58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel had been recommended to us and it certainly lived up to expectations. Unfortunately we arrived in heavy mist and therefore could not see the views but you can't blame the hotel for that! The staff were very welcoming and we were given our traditional spiced tea and wet towels. Our room was lovely and the bathroom had a bath so we could have a good relaxing soak. This was the only room on our two week tour that had a bath. The food was good and the service was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwenC422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in January.
It is an amazing location..6,500 feet above sea level and on both mornings we awoke to find ourselves above the clouds which made for amazing viewing as the sun came up.
The hotel itself has managed to preserve its history as a tea factory while delivering 21st century facilities.
Food in the main restaurant was pretty much standard for this class of hotel in Sri Lanka..ie, a very decent buffet.
However....as others have mentioned, the train dining is something absolutely unique. Capacity is only 8 people, the food is great (I suspect because the chef gets a chance to show off rather than churn out buffet food!) and the maitre d'/waiter/everything is a real character.
Other things that really floated my boat ...It is still possible to smoke a cigar in the bar in Sri Lanka and this place has a lovely bar with a wood burning stove and havana cigars on sale.
The climate is pretty much like England and there is an English cottage garden in the hotel grounds which has a duck and rabbits..cute.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agedtrundler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Isolated hotel high in the hills, lovely welcome with tea and oil on forehead. Rooms are nice but can be noisy. Grounds are interesting with the chance to pick your own tea and see how it is processed in a small mock up factory, gentleman who runs this is a superb guide and full of knowledge about tea and its history. Dining in rail car is an experience - it makes all the right sounds and rocks from side to side but doesnt go anywhere, however with a 6 course gourmet meal who cares - conductor is brilliant. A very different experience

Room Tip: Rooms over dining room are noisy - higher the better and at front of hotel for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was well worth the drive up into the mountains and through all the tea plantations. Beautiful scenery around every corner...and there were a lot of them! Unfortunately the weather closed in when we arrived and it was surprisingly chilly in the hotel and jumpers were required. We stayed for one night in this lovely quirky hotel where everyone was very friendly, the food was good, the rooms very comfortable and it got warmer in the reception areas when the wood burners were lit in the evening. The lobby is built around an old piston engine which they fire up for half an hour each evening around cocktail time and they also serve one of the best cups of tea you're likely to get anywhere in the world. Had the weather been better we could have probably stayed another night, but when it's raining your options are limited to sitting in the hotel as it is very remote, but I can't think of a reason not to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Tea Factory for one night which to be honest was long enough!!! We arrived in thick fog and rain and it was freezing cold, although the staff offered a warm welcome with a hot facecloth and a cup of tea!!
The hotel is extremely isolated and with the weather being so bad we were stranded, the reception area and bar were very cold during the afternoon. We had lunch in the restaurant and although it was not a religious holiday they were very reluncatant to serve a glass of beer with our meal. We had a mini bar in our room and it was MINI.... one can of beer, one bottle of coke and a bottle of Red Bull, we had 2 pint glasses but nothing to put in it!!
In fairness the evening meal was very good and the wood burner made the restaurant very warm, we had live entertainment, were happliy served beer/wine so a very pleasant evening.
The next morning we woke to sunshine and the views were amazing , so the hotel did have a much better feel and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would suggest that one night here is long enough, it is very quirky and different but take a jumper!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilloBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,171 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,656 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
951 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
190 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $217 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing