We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed there on our 2 week trip around Sri Lanka.
It is a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. The rooms were fine although a little old wordly but that certainly fitted in with the decor of the palce. The entrance and foyer are amazing.
We had heard a lot about the food - so a little disappointed only because we had such high expectations.
The views as the sun comes up are really spectacular - with the mists hanging in the valleys. However it is a long way from Nuwara Eliya - but if you have a driver that is not an issue during the day but too far to go out for dinner.
We enjoyed our stay there - had one relaxing day doing nothing as my wife was off colour and we decided against going to Horton's Plains (which I had already done when I cycled around for two weeks two weeks prior).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manlydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I didn't stay at this hotel, but stopped by while driving to have lunch. The food here was amazing! Really loved it! Plus the hotel offers cool views of the tea mountains. Would defineatly come back to have another meal at this hotel!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have heard great reviews of this hotel over the years . A group of us were in Haputale ( 60km away from the hotel) over the weekend and decided to drive up to Tea Factory, see the place and have lunch there. We checked out the website on the 28th night and there was no mention of the hotel being closed to non-resident guests. So on Saturday 29th, we drove for 2.5 hours ( the last 10 km leading to the hotel on an extremely difficult road) only to reach the gate of the hotel which was closed and the security guard rudely informing us that they were not letting any visitors in as the hotel was full. As there are no other hotels in the areas and several members in our group desperately needed to use the washrooms, we called the hotel reception and the GM to request that we at least be allowed in to use the restrooms but they were extremely uncooperative and rude and just refused to let us in. This is despite that fact that they would have been fully aware that guests had driven the last 10km on very difficult roads just to get to the hotel. There were several other groups of people stranded at the entrance who were subject to the same treatment as us. We then had to turn our vehicle and needed the gate opened to do this as there is very little space there but the security refused and there were 3-4 vehicles trying to turn their vehicles on a precarious slope at great risk as a result of this.

I have been to many hotels over the years, and when a hotel is full - they do not allow guests into the restaurants, etc which is perfectly acceptable. However, to deny guests entrance even into the lobby of the hotel, or to use the restrooms to satisfy a basic human need is high handed, arrogant and speaks volumes about the way Aitken Spence and Heritance must be treating its guests in other aspects as well. At least if they had put a notice on the website saying that hotel was closed to non-residents over the weekend it would have been acceptable, but they did not even have the decency or courtesy to do this.

Heritance Tea Factory - you are a disgrace to the myth of Sri Lankan hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank traveller444444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, General Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We very much regret that you have not been allowed to enter our hotel premises.

We are compelled to restrict the number of visitors (non-resident) who are allowed to enter the hotel premises as our hotel generally has high occupancy levels, especially on the day that you wanted to visit. Due to the limited availability of public areas and to ensure that no inconvenience is caused to the resident guests, we totally devote the premises and our attention towards them.

Nevertheless, we have always permitted visitors upon obtaining prior permission, depending on the count of resident guests. Infact we have had many visitors from as far as the furthest part of the country visiting us with our prior permission.

As you have mentioned yourself at the beginning of your review and noticed yourself, we have received positive comments in regard to our service standards and hospitality and are ranked as number 01 among the hotels in Nuwara Eliya. Therefore, we do not wish to elaborate much about our service standards or to defy your comment that we treat guests like dirt.

We request all our intended visitors (non-resident) to contact us if they wish to visit us or make prior reservation if they intend to have a meal at our hotel, which will prevent any disappointment or inconvenience being caused to anyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Best things were the setting, the entrance and reception areas and the tour around the tea plantations which was a two hour walk around the area and very enjoyable. The rooms were in need of a refurbishment. They were small, had tired bathrooms and only just acceptable beds. The hotel is just not 5 star standard.
The service is poor compared to other hotels we stayed in. We ordered lunch which was very tasty but when we asked to pay, 3 times, we were ignored - the place was empty... We walked out in the end, we had given our room number after all. In the evening we were almost accused of trying to avoid paying. Not impressed! The evening meal was fine, nothing spectacular but acceptable.
I would recommend here given its fabulous location, the views are stunning but don't expect 5 star, it's really not.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Pjh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had two nights here, unfortunately both days there was virtually non stop heavy rain, and thick cloud, so didn't get to see the magnificent views everyone raves on about. We had a huge three bedded room, lovely bathroom, but would say anyone with mobility problems would have a job getting in and out of the bath/shower. The bath is vast with hydro jets, shower is over the bath. Tea coffee making in the room, there is a little wooden box containing their own brand of loose tea which is a nice touch. However the most interesting thing about this hotel is that it is an old tea factory, rebuilt inside but containing lots of the original machinery, which is switched on at 7pm each day for half an hour. The outside looks very forbidding, as it is the same as when it was the factory. Inside however is fascinatingly lovely, beautiful reception area, bar and restaurant, and for an extra £25 per person, you can fine dine in the train carriage conveniently parked next to the restaurant, complete with mad-as-a-hatter train guard, who whistles you onto the train. They switch a button and the train judders about, making it seem you are on a real live train! We didn't dine here, the restaurant was enough for us, and excellent food and service was provided. Have a look in the mini organic tea factory a minutes walk outside, very interesting, they produce their own tea here and sell it in the bar. And take a walk downstairs toward s the spa and gym, there are some interesting photos and info from the old tea factory on the walls. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

While we loved the converted tea factory and the gorgeous setting, the rooms were very dated and marginally comfortable. Definitely a gulf between the building proper and the rooms. It was a great concept, but I'd probably skip this hotel on a future trip. It's also quite a drive to reach this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFscott413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I suspect that for many guests the enjoyment of their stay here is dependent on the weather. The setting is said to be spectacular and for us, and for many of the guests to whom we spoke, the views from the hotel are a big draw. When we stayed we had non-stop rain and thick white mist so we didn't see any of the lovely scenery. Also, many of the activities at the Tea Factory are outdoors and can be adversely effected by the weather. Visiting in December therefore, when there is often rain, might not be the best choice on our part.

There is the great novelty of knowing you're staying in an old tea factory and sleeping in one of the old tea storage rooms complete with original windows. The rooms are like standard western hotel rooms in terms of fittings - nothing special and a bit worn. Given there was no view from any of the rooms, and excepting the history, it kind of felt like we could have been sleeping in any large chain hotel (which I guess we were. There was also a lot of merchandising floating around the hotel and lots of encouragement to buy extra services, which felt very "chainy" again). But the rooms are very comfortable and we had the best, most peaceful night's sleep since our arrival in Sri Lanka.

It was pretty cold when we arrived at the hotel and the interior of the hotel wasn't much warmer than outside. We wandered into the bar to have a snack and we were told the heating doesn't come on till 5.30pm, so many of the communal areas aren't very inviting to sit and relax in on a cold day. The service was fine (although my husband didn't think the staff were very friendly) and there were some nice touches - we got strawberries and cream on arrival and someone else came round later with afternoon tea short-eats, cake and biscuits.

We didn't have dinner but our sandwich lunch and buffet breakfast were very good. There's loads of variety at breakfast and even the chance to have freshly made hoppers.

One very cool thing is before dinner the staff turn on the big turbine that goes all the way to the top of the hotel.

Overall, I think the Tea Factory relies very heavily on its novelty factor and it lets itself down a little with tired rooms and service, which become more apparent when there's no view to be distracted by.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,124 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
353 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
925 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
183 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#15 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $257 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing