We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,899)
Filter reviews
2,899 results
Traveler rating
1,661
861
255
79
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,661
861
255
79
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carriageunique hotelnature walkexecutive floorold railwaypick your ownsri lankaunique experienceoriginal featurestake homelocal villageour honeymooncorner roomeach eveningabove sea levelwinding roadstrawberries
Filter
Updating list...
2,021 - 2,026 of 2,899 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel experience was truly unique and is one of the best and unique hotel experiences I have encountered. From the moment you step into the lobby and - are greeted by the friendly staff dressed in traditional costumes - see some of the original fittings of the converted tea factory such as the lift - the tea bar - the mini organic tea factory where you can pluck your own tea leaves and then see how it is made into tea - the nature walk through the tea plantations - the memorable dinner in the train carriage with lovely service and the stunning views As a regular business traveller, I am a regular user of 5 star hotels but this hotel will live long in the memory as the most unique experience
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Tea plucking at the hotel is highly recommended. You wear traditional costumes and pluck your own tea. the tea manufacturing process is then explained and the next day you are given a souvenir pack of tea. The nature walk through the plantations provides stunning scenery. The dinner in the train carriage offers a 7 course dinner with extensive choice, top notch friendly service with a touch of "tongue in cheek humour"

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthawander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable, clean and has good food. Also very interesting to see process of tea making from origin to cup.
However we were there for 2 nights and 1 would have done.There isn't a lot to do in the area and the weather being a bit chilly means that spare time tends to spent in your room. Also the huge number of local dogs in the area, all of whom seem to bark from 11pm onwards, mean not much sleep is had (and I'm a vet's daughter used to dogs!).
If you get carsick don't attempt to go here - very windy roads!

Room Tip: top floor if possible - very thin ceilings and if person above you is still up you won't sleep!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickyAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Was at this fabulously converted tea factory - hotel for the day with friends and had the best balineese massage i've had in the country !!
the spa staff was extremely efficient & curteous
the mini tea factory is quite interesting too
unfortunately we missed the lunch buffet and the the a la carte sri lankan food we had later was not very nice

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYRNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Built out of a converted tea factory this theme hotel has many of the orginal fittings still in place and has brought in other artifacts to add to the feel. There are a lot of good things about this hotel. The ambiance and feel is lovely - very tasteful and lots of interesting things to look at and read.

There is a little working tea factory where you can see the process of tea being made, taste some (guided by an expert) and even try some tea picking to see just how hard it is!

I would highly recommend having dinner in the train carriage! Chef Shane created an amazing menu of fusion cuisine using lots of locally sourced ingredients. Great value.

There were some lovely cocktails created there using tea which are well worth a taste as well!

Lovely cosy little rooms as well.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank london_sun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Heritance Tea Factory was the last stop on our small tour around Sri Lanka's interior.

Perhaps the most striking feature of this hotel is its isolation. This first becomes apparent as you head away from civilisation on the long, winding drive through the hills on the way from Kandy. Be sure to have your camera ready as the views of the vast tea plantations in the valleys en route are quite something. These views continue on arrival, as the hotel stands high above the plantations below, often covered in the low clouds which are commonplace in the aptly named 'little England'. It hits you then that you are in the middle of nowhere and, depending on your viewpoint, this is either the hotel's greatest asset or hinderance. Luckily we arrived following 5 very hectic days of travelling and sightseeing and so a little 'time out' was just what we needed.

The conversion to a hotel has been sensitively handled with much of the old factory's history on display and nicely restored. The room was clean and spacious although slightly more dated in terms of decor when compared to, say, it's sister hotel the Heritance Kandalama. That being said, this is more of an observation than a gripe and it was probably more in keeping with the look of the hotel in general. One thing that was a shame was that our room (top floor, upgraded on account of our honeymoon) overlooked the service carpark which was often quite noisy early in the morning and in the evening. I think the windows must be single-glazed (perhaps to maintain the hotel's look) which probably made this worse than it was.

The restaurant was very nice indeed, especially in the evening when the lights were dimmed and the tables relied on candlelight. The nights alternated between a set menu one night and a buffet the other. We preferred the buffet ourselves but the food overall, i thought, was very good. There is a fine dining option which takes place in a converted railway carriage. The menu looks very good but my wife and i, somewhat foolishly in hindsight i feel, baulked at the price of 5000 Rupees per head. Up until that point we'd have been hard pushed to find a meal for more than 500 Rupees each in Sri Lanka so this felt a little steep. Having done the maths now though that equates to £25 each which, for a 6 or 7 course meal, is still pretty good value! Anyway, the food in the ordinary restaurant was perfectly good so no regrets.

In terms of activities and places of interest nearby there really isn't anything that stands out. The nearest town (although not that near) is Nuwara Eliya which seemed fairly uninteresting during our short stop there. We had two evenings and one day at the hotel and i don't think it's unfair to say that this was more than enough time. The evenings were spent eating and drinking and the day was spent wandering around the tea plantations and admiring the peace and the views. This review probably doesn't sound particularly glowing but the point is that the hotel has a stunning location and is the perfect place to go at the end of a trip when you've had your fill of archaelogical sites, tuk tuks and elephants. And if you like a good cuppa. Two nights is enough though.

Oh, and be careful not to open the doors in the lift (it's an old style one) before it stops. Not unless you want to be left stuck dangling three floors up in the air!

Room Tip: Try and get one at the front of the hotel i would imagine. The views will be better and you won't be over the car park at the rear/side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam_Newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews