We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel a unique experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel a unique experience.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a nice hotel to visit as it was actually a converted tea factory and has kept some of the machinery which is runs for half an hour each evening as a feature.
The hotel also has it's own working tea factory on the grounds and if you pop in the friendly staff there are happy to give you a 15 minute tour which was really fascinating. The tea that it produces is used in the hotel and sold to guest in the hotel shop.
The hotel is situated a long was our of the town and up a long, winding dirt track so you are pretty much limited to eating and drinking there.
The restaurant was average at best with poor service,luke warm food and fairly poor choice for both breakfast and dinner but there was nowhere else to eat.
The room was a standard room and was one of the smallest that we had in Sri Lanka, thin walls mean you could hear your neighbours and even the people across the hall.
The rooms was clean but the step up into the bath ( using a wooden step glued to the floor ) was pretty harrowing and I would imagine could be very difficult for older people or those who had mobility problems.
One of the pillows in our room was very dirty on arrival and we had to ask 4 times before it was replaced.
The location of the hotel is simply stunning. It's on a hill with amazing view of the local town, mountains and tea plantations.
Not our favourite hotel in Sri Lanka but if you are in the area it is worth a visit to experience a quirky and unusual hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneNWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    745
    224
    65
    33
See reviews for
569
1,356
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caen, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ok this place is an old tea factory, but they forget they are primarily an hotel ....
Very poor sound isolation between the rooms, you can hear everthing ...... and when you ask the service to resolve a sound problem with your neighbor , they finally do nothing .......
The restaurant is not so good, the breakfest is a little better.
The Showeer are clean but are not very accessible for the tallers.
This is not a good place anymore .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddine_14000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, the result of a sympathetic and well-executed conversion of an old tea factory. There is history here, and enough information around the hotel to help you understand how the building would have looked and been used in the past.

Rooms are on the small side but very comfortable and have great views across the tea plantations. Although I guess the higher floors have better views, because the hotel stands alone on a hill, there wouldn't be much advantage to be gained here.

The restaurant is excellent. Recommend the buffet dinner. There is a 'fine dining' restaurant in a converted railway carriage, but the buffet is high quality, extensive, and less than half the price of the railway car option.

There is enough to keep you interested around the hotel, such as walks through the tea plantations and checking out the miniature organic tea factory with the original machinery.

The hotel is located a little way out of Nuwara Eliya, and the last 4km or so is along a slow-going single-lane, winding road up through the plantations. Very picturesque, but allow 30-40 minutes drive to get into town.

As with all high-end hotels in Sri Lanka, book this as part of a tour (car and driver) as they get highly discounted rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick_in_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Although this hotel is a bit far from the Nuwara Eliya town, it benefits from being right smack in the middle of the tea plantations. Staff can organise 1.5 hour morning and afternoon walks which takes you up close and personal through the tea plantations. Hotel also comes with spa services which gives you something to do after sunset.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJTok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our Sri Lanka tour. From the moment we stepped in it was fantastic. Very friendly staff welcomed you and checked us in whilst we sat and enjoyed a drink. The hotel is an old tea factory and has a little museum in the basement. It also has a very quaint old fashioned lift.
The room was lovely and decorated in a more colonial traditional fashion with a modern bathroom. It had stunning views over the local tea plantation. Good nature walk amongst tea plantation during early evening to stretch our legs with a local guide.
The food was great and of good quality. We were spoilt for choice.
Overall would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CKHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fabulous place from the moment we arrived to when we left. You know about the hotel itself from all the other comments so won't bore you with that suffice to say it is just a ten or 15 min ride up there from Nuwara Eliya through lovely countryside. It is on its own so don't expect to have loads to do there but that isn;t the point of coming here. Come here to soak up the location, the ambience. Yes, it says you need to be smart for supper. We are not talking any smarter than the clothes you will have with you so don't panic. Rooms - OK - so we were in a room on the top floor and was was a superior one so we had no noise issues and were thorougly happy. Yes there are lots of stairs (it is a tall building), and yes the lift the is small but perfect. Most people that complain about small elevators could probably do with using the stairs anyway. Didn;t use the spa but it looked lovely. The hotel also has a lovely little garden you can relax in too. For my money, much nicer to stay here than in Nuwara Eliya itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It took us about 4 hours by car with a 2 year old to make it up here, but we would still do it again! The hotel (as you have read by now) is a beautifully restored old tea factory. This is immediately evident as you enter the lobby and see the old time elevator, tons of heritage pictures, and some of the still working machinery from that era. Meals here are great (but bring a nice shirt and pants) and the staff is very helpful. The grounds are a delight for child and adult with swings, green lawns, and the beautiful scenery all around you. We would take a walk through the valleys during the day and then sit and watch the sun set while drinking our tea in the evenings. The spa in the lower area of the hotel was staffed by 3 gals from Bali and gave great massages and were sweet as could be. We cant recommenced this hotel highly enough...just remember to bring warm clothes as the weather can get chilly at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,447 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,930 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
249 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
139 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing