We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our Sri Lanka tour. From the moment we stepped in it was fantastic. Very friendly staff welcomed you and checked us in whilst we sat and enjoyed a drink. The hotel is an old tea factory and has a little museum in the basement. It also has a very quaint old fashioned lift.
The room was lovely and decorated in a more colonial traditional fashion with a modern bathroom. It had stunning views over the local tea plantation. Good nature walk amongst tea plantation during early evening to stretch our legs with a local guide.
The food was great and of good quality. We were spoilt for choice.
Overall would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CKHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    775
    234
    66
    36
See reviews for
599
1,407
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fabulous place from the moment we arrived to when we left. You know about the hotel itself from all the other comments so won't bore you with that suffice to say it is just a ten or 15 min ride up there from Nuwara Eliya through lovely countryside. It is on its own so don't expect to have loads to do there but that isn;t the point of coming here. Come here to soak up the location, the ambience. Yes, it says you need to be smart for supper. We are not talking any smarter than the clothes you will have with you so don't panic. Rooms - OK - so we were in a room on the top floor and was was a superior one so we had no noise issues and were thorougly happy. Yes there are lots of stairs (it is a tall building), and yes the lift the is small but perfect. Most people that complain about small elevators could probably do with using the stairs anyway. Didn;t use the spa but it looked lovely. The hotel also has a lovely little garden you can relax in too. For my money, much nicer to stay here than in Nuwara Eliya itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It took us about 4 hours by car with a 2 year old to make it up here, but we would still do it again! The hotel (as you have read by now) is a beautifully restored old tea factory. This is immediately evident as you enter the lobby and see the old time elevator, tons of heritage pictures, and some of the still working machinery from that era. Meals here are great (but bring a nice shirt and pants) and the staff is very helpful. The grounds are a delight for child and adult with swings, green lawns, and the beautiful scenery all around you. We would take a walk through the valleys during the day and then sit and watch the sun set while drinking our tea in the evenings. The spa in the lower area of the hotel was staffed by 3 gals from Bali and gave great massages and were sweet as could be. We cant recommenced this hotel highly enough...just remember to bring warm clothes as the weather can get chilly at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Amazing place, amazing views and a fantastic two night stay however.... Not much to do in the evening, it's cold as you are up in the mountains but a heated indoor/outdoor pool wouldn't go amiss especially for the price. There is also tons of poverty around the hotel, you almost feel you are sitting in an ivory tower overlooking a poverty stricken village. We took a walk around a spoke to the locals, all asked for money and you could see how poor some of them were. The hotel has a lot of stuff around the village which they have donated but I felt terrible drinking a beer for 700 rupees which I then found out was the daily wage for a tea picker in the area. overall an amazing hotel but not with the guilt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After a long a very winding road the arrival at this hotel was a bit of a let-down. After expecting so much from their web-site this hotel looked ordinary and old. The rooms were small and the walls and ceiling are very thin. Until late into the night music and noise could be heard from the restaurant, but worst still was the noise of foot-steps from the room above which became so intolerable that I had to use ear plugs in an attempt to reduce the sound. The bathroom with shower was badly designed and required a step to get in and out of the shower. The food and the service by staff were excellent, but the hotel just seemed to be missing something. Maybe they thought being an old tea factory in the middle of a tea plantation was enough.

Room Tip: Top floor may have less noise but alot of stairs to get there or a very small elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pookie2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my bf. Dont be put off by the long windy roads to the hotel it is worth it on arrival. It is in an amazing picturess location very quiet apart from a barking dog from a nearly village (to scare the wild boar away from eating the veg crops)! Went on the nature walk would 100% recommend this was one of the best things we did in SL. Great guide who took us up so a long walk around the hills get to see tea pickers at work. Try out the spa it was an amazing experience the therapists are great and very informative. Had the buffet dinner and breakfast which were yummy and great choice for everyone. Lovley stay would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Not to keen on this hotel. We stayed for 1 night, which was a blessing in disguise. We felt uncomfortable the minute we arrived. We initially put this down to tiredness after a long day touring and travelling. The hotel is unique in every way apart from when you get to your room. My room reminded me of my Aunts front room. It was very british, too british. It was quaint but I felt that the hotel had missed the point. We were told that there was a dress code for the meals, which was acceptable but walking through the hotel in our holiday clobber we were frowned upon.
We were glad to leave this depressing place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srilankabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,524 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,024 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
291 reviews
5.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing