We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It took us about 4 hours by car with a 2 year old to make it up here, but we would still do it again! The hotel (as you have read by now) is a beautifully restored old tea factory. This is immediately evident as you enter the lobby and see the old time elevator, tons of heritage pictures, and some of the still working machinery from that era. Meals here are great (but bring a nice shirt and pants) and the staff is very helpful. The grounds are a delight for child and adult with swings, green lawns, and the beautiful scenery all around you. We would take a walk through the valleys during the day and then sit and watch the sun set while drinking our tea in the evenings. The spa in the lower area of the hotel was staffed by 3 gals from Bali and gave great massages and were sweet as could be. We cant recommenced this hotel highly enough...just remember to bring warm clothes as the weather can get chilly at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,596)
There are newer reviews for Heritance Tea Factory
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,771 - 1,777 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Amazing place, amazing views and a fantastic two night stay however.... Not much to do in the evening, it's cold as you are up in the mountains but a heated indoor/outdoor pool wouldn't go amiss especially for the price. There is also tons of poverty around the hotel, you almost feel you are sitting in an ivory tower overlooking a poverty stricken village. We took a walk around a spoke to the locals, all asked for money and you could see how poor some of them were. The hotel has a lot of stuff around the village which they have donated but I felt terrible drinking a beer for 700 rupees which I then found out was the daily wage for a tea picker in the area. overall an amazing hotel but not with the guilt.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After a long a very winding road the arrival at this hotel was a bit of a let-down. After expecting so much from their web-site this hotel looked ordinary and old. The rooms were small and the walls and ceiling are very thin. Until late into the night music and noise could be heard from the restaurant, but worst still was the noise of foot-steps from the room above which became so intolerable that I had to use ear plugs in an attempt to reduce the sound. The bathroom with shower was badly designed and required a step to get in and out of the shower. The food and the service by staff were excellent, but the hotel just seemed to be missing something. Maybe they thought being an old tea factory in the middle of a tea plantation was enough.

Room Tip: Top floor may have less noise but alot of stairs to get there or a very small elevator.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pookie2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my bf. Dont be put off by the long windy roads to the hotel it is worth it on arrival. It is in an amazing picturess location very quiet apart from a barking dog from a nearly village (to scare the wild boar away from eating the veg crops)! Went on the nature walk would 100% recommend this was one of the best things we did in SL. Great guide who took us up so a long walk around the hills get to see tea pickers at work. Try out the spa it was an amazing experience the therapists are great and very informative. Had the buffet dinner and breakfast which were yummy and great choice for everyone. Lovley stay would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Not to keen on this hotel. We stayed for 1 night, which was a blessing in disguise. We felt uncomfortable the minute we arrived. We initially put this down to tiredness after a long day touring and travelling. The hotel is unique in every way apart from when you get to your room. My room reminded me of my Aunts front room. It was very british, too british. It was quaint but I felt that the hotel had missed the point. We were told that there was a dress code for the meals, which was acceptable but walking through the hotel in our holiday clobber we were frowned upon.
We were glad to leave this depressing place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srilankabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour from Kandy to Nuwara Ellia, and onto Bentotta. This was definitely the nicest hotel we stayed in, its just a shame it was only from about 15 hours, from 6pm until 9am.

The drive up is long and tiring, but what awaits you at the top is a lovely and relaxing hotel. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and we were lucky enough to have a corner room specially decorated, as it was our honeymoon.

The rooms are probably of a 4 star standard, and the step up into the bath/shower would probably concern less steady-footed guests. Our dinner (the buffet) was the nicest of our trip and the atmosphere was lovely. Other good points are free Wifi, and brilliant views over the tea plantations.

Cannot comment on the price as the hotel was part of a package.

Not much to do in the area in general, but still wish we could have stayed a bit longer.

Room Tip: They offer the more expensive train carriage dinner but the buffet is very good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skankmastertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a long drive on a narrow road from Nuwara Eliya town to the Tea Factory hotel. But it was truly worth the drive as the hotel was unique in its own way. As the name suggests, the hotel was originally a Tea Factory from the British era, which has been renovated & converted into a hotel. The lobby displays plenty of factory machinery and old photographs that take you back in time. The rooms, though small, are comfortable & cozy. Don't miss the restaurant inside a vintage train carriage. It's a pity that we could stay in this place for just 1 day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JyotsnaRamachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,547 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,043 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
167 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
308 reviews
5.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $246 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing