We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I loved it but..”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Amazing place, amazing views and a fantastic two night stay however.... Not much to do in the evening, it's cold as you are up in the mountains but a heated indoor/outdoor pool wouldn't go amiss especially for the price. There is also tons of poverty around the hotel, you almost feel you are sitting in an ivory tower overlooking a poverty stricken village. We took a walk around a spoke to the locals, all asked for money and you could see how poor some of them were. The hotel has a lot of stuff around the village which they have donated but I felt terrible drinking a beer for 700 rupees which I then found out was the daily wage for a tea picker in the area. overall an amazing hotel but not with the guilt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    756
    226
    65
    33
See reviews for
578
1,379
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After a long a very winding road the arrival at this hotel was a bit of a let-down. After expecting so much from their web-site this hotel looked ordinary and old. The rooms were small and the walls and ceiling are very thin. Until late into the night music and noise could be heard from the restaurant, but worst still was the noise of foot-steps from the room above which became so intolerable that I had to use ear plugs in an attempt to reduce the sound. The bathroom with shower was badly designed and required a step to get in and out of the shower. The food and the service by staff were excellent, but the hotel just seemed to be missing something. Maybe they thought being an old tea factory in the middle of a tea plantation was enough.

Room Tip: Top floor may have less noise but alot of stairs to get there or a very small elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pookie2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my bf. Dont be put off by the long windy roads to the hotel it is worth it on arrival. It is in an amazing picturess location very quiet apart from a barking dog from a nearly village (to scare the wild boar away from eating the veg crops)! Went on the nature walk would 100% recommend this was one of the best things we did in SL. Great guide who took us up so a long walk around the hills get to see tea pickers at work. Try out the spa it was an amazing experience the therapists are great and very informative. Had the buffet dinner and breakfast which were yummy and great choice for everyone. Lovley stay would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Not to keen on this hotel. We stayed for 1 night, which was a blessing in disguise. We felt uncomfortable the minute we arrived. We initially put this down to tiredness after a long day touring and travelling. The hotel is unique in every way apart from when you get to your room. My room reminded me of my Aunts front room. It was very british, too british. It was quaint but I felt that the hotel had missed the point. We were told that there was a dress code for the meals, which was acceptable but walking through the hotel in our holiday clobber we were frowned upon.
We were glad to leave this depressing place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srilankabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour from Kandy to Nuwara Ellia, and onto Bentotta. This was definitely the nicest hotel we stayed in, its just a shame it was only from about 15 hours, from 6pm until 9am.

The drive up is long and tiring, but what awaits you at the top is a lovely and relaxing hotel. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and we were lucky enough to have a corner room specially decorated, as it was our honeymoon.

The rooms are probably of a 4 star standard, and the step up into the bath/shower would probably concern less steady-footed guests. Our dinner (the buffet) was the nicest of our trip and the atmosphere was lovely. Other good points are free Wifi, and brilliant views over the tea plantations.

Cannot comment on the price as the hotel was part of a package.

Not much to do in the area in general, but still wish we could have stayed a bit longer.

Room Tip: They offer the more expensive train carriage dinner but the buffet is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skankmastertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a long drive on a narrow road from Nuwara Eliya town to the Tea Factory hotel. But it was truly worth the drive as the hotel was unique in its own way. As the name suggests, the hotel was originally a Tea Factory from the British era, which has been renovated & converted into a hotel. The lobby displays plenty of factory machinery and old photographs that take you back in time. The rooms, though small, are comfortable & cozy. Don't miss the restaurant inside a vintage train carriage. It's a pity that we could stay in this place for just 1 day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JyotsnaRamachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this hotelfor our romantic honeymoon. When we booked we requested the top floor which was available at the time. Additionally, our travel agent said she would request upgrades throughout the trip being that we were honeymooners ( which we received at every hotel). Upon arrival we saw that we had a standard room on the bottom floor. When we tried to address the issue we were treated in a disgusting manner by George the assistant manager who at first even refused to speak with us. They refused to address the issues we had and forced us to take the room they reserved for us. The room was tiny, on the edge of the hall so there was a ton of noise and we were constantly woken up! They gave yes two single beds and put a late sheet on them as if to attach them. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in.. or rather didn't sleep in BC we dud not sleep for more than 10 minutes at a time! This is not how you treat a couple, especially not a couple on their honeymoon! When we checked out they continued to arg and gue with us and made a copy of our credit card while refusing to give us a copy of our bill. Absolutely disgusting service and I have worked in tourism and sservice industry for over 10 years!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayaandron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, General Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We thank you for your response which we value very much for the betterment of the hotel and it’s services. However, we find that there are a few implications that need to be clarified.

Firstly, we would like to mention that your booking was made for a standard (Superior room) and there was nothing mentioned in the voucher that it was a honeymoon room. I believe that the voucher was shown to you by the Asst. Manager, George with whom you communicated until you met myself. He did mention the availability of rooms and what you were entitled for and the room was given to you accordingly which is the normal procedure in any part of the world. The room offered to you was on the 2nd floor and was not on the bottom floor.

We were made to understand it was your honeymoon only at the time of your arrival and we rearranged the room with honeymoon facilities that are generally offered in all superior rooms (standard rooms). Subsequently, after speaking to George you had wanted to speak to the General Manager and you met me. I too had no other choice but to offer you the room that was booked for you by your travel agent. Had we known earlier that it was your honeymoon we would have tried to offer you an upgrade atleast, but as the hotel was full we could not do so.

On your check-out the receptionist had requested your credit card details as a procedure for the settlement of your extra bills which you had refused to provide. You had also requested for a copy of the registration card and also a copy of the bill which is produced only to the travel agent. A copy of the registration card was given to you although we have no obligation to do so. However, as a regulation, we were not in a position to give you the travel agent’s bill as the bill is settled by the travel agent and not the customer.

Thank you once again for your response and your views and for having stayed at Heritance Tea Factory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing