We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Staff provided excellent service.

Howeve poor quality of building and rooms, given price bracket. All areas, including reception and dining showing obvious signs of wear - particularly noticeable in room and bathroom.
Food merely 'meh'. Not bad, but not consistent with 4-5 star experience.

Gardens, tea plantation, and opportunity to pick tea all up to par. But I would recommend saving money by staying elsewhere and nipping up for a wander around the gardens/tea picking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    761
    227
    66
    34
See reviews for
587
1,386
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

I booked the tea factory through the online site and was looking forward to a pleasant stay. The trip to the the town of Nuwara Eliya was not that great as there was heavy construction on the main road leading to the town. The entrance to the hotel was very narrow, only one car at a time. However, we made it to the hotel in one piece.

The hotel has some amazing history and it you are planning to stay, read the information on the wall to better appreciate your stay. For our bad luck, we encountered strong wind right throughout the day and as a result, we could not sleep due to hollowing sound created at the roof of the hotel. Due to the lack of sleep, we were so tired to enjoy the fine services offered at the hotel.

Over all, the hotel is amazing and the service you get is top notch. I enjoyed the decor of the hotel. One thing I did not enjoy was the food in the hotel. For a hotel of this class and winning various awards, I expected the food in the restaurant to be better than this. The breakfast was the only thing I enjoyed as it had variety. I hope the hotel will improve on the food, as there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, to have an alternate meal. Most of the restaurants are about 30 to 40 minutes away, in the main town.

The room in the Executive Floor was small and a little cramped, but the beds are very comfortable.

Overall the stay was great despite the bad luck we endured. The hotel is located on a mountain and the view from the rooms were amazing.

The staff at the hotel were excellent, especially the front office. They know how to treat a guest and provide exceptional service.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gihan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The 5 hours car trip from Negombo/Colombo was terrible because of the mountain roads. When we arrived to the hotel we we were disappointed by the small size of the room & the old theme of it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q8Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a unique hotel, 6,000 feet above sea level in the tea area of Sri Lanka. It is a gem with all its little touches where it has been transformed from a tea factory to a hotel. The rooms are not huge but big enough. The view and the gardens are splendid.
We had the the buffet the first night which was nice enough. The second night we ate in the railway carriage and had the tasting menu. It had an additional cost of around £20 which is a lot of money for a meal in Sri Lanka but was worth it for the food and the experience. The fillet steak alone made it worth while. The guy who ran it made it special and there were lots of little "colonial" touches that made the stay worthwhile.
We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

i was in nuwsraeliy with my family in april.i went for lunch there and had sri lankan rice and curry.you will not see serving curries like other places.something different great taste.specialy sinhala achcharu.great food.great taste.then we had tea in the evening.all organic tea.superb tea taste.if you go to up country dont miss to go there.its 14km from nuwaraeliya.
If you can stay a night.you will experience like you stsyed at a tea factory.not in a hotel

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yameenhussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The location is amidst tea gardens. The drive to the place is very scenic. The hotel looks like a factory from outside. When we enter also the lobby looks like a factory with tea powder making machines and a tea selling shop. The rooms are small and noisy. The lift is so small and difficult to get. So better use stairs.The outside garden and surrounding tea gardens are very nice to see especially in the early morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjeevNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Worth the extra drive for this stunning location. This was my second visit after many years and I was not disappointed to be back - much as I remember, charming, unique location and lovely staff.
the hotel is not quite in Nuwara Eliya, its around 20-30 min drive away but the setting is magnificent and with so much to explore you could easily spend a few days walking around the hills and tea plantations. The front of house staff very friendly and accommodating (despite us making a small compliant about the tea picking tour), the restaurant staff took pride in their jobs and this was a lovely two night stay. Now the hotel was originally a working factory so the rooms are not designed to be sound proof, we stayed on the third floor and could hear dogs barking each night, people walking through the corridors, breakfast being set up, if that bothers you this is not the place for you. The rooms are comfortable but do not expect luxury - the beauty of the place is its surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TipTopTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,478 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,968 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
271 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing