We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A romantic stay at the highest point in Srilanka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritance Tea Factory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A romantic stay at the highest point in Srilanka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel and it was a different experience. As soon as our guide parked the car at the hotel entrance, we were in adifferent world! Cool weather, clouds and mist covering the place with greenery around us and a very pleasant feeling. We went inside the hotel and we were surprised with the tea machinery and the way the reception was designed. When we went to use the elevator, we were surprised to see this very old system which we saw in movies only! The room was good and had a big balcony. For the first time in Srilanka, we did not use an AC and it was funny that the room was equipped with a heater although the temperature was around 18 degrees celcius which is great. We spent the night sitting outside in the mist and the weather was great. This place is the ideal place for a honeymooners, for relaxation and for a different experience.

The only drawback here is that there are no activities in the hotel (other than the spa), no swimming pool and nothing to do in the outside area which makes it a good place for a one night and two at the most. The food was good but the things that they force visitors to try when entering the hotel are not tasty at all.

Room Tip: The best is to choose a room on the first floor because they are the only ones that have a big balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    734
    217
    64
    33
See reviews for
553
1,334
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

A superb hotel with lovely rooms, great food and a magnificent setting. The chef was a star, even baking special bread for a 'wheat sensitive' in the group and making some cakes. Some of the group named it as their favourite of the 8 hotels we stayed due to the interesting interior features but we did have some service problems with bar bills. They couldn't get their act together with a large group and were constantly harassing us, sometimes up to a couple of hours later and when we were having dinner, to find out what we had ordered at the bar instead of writing the order down against our rooms at the time. Strange!
Certainly woth a visit and a couple of nights just for the experience of clean air and watching the tea pickers in the surrounding plantation.
If you are travelling on, take the nearby train to Kandy for an unforgettable experience and superb views.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brill_senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Located amongst lush green tea gardens, the Heritance Tea Factory is an old tea factory turned into a hotel. The hotel has been designed around the old tea factory. Clean, neat, and tidy would aptly describe this hotel. The staff are extremely polite and obliging. The food was good. All in all a great stay. Would love to return again someday.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We loved this place and it is really an original hotel, design-wise. We were also lucky that we had a room on a high floor and on a corner, with views in two directions and tons of light. Buffet restaurant is high quality with good mix of Sri Lankan and international fare. We did go to the old train for dinner which was lots of fun and good food, outstanding guy manages it, although a bit slow from start to finish. Staff like everywhere is freindly and efficient. Just one warning - if you're not used to sleeping at altitudes, and this is only 2000 metres - keep in mind that there is less oxygen, it did affect my sleeping but I am hypersensitive to this. Overall though we like this hotel alot and the beauty of the surrounding countryside is amazing.

Room Tip: High up as possible, corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricfromParis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed at this converted factory for 2 nights, the scenery & the clear air were fantastic, the accomodation in general was good, but the awful bath should have been replaced by walk in showers , as simply getting in & out of the bath was hazardous , particularly for those less able. We stayed in room 112 on the first floor which had a massive balcony & from which the views were simply magnificent. Staffing all round was attentive & extremely polite , but also had time for our quirky british humour, food was excellent, we also had a 7 course diiner in the old rail car , another memorable evening, well worth the addtional cost , the "Guard" was the real star of the evening, even added rocking motion to the old dining car at times.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be the same satndard, but there were three which had a balcony ( 110, 112 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogandrose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanbu
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel is a superb and sympathetic restoration of a traditional tea factory, with elements of the original machinery preserved as decorative features.

Don't miss evening dinner in the old railway carriage. It's easily as good as an 'Orient Express' outing and a fraction of the cost. Maitre D Raj in his guard's uniform is super. Book early! Limited places.

There is heating in the rooms if required, but no air-conditioning. I'm told this is not a problem as it is always cool at this altitude. Certainly we were very comfortable in February.

This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ubnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

A well appointed hotel with a lot of character - nice efficient welcome; reasonable bufffet too. Good wifi etc. Nice rooms done with some imagination - BUT INSIST you have a room on the top floor or you will hear guests walking above you, not above the bar/restaurant AND facing the front of the hotel and NOT the back or you will face the noisy car park with a loudspeaker system calling for drivers, staff & drivers talking to each other, music playing at other times and it's not a nice view

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the top floor at opposite end to the bar/restaurant AND facing the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepmovingAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
23.1 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing