We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritance Tea Factory
Nearby Hotels
Araliya Green City(Nuwara Eliya)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$2,952
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$48
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$141
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$182
$161
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$52
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$201
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,803)
Filter reviews
2,803 results
Traveler rating
1,598
836
253
76
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,598
836
253
76
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carriageunique hotelnature walkexecutive floorold railwaypick your ownoriginal machinerysri lankaunique experiencetake homeour honeymoonlocal villagecorner roomevery eveningabove sea levelstrawberrieswinding road
Filter
Updating list...
2,077 - 2,082 of 2,803 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Perched amidst the tea plantations in a picture perfect setting. With great expectation and excitement I arrived and was warmly welcomed with a lovely cup of tea in a beautiful and intriguing tea lounge.

The main entrance/reception area is charming and unique, but that is where it ends. Unfortunately I was shown to a sad closet of a room, and after a little persuasion moved to a larger and cleaner one overlooking the parking lot. (The rooms should be redone, they are very sad, dated and feel dirty).

The staff need more training (my room was being cleaned for the next guests before I had finished packing my luggage and was still at breakfast in the VERY early am). The buffet food was plentiful but average.

The high note was the gardener, a gem of man whom I met while exploring the well-manicured gardens (full of kindness, knowledge and great artistic talent with his carved hedges).

Sorry to say that the Heritance Tea Factory did not live up to expectations!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wonderfulworld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Really lovely hotel with a feel of England in Sri Lanka! Especially the weather. Quite chilly but staff were super friendly and the whole experience lovely. My only complaint would be that it's quite noisy at night as the floors are wooden and you can hear people walking about upstairs! Great that there was a lovely bar which my husband could enjoy a cigar in. All round the best hotel we stayed in in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetburygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night whilst touring. The hotel is in a great location & the work that has gone in to restoring the building & turning it into a hotel is very impressive. We were upgraded to an exec room albeit this was at the back of the hotel & I agree with earlier comments - try to get a room at the front so that you have the best views and are away from the "engine rooms" of the hotel so to speak (kitchen noise etc.). Nevertheless we still had a lovely stay - the grounds are lovely to walk around & we enjoyed a bottle of wine in a snug area of the lounge with a roaring log fire prior to dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at the Heritance Tea Factory for 2 nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel was fantastic and we were made to feel special as soon as we walked through the door. It was a bit like staying in a museum, everything was so interesting and superbly done.

As it was our honeymoon they dressed the room and gave us complimentary fruit on arrival. Our room on the 3rd floor was great with views over the tea plantations (when the fog subsided). Very clean, a descent size and stylishly finished. Good shower too.

The food in the restaurant was great with a good selection. We also ate in the special train carriage outside (6 courses for 4500LKR per person) which was an experience in itself. Excellent menu and good for vegetarians too.

We also used the spa facilities which were really good but a little on the pricey side.

The hotel sits about 20mins drive outside Nuwara Eliya, so good if you were planning to stay in that area.

Well worth the money for a unique experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clumsy_celt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Tea factory is certainly one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Very unique! Set amidst a beautiful tea plantation, this is an ancient tea factory that has been converted into a lovely hotel. The rooms we stayed in were a bit small, yet very lovely. Staff was excellent and the food was great too. Plan on spending atleast 2 or more nights here, since it is a really long drive to get here and you'll feel very rushed if stay just one night. They have mini golf to keep kids busy and lovely nature walks etc. You can also see how tea is made in the mini processing plant they have. Staying at The Tea factory is a very unique experience and is definitely worth it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernSpice145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews