We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of The Hill Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hill Club
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Chengdu, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and the experience was great. The colonial style, old-Ceylon way of living is just proper for the atmosphere in Nuwara Eliya. We especially enjoyed the beautiful garden, the dinner, the fireplace burning of the coconut wood at night. The staffs here are also very friendly and well-trained. Location is great, quite but not far. The history of this club itself is worthing appreciating. All in all, it worth a second staying.
The night is very very cold here as in a tropical country. Do ask more blankets. If you have your dinner here, discounts is possible. We had three dinners here and got discounts for two.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elbereth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    221
    112
    73
    73
See reviews for
131
304
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
napoli
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very nice hotel, maybe a bit expensive, but on the other hand finding a British club in Sri Lanka is almost priceless. Going there is an experience I’d strongly recommend, the only minus in our stay was that, not having a jacket and a tie, as per their rules we had to eat in a room separate from all other guests, which was a bit sad…. Anyway, apart from this we really liked the whole stay, despite being a bit "out of context".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

It's a great castle with 100years history, the club looks just so good, the reading room is the best place to spend your afternoon time and feel so unreality, when u walk into the castle, u seem go back to the old time, with the old furniture around u. And also the garden, very beautiful

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Located in an old British colonial building and surrounded by beautiful park, the hotel, of course, has atmosphere. The staff is also anxious to satisfy your wishes. If you know about the partly snobbishness before (one of the two restaurants and bars may only be accessed with suit and tie), you can tolerate it. But I think, colonial atmosphere should not correspond to a small, uncomfortable room, which is desperately in need of renovation. The wash basin was arranged within the room and there was an attached toilet and shower room only two square meters big.
The worst thing was: This attached "bathroom" had a very poor ventilation, so you could see stains of black mold on the wall.
Maybe the other rooms of the hotel are renovated and more comfortable, but the one that I had was definitely not adequate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelfwoern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I never leave harsh reviews but I have to be honest as Sri Lanka is losing one of its most historical hotels. First we checked in after a 6hr drive with kids to be told rooms that had been booked a month ago were not available, driven to the golf club and told to stay in rooms a quarter of the price. Eventually general manager called apologised and we we allowed to stay one night even though we booked two nights. The entire hotel is in desperate need of a refurb, I think management thinks colonial means rundown. It's two star hotel and that's being generous. The hotel staff are great but the service is slow and chaotic. The rooms are awful and the bed linen looks outdated and dirty. The breakfast was extremely disappointing with dirty muddy plant pots on the breakfast table ? The wifi does not connect and the whole place is freezing cold. It's shame this hotel has so much potential but something is desperately wrong.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richieperera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Beautiful looking place with old british style, srilankans were not allowed.
Was saddened by this.
rooms were ok.
Food was not good
Staff wasnt very cooperative except one or two.
Being an Indian, i felt similar feel in the eyes of people taking breakfast on other tables as if they didn't like our presence.
Feel suffocated under such environment while we live in 21st century.
Outside ambiance was nice & you can stand with your sri lankan guide and feel being a liberated person.
Will no advise Tan skin family people to stay in this "historical property"

Room Tip: Family people should avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zubair I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We were initially disappointed to be shown two single beds instead of a double which we specifically requested prior to arrival, including a message asking the hotel to contact us if this was not available.
However, the room was otherwise well presented with good facilities.
The bathroom suite was tired with chips out of the bath.
It was a nice touch to have hot water bottles before bed!
The food was good though not exceptional for the price. The service and location were the highlights of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtlewings20142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Club

Property: The Hill Club
Address: 29 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hill Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill Club is an exclusive members only Club, established in 1876, by the British Planters and continues as a prestigious club in Nuwara Eliya, which is surrounded by Tea Estates. With the British Planters moving out, The Hill Club remained and still remains a Members ONLY club after having opened it doors to Srilankans. To sustain the Club and to maintain same, the Club was opened to temporary members ( Tourist) Traditions are still maintained where Gentleman is required to wear Suit for Dinner and a lady smartly dressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hill Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hill Club Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Hill Hotel Nuwara Eliya
The Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing