We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit before this little piece of history disappears”
Review of The Hill Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hill Club
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Visit before this little piece of history disappears”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

It was simply wonderful and a reminder of what it would have been like to live in the colonies at the turn of the century... and what a fine piece of Arts and Crafts architecture! Nothing has changed here other than they can now provide hot water! The staff simply fell over themselves to be helpful from the doorman in his green suit and the bell boys and barmen in white jackets with gold epaulets. The billiard room with stag heads on the walls, a log fire in the sitting room and the Club Newsletter in the reading room......it is very much the gentleman's club. Even though it is now very tired I wouldn't change a thing, it is all part of the charm. The formal 4 course dinner is a must just for the experience. A real gem!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    221
    112
    73
    73
See reviews for
131
304
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent two nights at this Hotel. We were quite amazed at the surrounding gardens. Perfectly manicured and well maintained. The hotel maintains its English image of antique furniture, reading rooms and strict rules for accommodation. It has certain traditions ie: getting dressed up for dinner in the Dining Room , hot water bottles in bed in the nights...etc...
If you are looking for the experience, very professional service and a "stay" going back in time, this would be ideal. Lots of history involved.
Nuwara Eliya can be quite wet and cold during August September.
Larry & Ashlee P. ( Melbourne - Australia)

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and did not experience any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We only stayed one night as part of a tour and all the men had to wear jackets and ties for dinner. I must say it gave everyone a little elegance, but the experience was rather stuffy and expensive.
The atmosphere was bordering on colonial Victorian and the rooms rather tired

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marden, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were looking forward to staying at this hotel because of the history it holds, but to be honest it was a real disappointment.

The hotel had been overbooked and our guide had to fight to get us a room here (despite it being booked as part of our tour with Diethelm Travel (who I would recommend - email for details). We were not the only ones either!

When we eventually did get a room it was very tired and I don't mean it needed updating because that is obviously all part of the charm, but the shower was mouldy, and the shower tray and tiles in need of replacement (see photos attached).

My husband requested an iron and ironing board - they brought an iron but said they did not have a board and that he should use the top of the antique wooden dresser with a cloth!

Went down for dinner to find no free tables in the restaurant. When we did eventually get a table there was an expensive fixed menu.

Breakfast in the morning was yet another disappointment, the least we have ever seen on the buffet - a few bits of fruit & cereal (pic attached). We noticed other people had toast and jam but despite waiters being present, we were not offered anything else. After waiting a fair time we summoned over a waiter who then told us yes, you could order toast and tea!

Such a shame as this place could be lovely if it was better managed! It looks really lovely from the outside. The Grand Hotel next door looked a much better choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngloKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Unless living in Sri Lanka, my guess is that you come to The Hill Club for the experience rather than for bland modern day hotel amenities. I stayed two nights on my own and found the staff really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Yes my room was a little 'tired' by modern standards but everything actually worked and the nice touch of a hot water bottle and electric fire was appreciated. My packed breakfast was waiting for me at 5.30am as requested and the meals I had in the evening were superb. Despite dining on my own, the waiters helped me feel at ease. The grounds are kept in tip-top condition and for anyone keen enough, I found a basic but adequate gym housed in the grounds. No-one mentioned this at check-in, so suspect it may be there for longer term members only. The Club is within easy walking distance of the town.

An excellent experience difficult to quantify in monetary terms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EluwaiLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Charmingly faded old-Colonial style building much like many of the photos displayed from a bygone era. A fascinating building. Staff were courteous and attentive. The main dining room was lovely, and the food was very good. The gardens looked very inviting though we didn't stay long enough to sit out and enjoy them. The room was a tad shy of "cosy" because of the layout - squeezing past the bed and avoiding stubbing one's toe on the hearth in the middle of the night was a logistical exercise. The bed was a regular double and comfortable enough, though the least comfortable of the 5 beds we slept in (generally the beds in the hotels were superb). The bathroom was huge and perfectly adequate, if a little in need of some face-lifting. Overall a good stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyEmCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Spent 1 night at the Hill Club as part of a tour of the Cultural Triangle, but with hindsight a couple of nights to explore a little more fully the area would be something i'd encourage others to consider.

The hotel is mock Tudor & Stone built and represents a bygone era of quality associated with the British Raj and the pomp associated with that time. I accept that the hotel is dated but that is to miss the point, it is trying to hold onto its time in history.

Wood panelling, leather sofas, a billiard room with shooting trophies on the walls add to the atmosphere. The formal dining requires a tie and jacket, but my wife and I choose the informal dining, which still produced waiters in white military style dress, with tunics buttoned to the collar and the compulsory white gloves!!!

The Table d'Hote was 4 courses with a choice of Sirloin Steak or Pork Chops. Very traditional as was breakfast.

The hotel is situated in the Hill Country at an altitude of about 6,000 feet and as we visited during the wet season, the weather was wet and cold, but on retiring to bed the hotel had very thoughtfully placed a hot water bottle in each bed. It was not something I expected during a visit to Sri Lanka but my wife thoroughly approved and slept soundly with the hot water bottle all night!

If you want modern standards with all the universal trimmings, then look elsewhere but if you want to experience something totally different, then The Hill Club could be for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLSPBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Club

Property: The Hill Club
Address: 29 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hill Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill Club is an exclusive members only Club, established in 1876, by the British Planters and continues as a prestigious club in Nuwara Eliya, which is surrounded by Tea Estates. With the British Planters moving out, The Hill Club remained and still remains a Members ONLY club after having opened it doors to Srilankans. To sustain the Club and to maintain same, the Club was opened to temporary members ( Tourist) Traditions are still maintained where Gentleman is required to wear Suit for Dinner and a lady smartly dressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hill Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hill Club Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Hill Hotel Nuwara Eliya
The Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing