We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Misty Mountain Villas
Nearby Hotels
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$149
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
$248
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$48
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
$257
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferncliff(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Nidwalden Resort(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unique Cottages(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
37
26
16
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
26
16
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep roadhorton plainssri lankabasic amenitieswarm hospitalitytown centrebreathtaking viewscup of teadrivershanlodgeheatereliyajumpergardenbathtub
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 86 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place is fantastic! Leo, the owner, saw to our every need. He is not only an amazing host but a great cook as well. And the rooms are charming and spotless with great views and steamy hot water (a must in this town). The place is a bit far from town, but it's an easy tuk tuk ride up the hill, and totally worth it. I can't recommend it enough.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank africabound10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarnia J, Manager at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas. We also note that our Manager Leo treated you well . Thanks for visiting Misty Mountain Villas.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Staff: Leo,wife and suresh were brillient and very good service by them. there was no fault.
Rooms: Modern but damp and cold.couple of times no running water and twice no hot water.
Food: was brillient and very tasty. we got a charge of Rs 4000 for asking tost and sausages for breakfast even though we were on half board.
they did not provide our driver's accomadation at all and was not told to us when we booked,as in sri lanka this is normal. No TV as advertised on website.
overall good accomadation with good view and food, but need some updates and clarification on services provided for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

With regard to your stay at Misty Mountain Villas , we are glad that our Manager Leo and staff treated you well. We also note that you enjoyed the views food etc.

With regard to the cost of Rs 4000/- , pleas note that we have a set menu for half board. Any additional food is supplied at an extra cost.

We did not provide driver accommodation as you would have noticed the hotel is under construction.

We Do very rarely have problemswith regard to water, but this has been rectIfied.


Thanks for visiting our hotel.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was a great place to stay. Nice ambience, wheather , landscape and reasonable price.
I was happy with their service and tour provided as it was customer oriented.
I like their theme , "It is your trip, you decide how it should be".
Its location was little far from town. A little distance on to travel up. I will say it worth the effort to travel further for better view environment to enjoy my vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juyeeteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We note that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas.

We will be looking forward to having you again in the future.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

1. The hotel was unaccessible due to road construction and we were not informed by any means. We even called 40 mins before our arrival to ask for the direction but was not told that vehicle couldn't reach the hotel. We travel with elder parents who couldn't never possibly climb the extremely steep (more than 45') and dark unpaved road. The hotel staff should have informed us about the situation at least when we called on the day if not earlier.
2. When we reached the end where the vehicle could go, we had to stop to ask workers cosntructing the road about the situation. At the same time, the hotel manager was standing together with them without speaking any words (at that time we didn't know he was the manager). When two of us climbed up to the hotel and asked for the situation, the managers' wife blamed us for not arriving earlier to know the condition and refused to refund us.(As if we have come earlier than my parents would be able to climb the road). She insisted that they don't have a cancellation policy. Later the manager came (at this point we were suprised why the manager kept silent when we were asking these people about the hotel). but also tried to avoid dealing the refund saying he would give us money the next day. He once suggested that he also owned another (Mount View Cottage) property and offered us to check out, which we saw on the way up to the hill. But later he told us it's full so he offered us another empty property which is in very bad condition. We then asked for refund again but was only given partial (not sure why he didn't have enough money before but later hold a bunch of bills). After he gave us some refund and then he said we could check out the Mount View Cottage to see if there is any vacancy on the way down the hill. (So either he doesn't really own the property but he cheated us, or he didn't really check if it's full, most probably it's not his property. In either case, he lied to us).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarnia J, Manager at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Whilst noting your comments we would like to inform you that if you arrived earlier in the evening at the hotel this situation would not have arisen, specially traveling with elderly guests.

Sri Lanka especially Nuwara Eliya has very steep and narrow roads ( the person who accompanied you who was Sri Lankan) would have known this situation. Your refund was made at the same time.

Further comments were noted and that's your opinion, not ours.


Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Misty Mountain Villas is high up in the hills above Nuwara Eliya. Leo, the host, does everything to make you feel at home. As it can get quite chilly up there, I recommend you bring a jumper, but then Leo will also light a fire for you in the evenings which is lovely and really cosy. I stayed in the little hut below the main building and it offers spectacular views. When the wifi wouldn't initially reach this far, Leo had it fixed straight away.

The bathroom was brand-new and all modern, which I liked very much.

the shuttle service to and from town is complementary, which is great. It would would have been too far to walk.

Breakfast was excellent. I didn't have any dinner here. When ever you are having food or drinks, they come decorated with little flowers from the garden. Lovely!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ele75FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We note that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas.

We will be looking forward to having you again in the future.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews