We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and reasonably priced”
Review of New Tour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Tour Inn
Ranked #139 of 264 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room had a recently renovated bathroom and a super hot shower which was great because it can get a bit chilly at night. Everything was clean and the food they served was nice - try any of their devilled dishes they're delicious!
My only gripe is that the internet was painfully slow or non existent at times. Its not the end of the world but it sure make organising and planning the next destinations much harder and time consuming.

We also took the tour the hotel organised to the world's end, the car was new and comfortable and only cost 4000 for the 2 of us.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

we stayed in the tour inn for two nights. the roomsize was ok and the bathroom clean. but there was dampness in the room and also a weird smell. in the night it was very cold and i was happy having my sleeping bag with me. the tv in the lobby was good and the staff very friendly and helping.
the hotel was ok for two nights, but i would not stay there any longer.

Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2nights and bargained our price down for the room as it was the low season. The room was soo damp even clothes in my pack got damp and my backpack felt like it had been out in the rain, we had puddles of water on the floor and beds were really uncomfortable
Would only recommend if you RELLY have to stay, but staff were really nice and helpful :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsta08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here during the buddist New Year's Eve celebration, a very busy time in nuwara eliya. The room was clean and bathroom modern and spotless. The staff friendly and helpful and the location was right in town across from the beautiful gardens. Good range of satellite channels. It met our expectations. Unfortunately the high humidity causes a damp environment in the hotel that just won't budge. It wasn't a massive issue but it did bring the place down. The place could do with a brighten up as it lacked character and atmosphere.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Larryhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Luckily we only had to spend one night in Nuwara Eliya which, to our opinion, is of very little interest. We chose to stay in a quite cheap place. New Tour Inn was this one, not even that cheap. The beds were not confortable at all and we spent quite a bad night. The place is clean enough but a bit rundown. There are some bad smells because it is quite a damp place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent: opposite to Victoria Park and a stone's throw away from the city center and the bus station. The owner of the place is really nice and helpful. Unfortunately the rooms are not that clean and a little outdated. Since it's cold outside and there's no central heating, the rooms are very humid and there's mold everywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veerle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank AV1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.7 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#24 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highest Village Bungalow
Highest Village Bungalow
#10 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Tour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Tour Inn

Address: No 22 Park Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $21 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Tour Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your New Tour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing