We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenfall Reach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 248 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited this hotel ne year ago. I don’t know whether there changed anything, but I should say that we were treated like kings in this hotel. The stuff was polite and very kind. As we were the only visitors there the breakfast and the dinner were made specially for us (it was included in the price that we paid for the room). I am vegetarian and for me it was so nice that the chef made everything that I wanted. The serving was perfect. The kitchen was neat and clean and the chef of the restaurant was very nice and smiling person.
The manager was very attentive and always asked whether everything was ok.
I travel a lot and I have to say that the service in this hotel is worth 5 stars and it was better in Glenfall than in some 5-star hotels that I visited. It is hard to impress me, but Glenfall did it))))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olenka0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    64
    80
    18
    9
See reviews for
57
89
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice rooms clean and well furnished, no remarks there. Nice mountain view if you omit the slumstyle surrounding buildings. Path to hotel (you can not call this a road) in very bad shape, not illuminated at night, rusty wired fences, totally unsafe in evening. Food is poor, old Bread and bad coffee at breakfast, no buffet. Very limited choice in evening, no vegetarian options. Coming back at 22h00 in the evening from a better restaurant nearby (grand Indian, excellent), hotel was closed and locked, had to knock and yell 15 minuten before someone showed up to open the door. No bar because no license. Empty lobbies on the Floor. This place could have potential if transformed to and exploited as boutique hotel, but lots of work to do

Room Tip: Choose the grand botel nearby, instead of this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannim1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Fantastic hotel with great views. Be sure to books your rooms on the top floors, for a view of the mountains.. Very cosy place for a couple to stay! Nothing much to do here, except cuddle up and be warm!!! Rooms have heater and bathrooms are clean (no bath tubs in the room where we stayed). Food is nice, they have a buffet for dinner & breakfast and an menu to choose form as well for dinner.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor facing the mountains..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SowmyaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived along the potted driveway to a wonderful looking small hotel. The rooms we were given were at the top of the hotel away from any noise. The rooms were very well appointed and quite large for a small hotel. We were looking forward to a drink in the bar, but was told this was only for soft drinks, although behind the bar were shelves of full wine and spirit bottles. The dinner was well cooked but of limited menu, which was very disappointing. On the day we stayed there were seven guests. This hotel is great for those who like small boutique type hotels with attentive staff and limited food and drink options. Trying hard.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the 300s or 400s. None have views but the higher you are the less noise you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbcorpe-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I stayed at Glenfall Reach for just 1 night after the long journey from the airport. The entrance to the hotel looked lovely and we were given a warm welcome. Our room was very nice, large and clean, the beds were very comfortable. My daughter and I feel the cold easily so we were pleased to see there was a heater. The bathroom was very spacious and well equipped although the shower was a bit disappointing. We stayed on half board basis but wished we'd only stayed bed and breakfast, the choice and quality of evening meal was very poor, the staff didn't even question the amount of food left on all three of our plates. The breakfast was much better. If we visited Nuwara Eliya again we would consider this hotel again but only for b&b.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n.mccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My most disappointing hotel experience in Sri Lanka was at this hotel. I arrived to hear that I had been assigned a room with no windows. They agreed to give me another which was also a nightmare. All the rooms right above the entry way allow you to hear the hotel staff jabbering on day and night. Cars arriving and hotel guests being dropped off and picked up at every hour makes it impossible for you to sleep. The rooms are not facing anything of interest (the water tanks perhaps). The restuarant is under ground with no view. The room has no sound proofing which means any conversations inside/outside rooms are everybody's business. Totally disappointing :-( Its a stop over hotel, so expect very little.

Room Tip: I really have nothing to recommend here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Sunnemo, Sverige
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Glenfall Reach is a very nice looking hotel and is very hard trying to reach a high standard. Warm welcome as if we were kings and a very nice looking and spacious room (room 305) for the three of us. As there were just a few guests we got a menu to chose from in the restaurant. A bit over spiced, but the manager asked us directly if the food was too spicy because he already expected that. We got another fish dish immediately. Even the breakfast was on a menu with lots of everything. There were though a few child diseases which they forgot in all their willing to do their best. After talking with the manager (I felt I could do that because of the personal service he offered) he was very thankful I mentioned this problems and promised to take care of it for the next guests. Wi-Fi in the room was very pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartfysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
0.3 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#13 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
361 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Topaz
Hotel Topaz
#8 of 428 in Kandy
708 reviews
0.0 mi away
Danawwa Resort
Danawwa Resort
#7 of 9 in Habarana
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#4 of 201 in Nuwara Eliya
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unique Cottages
Unique Cottages
#45 of 248 in Nuwara Eliya
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnation Rest
Carnation Rest
#25 of 248 in Nuwara Eliya
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfall Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfall Reach Hotel

Property: Glenfall Reach Hotel
Address: Glenfall Lane, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenfall Reach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glennfall Reach, a brand new sixteen room property designed with a mix of colonial and modern architecture boasting timber floors, king size beds and warm down comforters is located in the heart of Nuwara Eliya with a magnificent view of the highest peak of Sri Lanka “Pidurutalagala” and the namesake waterfall of Glennfall falling from the heights of Single tree hill, boasts of the finest temperate climate accommodation with warm cozy rooms, & warm supper served by friendly staff in a cozy basement restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Glenfall Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing