We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for an overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenfall Reach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 264 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was the only slightly disappointing hotel on our tour of Sri Lanka, and even that's relative. The room was excellent (there was a heater, which we needed on a drizzly day at 1800 metres altitude) and the food was OK, although the dinner choice was limited. What lets the place down is the service - it's as if nobody has been to hotel school (whereas at every other hotel we stayed in in Sri Lanka, it was as if they had been on a refresher course last week). However, we're fairly seasoned travellers who are quite used to European "garni" hotels with no service at all, so we're not complaining. We gave the dinner waiter a special tip for trying so hard - I just hope he will get to go to school.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sTeamTraen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

When we arrived it was raining hard and cold. The hotel has little to offer apart from its admittedly nicely appointed rooms. The public areas were cold (front door always open in the foyer with temperature around 15 degrees centigrade) and bar area dead. We never worked out how to get a drink other than going to find a member of staff. We ended up reading in our room with its portable fan electric heater. So I shared the negative opinions of Virgcho (the people who had apparently stayed the night before and reviewed the hotel) completely. In fact I wrote my own negative review and then went to tell the manager what I thought instead. He is anxious to do well but has to do something to make this hotel more welcoming and offer something to do if it is raining and your tour provider has decided you can entertain yourself in Nuwara Eilya for two nights (you can't, there is virtually nothing to do once you've seen a tea factory and plantation). Oh, and probably irrelevant given the weather, but there are no outside areas at all.

Room Tip: Beware that there is no lift so if stairs are a problem you need one of the four rooms on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Glenfall Reach is close enough to town, but in a silent location. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the service is very good!
A heater is provided for the room and the blankets are warm enough. The internet is slow and the food of average quality.
Glenfall Reach is a good location for a short stay, for example to reach the Horton Plains (early morning shuttle and packed breakfeast can be arranged).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InKi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay here. The staff were very unfriendly and not helpful. Basic requests were not answered. The rooms are tiny! They don't even have basic amenities. For example we asked for a box of tissues 3 times and finally they brought us a bunch if very rough napkins. Food was bad Chinese food it seems designed only to please the large tour group that was there. We had to request for our room to be cleaned after being gone for the whole day. When we asked to borrow a power adaptor plug they said all were given out to the tour group as well. Basically unless you are with a big tour group don't come here! They will treat you as second class!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virgcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me & my family had been visited almost all the hotels in Nuwara Eliya. Grand Hotel rooms were the best till we go to Glenfall Reach Hotel. The brand new hotel has huge rooms with all required facilities hot water . heaters tea / coffee making facilities satellite tv mini bar electric safe etc. The staff was very pleasant and very helpful. Food was delicious.Nuwara Eliya town just 5 minutes walk away .We will visit again this lovely hotel on our next trip to sri lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A new hotel - think it opened Nov 2012 - and not yet fully up to speed. The public areas were austere; a few pictures on the walls would make all the difference. The reception area doubles as the residents' lounge but only has insufficient seating for the size of hotel. A fire in this area would have been welcome as it was quite chilly. We were initially told that the bar was closed because the hotel had no liquor licence - we could have a glass of wine with dinner but no beer. The next evening the bar was open (with more seating) and we were able to buy anything - I had a very nice "Power" brand beer at 8.8%! It was just very confusing. The bedroom was clean if a little tight for space and fresh fruit was provided. On the downside, the wardrobe had only two hangers and was not tall enough even to take shirts. The TV was, strangely, at right angles to the bed! Food quality was varied - the first night was average; the second was really good.
The Glenfall Reach is owned by Sorawwa Hotels, an excellent hotel where we had stayed two nights previously. It should not really trade on the Sorawwa name - it bears no comparison. The hotel is located on a very rough, narrow road (even by Sri Lankan standards). It has no leisure facilities and no external public areas. It served as a base to visit Horton Plain and the tea growing areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandella3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spacegregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#23 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avian Breeze
Avian Breeze
#14 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfall Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfall Reach Hotel

Address: Glenfall Lane, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $125 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenfall Reach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glennfall Reach, a brand new sixteen room property designed with a mix of colonial and modern architecture boasting timber floors, king size beds and warm down comforters is located in the heart of Nuwara Eliya with a magnificent view of the highest peak of Sri Lanka “Pidurutalagala” and the namesake waterfall of Glennfall falling from the heights of Single tree hill, boasts of the finest temperate climate accommodation with warm cozy rooms, & warm supper served by friendly staff in a cozy basement restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenfall Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing