We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff try, but not very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oakray Summerhill Breeze
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Staff try, but not very good”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was the only hotel on my trip that I didn't like.
The telephone in my room didn't work so I had to keep going up and down the steep steps to ask for things. First a heater as it was so cold in there, then when the one they brought didn't work I had to go down again.
There was no bottled water in the room, so down and up again!
I didn't eat here after reading some of the other reviews. The hotel was booked by my tour guide, and wasn't nearly as nice as any of the others he booked. The door was very thin, and you could hear every noise outside. Luckily the hotel wasn't very full.

The worse thing though was the clammy sheets - I had to wear socks - and poor quality mattress.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    23
    23
    17
See reviews for
30
29
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Two nights ago we have been accommodated in this wonderful hotel and we were more than happy with the whole experience. The staff was very helpful and kind, the food was really tasty, the room was very clean and we were lucky to have probably the best view in Nuwara Eliya over the highest peak of Sri Lanka. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The villas are the best and the new building is also very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea_Feti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel earlier this week and it was a very unpleasant experience. The whole place needs a complete refurbishment. Our room, which was up two very steep flights of stairs, was rather damp and smelly. The whole place needed a very thorough deep clean. The service was very slow. There is hardly anywhere to sit and relax. The décor is in a very poor state of repair and extensions are being built on two sides of the building!!!. I ordered stir-fried vegetables as an evening meal and they eventually arrived coated in a gravy granules-like substance. My husband gave up on a meal when he was told that the fish he had ordered would take an hour to cook. I could go on......When my husband spoke to the manager as we left, he got no response whatsoever. I couldn't wait to get out of the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MorgantheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel was booked for us by our guide Sam Lanka tours, a really nice man and recommended. The view of the town and was good but the food was reasonable but basic aand the kitchen did not look to flash. It is a 20 30 min. Stroll to town and reasonably pleasant. The rooms were clean but the the door had to be key locked, the key had to be in the wall socket to gets light, so without a torch etc. this was a challange. Shower was good but again the door was paper thin. It could get cold there and there was cheating in the room. Bed was warm and comfortable.
These senani hotels are a little overpriced and average. This was expensive. Our Rom overlooked a house and local path. It is a nice view from the dining room.

Room Tip: Our room was in view of the dining room and next door to the toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outnabout2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErandaW w, Manager at Oakray Summerhill Breeze, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for all comments regarding summer hill breeze. We highly appreciate your valuable comments. We apologize for all difficulty which you hand and we are taking all the responsibility for that and taking serious action regarding those issues. At the moment we started all renovation and modification expanding with more facility's to improve superior services before 1st of December 2013.
This all action taken upon your feedback and we extremely sorry for the inconveniences.
On behalf of summer hill breeze Thank you very much we look forward your future comments with serious actions. We all ways learn from you and giving highest priority for your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour, we were the only group staying but other tours groups that we had seen were also taken here for lunch. We had a large room which was clean and a lovely view, however the water that came out of the taps was brown due to a problem that was supposed to have been fixed, that was the only hotel I didnt clean my teeth with tap water in two weeks, unable to have a shower as well. Food basic and double the price of other places we had eaten, I was optimistic that they had a vegetarian section in the main meals, however my main evening meal of garlic mushrooms consisted of 10 mushrooms! Breakfast I was given bacon with my omelette and none of our group were able to check out via credit Card.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in.
Our driver selected it, I think he had a back hander to take us there.
The matress was disgusting, it was filthy, and smelt awful. I refused to sleep on it, they promised to get a new one, in the end, surprise surprise, they didn't, just put a couple of sheets over it, I tossed and turned all night, and couldn't wait until it came light, so I could get up.
The food was disgusting, some awful chicken with congealed gravy on, which made us both have really upset tummy's the next day.
The staff were off hand, actually rude, we asked for a tut tut, which came after about 40 mins, he didn't understand where we wanted taking, (The Hill Club) the hotel didn't help at all although they understood where we wanted to go, and said they would phone someone!! We felt as though we were being held hostage, this place I can't call it a hotel is so far off the beaten track, can't walk into town, the whole place smelt awful.
In a nutshell, don't touch it with a barge pole!! it's awful, also it's not cheap.

Room Tip: there aren't any, don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoCheshire10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore (Canadian)
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A place that looked okay from afar but that's where the beauty stops. It is very over-priced for what you get. Find another place if you can. There is no bar fridge and it took one hour for them to bring us ice. We had to argue to get them to accept the Agoda rate and the doors on the rooms appear to be thick cardboard on a steal frame. This makes it easy to hear noise from other rooms. There is no wifi in the room and the wifi in the hotel does not work on all devices. The water in the sink and toilet was brown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmancda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
23.7 mi away
Senani Hotel
Senani Hotel
#32 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tea Bush Ramboda
Tea Bush Ramboda
#1 of 1 in Ramboda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#13 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakray Summerhill Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakray Summerhill Breeze

Property: Oakray Summerhill Breeze
Address: No 49/1 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakray Summerhill Breeze 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak-Ray Summer Hiill Breeze Hotel is situated at Nuwara Eliya, just above the race course with a beautiful view and nestled in a quiet surrounding to enjoy your stay. It takes just five minutes to drive to Nuwara Eliya city. The cool climate of Nuwara Eliya gives the view of Gregory Lake and Piduruthalagala Mountain from the restaurant and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakray Summerhill Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing