We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”
Review of Ferncliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ferncliff
Ranked #1 of 265 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a very nice stay at Ferncliff. The bungalow is a colonial gem, set in beautiful gardens. Inside is full of rustic charm, but the bathrooms were modern which was great. Dinner at Ferncliff was very good – we had Sri Lankan chicken curry with lots of different side dishes. Desert was an excellent home made ice cream with strawberries. Breakfast was only ok; bacon very fatty, eggs undercooked, mushrooms cold and toast overly crisp. Michael is a very attentive and helpful host, but given we were the only guests staying at the time, could be a little over-attentive at times.

My main complaint with the place, and why I cannot give it more than 3 out of 5, is the price. It was the most expensive guesthouse we stayed in during our 2 week trip (and more expensive than some luxury hotels) and unfortunately, it’s just not worth the money it charges. We stayed at much nicer places during our trip at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Edward,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We're glad you enjoyed Ferncliff overall,and that you had the place all to yourselves. We pride ourselves on our high standards, and while our food is simple, we always endeavour to give you the best. So thank you for your frank feedback.

Best wishes,

Hans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 252 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Beautiful place to stay, the staff was very friendly, kind and helpful, garden was really peaceful an there was great view on surrounding hills and of course the food was delicious. Best place to stay for couples-very romantic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miloš J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Milos,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. Ferncliff pays very special attention to the needs of young couples and, as you say, can be the perfect romantic getaway, especially with a perfect view of the highest point in Sri Lanka - Mount Pidurutalagala - from the Ferncliff gardens.

Please do come and stay with us again to avail of special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Formerly a planter's bungalow, the Ferncliff sits in extensive grounds, about 8-10 minutes walk from the centre of the town. The accommodation in the guest house is attractively presented, combining modern comfort with traditional features. We had a beautiful room overlooking the garden. With the temperature dipping at night we appreciated the hot water bottles in the bed. We ate in the Ferncliff both nights of our stay and can recommend the excellent curries and the home made ice cream! From the moment we arrived Michael and his team made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denzil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Denzil,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. Michael and the team work hard to ensure that every guest's stay with us is both unique and special, and the Ferncliff team will take heart from your review, and we're encouraged to continue providing the highest standard of service.

Please do come and stay with us again and avail of our special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Set in idyllic private gardens Ferncliff offers the most amazing experience. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathrooms are divine. The lawns are manicured to perfection and the level of customer service is remarkable.
The staff are so helpful without imposing. Nothing is too much.
The food is heavenly - I highly recommend the toasted cheese sandwich with olives. Don't miss out on the home made ice cream either :)
I have been in Sri Lanka for three months and can honestly say this was the best part of my stay.
Bravo!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-lou16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear D - Lou,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We agree with you that Ferncliff is a very special place. It's history, along with everything on offer makes it unique in Sri Lanka, and we're greatly encouraged by guests who appreciate all we have to offer.

Please do come and stay with us again and avail of our special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very interesting 1820's built bungalow,furnished with antique furniture and old photos. Our room was huge and the bathroom almost as big. We even had a roll top bath. The huge old feather bed made for a cosy night's sleep and two hot water bottles awaited our cold toes when we settled down for the night. Food was tasty, although we have eaten better on out tour. Michael did serve a good bottle of Merlot, though.

We felt the place was in need of a little TLC. Our bedroom carpet was badly stained and some of the furniture dusty. The temperature dropped to 7 degrees, but the fire was never lit, even though there were logs ready and waiting.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We're very pleased you enjoyed Ferncliff, and we depend on constructive feedback from our guests in order to continue improving the Ferncliff experience. Your feedback in particular helped us ensure that the the high standards set for our property is maintained right through the year.

Do come and stay with us again to avail of special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This really feels like a step into another age, but with modern comforts and really top notch hospitality. Life immediately drops a gear the moment you step over the threshold, and you can immerse yourself in the history and tune into the colonial ghosts. Michael is a marvel: attentive, polite, interesting and with a great eye for detail. And the kitchen turns out delicious, light, fresh Sri Lankan food. The lawn is something of a miracle, and in the morning or evening light a perfectly smooth sheet of glowing green - made for croquet, and surrounded by manicured borders. The location, so close to the centre of this thriving and unspoilt hill station - like town is perfect. The golf course, Victoria Gardens and the bustle of the markets beckon. You might be able to get the bits and pieces on offer individually for less, but Ferncliff must be unique, if for no other reason than nowhere else has Michael.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Amelia'. Seemed perfect. Spacious, light, with a view of the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timatfoxdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ferncliff is steeped in history and charm, and we are indeed privileged to manage the property. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a lovely stay here. The staff were so genuinely kind and made our stay a complete joy. The room was modern and very comfortable and the bathroom like new with a great shower. The food was fresh and very tasty. Would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for the review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to your return to Ferncliff in the near future, and do let us know if you are a returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.6 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
331 reviews
7.5 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferncliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferncliff

Address: 7/10 Wedderburn Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $153 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ferncliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferncliff perched on one of the highest points of Nuwara Eliya commands a view like no other of 'Little England'. This includes being set against the magnificent backdrop of Mount Pedro (Pidurutalagala), which at 2524 m (8,281 ft) is Sri Lanka's highest point. Just ten minutes walk from the Grand Hotel and the Golf Club, Ferncliff is uniquely placed to be the centre of your Nuwara Eliya universe which includes Horton Plains National Park, Tea Plantations and other locations of interest in the hill country. Deeds for the Ferncliff lands predate the founding of the first Nuwara Eliya settlement by Great White Hunter and Explorer, Sir Samuel Baker in 1846. The bungalow, now a heritage site, had its beginnings in the 1850s and the ghosts of Samuel Baker and his ilk still walk our expansive lawns hunting elephants, deer and wild boar to near extinction in the lush Nuwara Eliya valley. Today, with restorations that have retained its rustic charm, Ferncliff offers comforts that few bungalows in town can aspire to, and our team led by our chef with over 30 years of experience in the hotel trade, will ensure that your time with us will be comfortable and relaxed. Rest assured that although Ferncliff is centrally located, once inside her gates the hustle and bustle of the town is forgotten. Enjoy a game of croquet, a round of boules, or just wander around our extensive grounds which include a young rose garden and very soon, orange and pear orchards. Look no further for what promises to be a truly authentic Nuwara Eliya experience. Kindly note that, accommodation for drivers and guides are not available in the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Ferncliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing