We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character and atmosphere, great host and location”
Review of Ferncliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferncliff
Ranked #1 of 233 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of character and atmosphere, great host and location”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This really feels like a step into another age, but with modern comforts and really top notch hospitality. Life immediately drops a gear the moment you step over the threshold, and you can immerse yourself in the history and tune into the colonial ghosts. Michael is a marvel: attentive, polite, interesting and with a great eye for detail. And the kitchen turns out delicious, light, fresh Sri Lankan food. The lawn is something of a miracle, and in the morning or evening light a perfectly smooth sheet of glowing green - made for croquet, and surrounded by manicured borders. The location, so close to the centre of this thriving and unspoilt hill station - like town is perfect. The golf course, Victoria Gardens and the bustle of the markets beckon. You might be able to get the bits and pieces on offer individually for less, but Ferncliff must be unique, if for no other reason than nowhere else has Michael.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Amelia'. Seemed perfect. Spacious, light, with a view of the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timatfoxdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ferncliff is steeped in history and charm, and we are indeed privileged to manage the property. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    45
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
137
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a lovely stay here. The staff were so genuinely kind and made our stay a complete joy. The room was modern and very comfortable and the bathroom like new with a great shower. The food was fresh and very tasty. Would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to your return to Ferncliff in the near future, and do let us know if you are a returning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We really liked Ferncliff. The service, food and the garden were all absolutely great. But having stayed in a range of places during our trip, we now know you don't need to spend anything like this amount of money to stay somewhere brilliant. So, if you have plenty of money this place is highly recommended, but otherwise it isn't necessary to spend this much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana_Romanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad your enjoyed your stay at Ferncliff. Being one of the most iconic properties in Nuwara Eliya, it is priced a touch above some of the smaller B&Bs' in the area, but the facilities, service and location combined with the history and charm of the place, do provide a unique and wholly satisfactory experience. We do hope you will visit us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

As others have already mentioned, the gentle ambiance of this heritage property is greatly enhanced by Mr. Michael, the delightful gentleman who served us tea and cake on arrival, dinner that evening, and breakfast the next morning. He is a treasure! Such charm and grace. We also loved the unexpected modern amenities in the old colonial building (flat screen TV, rain shower, very comfortable bed, pillows, and linens), but were particularly charmed with the hot water bottles we were given at bedtime. The food was delicious, and all in all, we loved our stay and highly recommend this place (and Mr. Michael!) to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yallanicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
"Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ferncliff with Michael and his team. We hope to see you back soon."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Thank you Mr. Micheal and the wonderful staff for making our stay home away from home in a truly enchanting setting. The breakfast and the lunch packet deserves a mention as well. Ferncliff was a highlight of our round trip in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranavito R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Pranavito,

Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Michael and the team work extremely diligently to ensure that you are well looked after. Ferncliff is often a welcome refuge, especially for our guests who have whirlwind round trips in Sri Lanka. Please do come and stay with us again, and avail of our special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely 2 night stay at the Ferncliff in November 2013. Upon arrival we were served tea and cake and shown to one of four rooms in the hotel, all spacious, clean and full of the old colonial style. We even got given hot water bottles when going to bed as it can quite cold in the nights when you are over 2,000 meters high! The beds were also very comfortable so a good nights sleep is not a problem. The staff were an asset to the hotel as nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they were always eager to please. The manager, Michael, helped us organise a brilliant trip to World's End on one of the mornings and was a pleasure to chat to during our stay. We would recommend this place to anyone and, although it obviously is quite expensive, we think it is worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWAP_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you had such a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. Michael and his team work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy every moment with us, and that includes special attention to your needs, such as a visit/trek to World's End. We do hope you come back and stay with us soon and avail of the special offers we have for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Decided on a girlie weekend with a friend so we decided to head for the hills and Nuwara Eliya in particular( it was 14yrs later for me). We arrived in the afternoon to a welcome coffee and the most gooeylicious hot brownie from Michael and the team. The place itself makes you fall in love with it completely. The deco very suited to the period in which the house was built (late 1800's) with a rustic and cozy feel about it. We stayed in Geraldine, which had a modern toilet and a mirror that every woman will love (makes you look skinnier). We had endless tea's and coffees and the staff were always on hand to cater to our every whim but not in our faces. Dinner was Grilled Chicken with Veggies which was nice enough. I didnt want desert after the brownie but my friend had the ice cream with Strawberries which she said was yummy and so i tried a teaspoon. That is definitely a desert that gives you nostalgic memories and will probably draw you back just for another taste. I hate the cold so for me the place was a bit too cold and the fire didn't seem to be enough, though the water bottle in the night was just perfect. There is a skylight in the room that is open, most people wont like being woken up by it but i love skylights and waking up to being kissed by the sun. Breakfast was english and sumptuous.You definitely dont need another meal for the rest of the day after that. We left around 12pm and i felt so homesick for the place the minute we drove out of the gate. Michael and his team were so obliging and made us feel so special. This is definitely a place you want to keep coming back to. Thank you Ferncliff Team for everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Ranjini,

Thank you so much for your review. We're constantly looking at ways to improve the Ferncliff experience, and we're very pleased with your detailed response. Ferncliff, as you know is an old colonial building, and we do our best to ensure that guests stay as warm and toasty as possible. Our home made food similarly aims to please, and is made from fresh local ingredients, including herbs from our very own garden. So thank you for appreciating our efforts, especially the aplomb with which Michael leads the team at Ferncliff. Do come back and stay with us again, to avail of our special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,
Hans Billimoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferncliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferncliff

Property: Ferncliff
Address: 7/10 Wedderburn Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferncliff perched on one of the highest points of Nuwara Eliya commands a view like no other of 'Little England'. This includes being set against the magnificent backdrop of Mount Pedro (Pidurutalagala), which at 2524 m (8,281 ft) is Sri Lanka's highest point. Just ten minutes walk from the Grand Hotel and the Golf Club, Ferncliff is uniquely placed to be the centre of your Nuwara Eliya universe which includes Horton Plains National Park, Tea Plantations and other locations of interest in the hill country. Deeds for the Ferncliff lands predate the founding of the first Nuwara Eliya settlement by Great White Hunter and Explorer, Sir Samuel Baker in 1846. The bungalow, now a heritage site, had its beginnings in the 1850s and the ghosts of Samuel Baker and his ilk still walk our expansive lawns hunting elephants, deer and wild boar to near extinction in the lush Nuwara Eliya valley. Today, with restorations that have retained its rustic charm, Ferncliff offers comforts that few bungalows in town can aspire to, and our team led by our chef with over 30 years of experience in the hotel trade, will ensure that your time with us will be comfortable and relaxed. Rest assured that although Ferncliff is centrally located, once inside her gates the hustle and bustle of the town is forgotten. Enjoy a game of croquet, a round of boules, or just wander around our extensive grounds which include a young rose garden and very soon, orange and pear orchards. Look no further for what promises to be a truly authentic Nuwara Eliya experience. Kindly note that, accommodation for drivers and guides are not available in the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferncliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing