We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferncliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferncliff
Ranked #1 of 216 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Thank you Mr. Micheal and the wonderful staff for making our stay home away from home in a truly enchanting setting. The breakfast and the lunch packet deserves a mention as well. Ferncliff was a highlight of our round trip in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranavito R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Pranavito,

Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Michael and the team work extremely diligently to ensure that you are well looked after. Ferncliff is often a welcome refuge, especially for our guests who have whirlwind round trips in Sri Lanka. Please do come and stay with us again, and avail of our special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    43
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely 2 night stay at the Ferncliff in November 2013. Upon arrival we were served tea and cake and shown to one of four rooms in the hotel, all spacious, clean and full of the old colonial style. We even got given hot water bottles when going to bed as it can quite cold in the nights when you are over 2,000 meters high! The beds were also very comfortable so a good nights sleep is not a problem. The staff were an asset to the hotel as nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they were always eager to please. The manager, Michael, helped us organise a brilliant trip to World's End on one of the mornings and was a pleasure to chat to during our stay. We would recommend this place to anyone and, although it obviously is quite expensive, we think it is worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HWAP_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you had such a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. Michael and his team work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy every moment with us, and that includes special attention to your needs, such as a visit/trek to World's End. We do hope you come back and stay with us soon and avail of the special offers we have for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Decided on a girlie weekend with a friend so we decided to head for the hills and Nuwara Eliya in particular( it was 14yrs later for me). We arrived in the afternoon to a welcome coffee and the most gooeylicious hot brownie from Michael and the team. The place itself makes you fall in love with it completely. The deco very suited to the period in which the house was built (late 1800's) with a rustic and cozy feel about it. We stayed in Geraldine, which had a modern toilet and a mirror that every woman will love (makes you look skinnier). We had endless tea's and coffees and the staff were always on hand to cater to our every whim but not in our faces. Dinner was Grilled Chicken with Veggies which was nice enough. I didnt want desert after the brownie but my friend had the ice cream with Strawberries which she said was yummy and so i tried a teaspoon. That is definitely a desert that gives you nostalgic memories and will probably draw you back just for another taste. I hate the cold so for me the place was a bit too cold and the fire didn't seem to be enough, though the water bottle in the night was just perfect. There is a skylight in the room that is open, most people wont like being woken up by it but i love skylights and waking up to being kissed by the sun. Breakfast was english and sumptuous.You definitely dont need another meal for the rest of the day after that. We left around 12pm and i felt so homesick for the place the minute we drove out of the gate. Michael and his team were so obliging and made us feel so special. This is definitely a place you want to keep coming back to. Thank you Ferncliff Team for everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Ranjini,

Thank you so much for your review. We're constantly looking at ways to improve the Ferncliff experience, and we're very pleased with your detailed response. Ferncliff, as you know is an old colonial building, and we do our best to ensure that guests stay as warm and toasty as possible. Our home made food similarly aims to please, and is made from fresh local ingredients, including herbs from our very own garden. So thank you for appreciating our efforts, especially the aplomb with which Michael leads the team at Ferncliff. Do come back and stay with us again, to avail of our special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,
Hans Billimoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

A Bungalow with a superb ambiance.
Has a wonderful staff headed by Michael, who is attentive from the time you step in, until one leaves.
Comfortable rooms, modern bathrooms, cozy living areas and a wonderful fireplace completed our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mihiri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for recognizing the wonderful team we have in place at Ferncliff, under the leadership of Michael. We hope you enjoyed all we had on offer, including Theresa's scrumptious cooking. Time spent in front of that fireplace is always special, and please do come back and stay with us again. Returning guests can avail of our special offers.

Best wishes,
Hans Billimoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights with 3 couples in this lovely retreat. Arrived on a cold wet afternoon....Michael served hot tea and biscuits: felt right there at home. Ambience and helpful hands made our 2 night stay a wonderful old world experience.
Michael and staff are very polite. Thanks again for the hospitality!
Best accommodation during our 3 weeks on the island. Will tell everybody about this hidden gem!

Silvia & Günter

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Silvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sylvia and Gunter,

Thank you for your review. We're extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Michael and the team work hard to ensure that our guests are well look after and pampered, especially on cold blustery days up in the hills. Please do tell other discerning travelers about us, and also come back and stay with us to avail of special offers for our returning guests.

With best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel itself is a little removed from the main town (not necessarily a bad thing) and is held behind a secured gate in a secluded garden with lovely views.
Staff are very friendly and attentive, couldn't really ask for more. Our room (Geraldine) was large with a very modern bathroom - everything was clean and worked well. Hot water bottles and heaters were provided for the cool nights.
We didn't have dinner there (went to the Grand which has one of the best buffets we've tried) but our English breakfast was absolutely great and very unexpected.
Overall very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wijjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Wijjy,

Thank you for your review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ferncliff. We strive to ensure that all our guests enjoy the facilities we have on offer, including our twists on classic favourites such as our English breakfast. Please do come and stay with us again and avail of the deals we have on offer for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We started our Sri Lanka trip with night in Colombo and then straight to the Ferncliff to begin our travels, and boy did Ferncliff set the bar high! It meets all your rational needs (its close the the centre of Nuwara Eliya, clean etc etc), but what really wowed us - firstly, such a warm welcome from Michael and the team (you made our stay truly wonderful), cake and tea, we then got shown our impressive room off the main living room (which was a little cold, but Michael and the team sorted us out with tea and hot water bottles to make us more comfortable). The grounds are stunning, the decor is quintessentially colonial (which makes for a more authentic setting), and possibly the best Sri lankan curry ive had! We had to leave really early in the morning, and Michael and the team were up to see us off - i think this goes to show how much the staff really do look after you!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ash,

Thank you for your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the Ferncliff experience so much, and that Michael and the team continue to ensure that our guests are well taken care of, and pampered. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the food, Michael's wife, Theresa, is a wonderful cook, and she loves it when our guests enjoy her authentic Sri Lankan cuisine. As you may have noted, Ferncliff has a lot of history associated with it, and the colonial heritage you feel up at Ferncliff is real. Please do come and stay with us again, and avail of our special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Ferncliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferncliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferncliff

Property: Ferncliff
Address: 7/10 Wedderburn Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferncliff perched on one of the highest points of Nuwara Eliya commands a view like no other of 'Little England'. This includes being set against the magnificent backdrop of Mount Pedro (Pidurutalagala), which at 2524 m (8,281 ft) is Sri Lanka's highest point. Just ten minutes walk from the Grand Hotel and the Golf Club, Ferncliff is uniquely placed to be the centre of your Nuwara Eliya universe which includes Horton Plains National Park, Tea Plantations and other locations of interest in the hill country. Deeds for the Ferncliff lands predate the founding of the first Nuwara Eliya settlement by Great White Hunter and Explorer, Sir Samuel Baker in 1846. The bungalow, now a heritage site, had its beginnings in the 1850s and the ghosts of Samuel Baker and his ilk still walk our expansive lawns hunting elephants, deer and wild boar to near extinction in the lush Nuwara Eliya valley. Today, with restorations that have retained its rustic charm, Ferncliff offers comforts that few bungalows in town can aspire to, and our team led by our chef with over 30 years of experience in the hotel trade, will ensure that your time with us will be comfortable and relaxed. Rest assured that although Ferncliff is centrally located, once inside her gates the hustle and bustle of the town is forgotten. Enjoy a game of croquet, a round of boules, or just wander around our extensive grounds which include a young rose garden and very soon, orange and pear orchards. Look no further for what promises to be a truly authentic Nuwara Eliya experience. Kindly note that, accommodation for drivers and guides are not available in the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ferncliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing