We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of paradise !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferncliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferncliff
Ranked #1 of 216 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ferncliff during our recent trip to SL, it took us close to a 6 hour drive to get there from Colombo, but boy was it worth it !!!, Nuwaraeliya by itself is one of those rare hill towns in south asia that still remain failry pristene n unexploited by ramphent commercialisation.
Ferncliff is right in the middle of this little town but still ends up feeling like natures little private pocket.
The bunglow is feels like it is from a differnt world, it def has been around for a long time but it is very well maintained n has every aminity a modern day traveller would look for. The rooms are large n spacious, t, Almost every room has its own fire place. The gardens around the property are brilliant.
Overall it is a fantstic location, great property, excellent hospitality, the food is not exceptional but its certainly not bad. Ferncliff can be the ideal get away for everyone, be it family, friends or couples. Certainly worth your time n money.

Room Tip: They have just 4 rooms and each one of them is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vishnu charan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Vishnu,

Thank you for your review. We're very pleased that your visit to Nuwara Eliya, despite the long drive, was memorable. Ferncliff, although situated in the heart of Nuwara Eliya town, is set up to be a retreat from the hustle and bustle, and we're glad you enjoyed what we had to offer. The team works hard to ensure that our guests are well cared for and pampered, and as always I have shared the review with the team, so that they know how important it is to maintain our standards, and also improve on certain areas. Once again, thank you for staying with us, and for your recommendation.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    43
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ferncliff is a beautiful holiday bungalow. Spacious rooms and lovely decor makes it a great place to stay. Very close to Nuwara Eliya town, makes this beautiful bungalow a convenient and homely place The only draw back was the rice and curry. There was only rice, chicken and a salad, which was quite disappointing. However, the breakfast more than made up for that. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daiya100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, and we're pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. Ferncliffs location, as you rightly pointed out, makes it perfectas the centre of your Nuwara Eliya universe. We're sorry however that the rice and curry you requested was disappointing, as our Sri Lankan food is generally of a very high standard. Perhaps there had been some form of miscommunication as I was informed that only a green salad with croutons, rice and chicken was expressly requested, without the usual accompaniments that make up a delicious rice and curry. Still, we're glad that the large English breakfast we have on offer made up for that. Do come stay with us again for what we can ensure will be an even better experience.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The bungalow is very nice with spacious rooms. The home made curry and vegetables were very delicious, in fact one of the bests i have ever had. The staff are very friendly and always ready to help.There were some books and board games that you can play. In fact due to heavy rainfall we couldnt go out so we played one of the games with the kids and had a great time.

Due to heavy rainfall, the towels were damp and there were some electricity issues. The heater was not working (no electricity i some part of the house) but we were provided with some hot water bottles to put under our blankets and it did keep us warm during the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0mad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us during very difficult weather conditions. Due to the heavy rains and wind, trees were falling (including on our property) and this led to the power outages and generally erratic flow of electricity in Nuwara Eliya, for which we apologize. Yet, as you mention, our team worked very hard during this period to ensure that you were well looked after and kept as warm as possible. We encourage you to come back when the weather improves so that you and the children can enjoy Ferncliff, its grounds, and also Nuwara Eliya.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

After arriving at Ferncliff I was greeted by staff happily to free me of my bags and take them to my room. walking into the main living area I was welcomed by a homely sense of comfort and the offer of a hot beverage. Nothing beats relaxing in front of a roaring log fire, which was kept burning until guests headed away to their rooms for the night and greeted. the staff were excellent and did their best to ensure your stay was pleasant and fully catered for to a very high standard. my room was gorgeous and spacious with a good sized clean modern bathroom . my bed was very comfy and the hot water bottle that was placed at the bottom was a lovely touch. The food was also very nicely presented and delicious. enjoyed whilst looking out over beautifully maintained gardens

I would highly recommend staying here. great experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silkywilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Stevie,

It was great having you with us at Ferncliff last week. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and you brought with you sunny weather, which we hope will prevail, as its been a cold and windy summer for us, the worst in a decade. Our team at Ferncliff, led by Ally, our chef, always work hard to ensure that you are well looked after and pampered and we hope you do return again soon.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
280 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed for one night at the Ferncliff Boutique Bungalows.
The property is set in a large garden area which is extremely well kept.
I was met with a very warm welcome and shown to my good sized room. It was really cool in Nuwara Eliya and although the roo. had a fan heater it was freezing.
I went to have a shower and found that all the towels were wet.
I asked one of the staff if I could get dry towels and he told me that it had rained and all the towels were wet. Well that was a first for me, lol.
I had dinner in the evening at the Ferncliff which was delicious but a little bit too spicy. The desert of strawberries and ice-cream was lovely.
I don't think the Ferncliff had a licence as they only served beer. Luckily I had bought my own.
I relaxed with the other guests in front of the wood fire. Nice touch.
I slept like a log as it was really quiet. Exactly what eas looking for.
In the morning I had a very substantial cooked breakfast.
I would suggest that you visit when the weather is warm and dry, lol

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cygnetboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us during what has been the worst weather we've had in over a decade. I checked up on your complaint with regards to damp towels at Ferncliff, as there is no excuse for that, despite the storm. In fact, the staff has been given strict instructions to ensure that all towels are ironed after they come out of the dryer due to extremely damp conditions in Nuwara Eliya. They inform me, that this is what they did for you when you pointed out that the towels still appeared damp. We're glad you enjoyed the food and our fire, and that our beds were nice and comfortable for you. Thank you for bearing with us during our miserable weather, and we hope you return to Ferncliff for a round of croquet when its sunnier in Nuwara Eliya.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Ferncliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I did have very high hopes for the Ferncliff, having read positive reviews, and heard much about the very competent manager Hans. However my hopes began to fade early on when the staff stared vacantly whilst I struggled to unload my bags in the pouring rain. I was also somewhat concerned that the staff were all dressed in thick coats and ear muffs, inside the house! Hans was nowhere to be seen, there instead was the house manager 'Ali'. In fact the staff seemed somewhat surprised at the actual arrival of some guests. The decor in the hotel is actually quite nice, with an element of rustic charm, however the whole place was freezing cold and very damp. The bathrooms are probably the best aspect of the hotel. However the water pressure was very low, and hot water very limited. The weather at the time was very poor admittedly. However even before the partial power cut we experienced, the antique heaters did little to warm our room, I suspect they may not have worked since the early 80's when they were new! There are many real fire places in the building but were advised only the one in the lounge could be lit. Due to the bad weather, we decided to eat in the house as Ali recommended. The food was not bad actually, but just insufficient for 4 people. We were also advised there were no soft drinks, beer or wine available, due to it being a public holiday and the shop being closed. Surely a 'boutique' hotel would think to preplan for such holidays. The staff were very pleasant, they just appeared to lack any experience or knowledge required to run a quality hotel. All of the staff had vanished by 10 pm when I went to enquire about more wood for the fire. With this I opted for bed, as it was the only place that might be remotely warm. To round it all off I then discovered that the bedrooms have huge uncovered skylights, which from dawn flood the room with daylight. if you prefer your hotels with hot water, an ambient temperature above 8 degrees and a room where u can actually sleep past 5 am, then this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Andy,

Your frank review has given us much to think about in terms of our normally high service standards at Ferncliff. Rest assured we've taken your review extremely seriously and will not spare effort or cost in rectifying matters.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Ferncliff Boutique Bungalow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ferncliff has the most comfortable beds and the staff placing a nice hotwater bottle at the foot of the beds before bedtime is very much appreciated. Being so high, Nuwara Elyia gets very cold and guests MUST take warm clothing. The place has a lovely fireplace which is most welcoming to guests arriving late in the afternoons. The staff had great trouble lighting the fire during our visit and then once the fire was lit, they kept leving the front door wide open each time they went out for any reason - sensless really.

The property has been tastefully refurbished with a sucessfull blend of old and new.
Gardens are spacious with wide sweeping lawns.
The breakfast was nicely done and tasty however during our visit the chef was on leave. Due to the cold weather we opted to eat dinner in which was a mistake. There are some good restaurtnast in neighbouring hotels with good food reviews which would be a better idea until the chef returns.

Unfortuantely this property does not offer driver accomodation or meals creating a difficulty for guests.

This is really a bed and breakfast property which is pleasant and comfortable but overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Gavin & Jenny,

Thank you for your feedback. We've taken it on board and will sharpen our standards of service accordingly. I am indeed sorry about any shortcomings with the dinner.

We hope that the next time you're in Sri Lanka you will come and stay with us again and enjoy an improved experience.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Ferncliff Boutique Bungalow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferncliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferncliff

Property: Ferncliff
Address: 7/10 Wedderburn Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferncliff perched on one of the highest points of Nuwara Eliya commands a view like no other of 'Little England'. This includes being set against the magnificent backdrop of Mount Pedro (Pidurutalagala), which at 2524 m (8,281 ft) is Sri Lanka's highest point. Just ten minutes walk from the Grand Hotel and the Golf Club, Ferncliff is uniquely placed to be the centre of your Nuwara Eliya universe which includes Horton Plains National Park, Tea Plantations and other locations of interest in the hill country. Deeds for the Ferncliff lands predate the founding of the first Nuwara Eliya settlement by Great White Hunter and Explorer, Sir Samuel Baker in 1846. The bungalow, now a heritage site, had its beginnings in the 1850s and the ghosts of Samuel Baker and his ilk still walk our expansive lawns hunting elephants, deer and wild boar to near extinction in the lush Nuwara Eliya valley. Today, with restorations that have retained its rustic charm, Ferncliff offers comforts that few bungalows in town can aspire to, and our team led by our chef with over 30 years of experience in the hotel trade, will ensure that your time with us will be comfortable and relaxed. Rest assured that although Ferncliff is centrally located, once inside her gates the hustle and bustle of the town is forgotten. Enjoy a game of croquet, a round of boules, or just wander around our extensive grounds which include a young rose garden and very soon, orange and pear orchards. Look no further for what promises to be a truly authentic Nuwara Eliya experience. Kindly note that, accommodation for drivers and guides are not available in the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ferncliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing