We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To expensive and not worthed”
Review of Ferncliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferncliff
Ranked #1 of 243 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MontrealCanada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“To expensive and not worthed”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is a very old country house but not well kept. We had a door in the bathroom it was so old that you could see outside and all the paint was peeled of they cover the door with a long curtain. We like old heritage house but when it is well renovated .The dinning room and breakfast room would need a good renovation the floor are all crooked so they put a beige carpet to cover this up.

In the bathroomt there are no wall plug no mirror in the room. They give us 2 bottles of water on the arrival day only When we want to pay with credit card for our dinner they do not accept paiement by credit card and be aware they offer you dessert after your dinner whithout telling you it is not included it is not a big deal but it would of been nice to know about it. For all these reasons we were very disapointed. We spent $172 USD a night and would expect much more

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MmeRobillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. As it is an old house, the renovations are pretty constant, and the door to the bathroom was on our list to do, thank you for pointing it out though. With regards to the floor in the dining area, the carpet has been laid on original floor boards that can be a little uneven and creak occasionally, but the owners do feel this ads to the charm of the place, but based on your comments, we will review this too. We would like to apologize for the fact that you were charged for desert. We had a substitute chef in place during your stay and this led to this mistake which has now been rectified. We also have plans to make credit card payments available at Ferncliff, but this will take a little more time. In terms of the bottles of water, all guests are given new bottles every night as a practice, and once again we apologize for this oversight during your stay. Overall we really appreciate your candid comments as they will help improve our service and we invite you to return to Ferncliff the next time you're in Sri Lanka for a vastly improved experience.
Cheers,
Hans Billimoria
General Manager
Ferncliff Boutique Bungalow & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    45
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
139
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Ferncliff was an experience of relaxation, rejuvenation and bliss in the cool and pleasant climes of Nuwaraeliya. A beautiful, large English country house from the colonial era, retaining its old fashioned charm yet packed with contemporary luxury and modern facilities.

Having been a serial Nuwaraeliya traveler, I have stayed at many hotels including the Grand Hotel, but Fearncliff gave us an experience unmatched by any other venue, and even the good old Grand gets beaten hands down.

Its hard to believe a place like this exists in Nuwaraeliya and we were wandering why we haven't heard of this place before.

The Luxury and comfort was accompanied with attentive friendly service by the staff led by Chef Desmond, who we found out is of colonial Dutch descent.

The food was excellent, with a choice of Sri Lankan/ Western menus. The rice and curry we ordered for lunch was amazing.

Apart from the beautiful and cosy interior, the place is surrounded by a large lawn and a woody area. The back garden near the spa provides you a clear view of Mount Pidurutalagala, the highest point in Sri Lanka.

Massive wide screen TVs, Wifi etc keeps you updated with life back on earth, if you really need it!

My wife and I fell in love with the place from the moment we "checked in".

We will definitely stay at Ferncliff again. And again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielceylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After an exhausting few days travelling it was wonderful to arrive at Ferncliff and be greeted so warmly. The staff, especially Desmond the manager/chef, made us feel like old friends and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was charming, and the added touch of a hot water bottle to warm the feet at night was wonderful. The food was absolutely terrific too and breakfast on the immaculate lawn a real treat. Don't miss this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The room to the left of the entrance hall was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jwctravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was a pleasure to return to Ferncliff last weekend for a break from the busy life of Colombo. Driving in to the sanctuary that is Ferncliff, away from the hustle and bustle of the town immediately brought on a sense of calm and anticipation. Fresh Cups of Tea on the immaculate lawn as a welcome drink was always perfect with the sun keeping nice and warm. There is a new chef in place called Desmond, a charming host who looked after our every need, and what an excellent cook. His Breakfasts were fantastic, as was his traditional rice and curry. Desmond also made for us a beautifully roasted chicken for dinner that really hit the spot! I must also mention the fresh juice we got after a game of croquet on the lawn. It was yummy! I look forward to my next trip there. It can't come soon enough.

Room Tip: The Room with the Card Table is excellent for those who want a game of poker. Poker set included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GForcePune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A step back in time to a colonial era. Lovely old tea plantation owners bungalow with fabulous gardens. Great staff who attend to all your needs. Breakfast on the lawns and dinner to order. Short walk to the town centre to see all the colonial building of time past.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

To start with the positives: Ferncliff is tucked away at the end of a quiet road overlooking the town. It is a 10 minute walk from the centre of town, but removed from the bustle. Our room was large and nicely furnished, with comfortable beds, satellite television and a beautiful bahroom. The team (of whom more later) prepared excellent meals which were very good value. They were very attentive and tried hard to make our stay comfortable.

Maybe too hard. The layout of the bungalow is strange. Our room was off the main dining room, which meant that we were able to hear tables being set and meals being eaten. While this was not an issue for dinner, early breakfast service was rather more trying. Most times when we ventured outside of the room, there was a kindhearted, grinning member of staff in the dining room or nearby hallway. Overall, we had a limited sense of privacy in our room.

Furthermore, having arrived without a driver, we were hoping that the staff might be ale to organise excursions for us, or at least find a local driver willing to take us around for a day. They were not able to arrange this, perhaps because many of the staff were new to the area.

Also, the advertised spa was not operational.

Overall, we had a largely pleasant stay, but would have expected more for the price that we were being asked to pay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonkantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A striking bungalow, with old charm! loved the fire place and hot bath... My boyfriend and I really need a good rest after working hard. and this was the place for it, Wilson and the team accommodated our every need and the food was amazing!

On the 3 day of our stay there, my boyfriend and I decided to go for a mountain trek just bush bashing through the forest. Long story short it got dark and we lost our way in the forest, We called our driver and he sent one the staff from Ferncliff a long with another nice man, to rescue us. after 6 hours of trying to find our way out be got back to the bungalow at 11 pm. Wilson arranged some hot tea and food for us, and made sure the hot water bottles were in our bed!

Truly amazing hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tasha123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.6 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
653 reviews
7.5 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferncliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferncliff

Property: Ferncliff
Address: 7/10 Wedderburn Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferncliff perched on one of the highest points of Nuwara Eliya commands a view like no other of 'Little England'. This includes being set against the magnificent backdrop of Mount Pedro (Pidurutalagala), which at 2524 m (8,281 ft) is Sri Lanka's highest point. Just ten minutes walk from the Grand Hotel and the Golf Club, Ferncliff is uniquely placed to be the centre of your Nuwara Eliya universe which includes Horton Plains National Park, Tea Plantations and other locations of interest in the hill country. Deeds for the Ferncliff lands predate the founding of the first Nuwara Eliya settlement by Great White Hunter and Explorer, Sir Samuel Baker in 1846. The bungalow, now a heritage site, had its beginnings in the 1850s and the ghosts of Samuel Baker and his ilk still walk our expansive lawns hunting elephants, deer and wild boar to near extinction in the lush Nuwara Eliya valley. Today, with restorations that have retained its rustic charm, Ferncliff offers comforts that few bungalows in town can aspire to, and our team led by our chef with over 30 years of experience in the hotel trade, will ensure that your time with us will be comfortable and relaxed. Rest assured that although Ferncliff is centrally located, once inside her gates the hustle and bustle of the town is forgotten. Enjoy a game of croquet, a round of boules, or just wander around our extensive grounds which include a young rose garden and very soon, orange and pear orchards. Look no further for what promises to be a truly authentic Nuwara Eliya experience. Kindly note that, accommodation for drivers and guides are not available in the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ferncliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing