We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ferncliff
Nearby Hotels
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
$241
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$3,043
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$178
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$57
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$50
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
191
51
19
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
51
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water bottleschef dineshplaying croquetcolonial residencebread and butter puddingtea and cakesri lankashort walk to the town centremodern bathroombeautiful gardenworld's enddelicious dinneron arrivalpacked breakfastwelcome drinkhorton plainsstep back in time
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 270 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Ferncliff was an experience of relaxation, rejuvenation and bliss in the cool and pleasant climes of Nuwaraeliya. A beautiful, large English country house from the colonial era, retaining its old fashioned charm yet packed with contemporary luxury and modern facilities.

Having been a serial Nuwaraeliya traveler, I have stayed at many hotels including the Grand Hotel, but Fearncliff gave us an experience unmatched by any other venue, and even the good old Grand gets beaten hands down.

Its hard to believe a place like this exists in Nuwaraeliya and we were wandering why we haven't heard of this place before.

The Luxury and comfort was accompanied with attentive friendly service by the staff led by Chef Desmond, who we found out is of colonial Dutch descent.

The food was excellent, with a choice of Sri Lankan/ Western menus. The rice and curry we ordered for lunch was amazing.

Apart from the beautiful and cosy interior, the place is surrounded by a large lawn and a woody area. The back garden near the spa provides you a clear view of Mount Pidurutalagala, the highest point in Sri Lanka.

Massive wide screen TVs, Wifi etc keeps you updated with life back on earth, if you really need it!

My wife and I fell in love with the place from the moment we "checked in".

We will definitely stay at Ferncliff again. And again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danielceylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After an exhausting few days travelling it was wonderful to arrive at Ferncliff and be greeted so warmly. The staff, especially Desmond the manager/chef, made us feel like old friends and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was charming, and the added touch of a hot water bottle to warm the feet at night was wonderful. The food was absolutely terrific too and breakfast on the immaculate lawn a real treat. Don't miss this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The room to the left of the entrance hall was terrific.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jwctravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was a pleasure to return to Ferncliff last weekend for a break from the busy life of Colombo. Driving in to the sanctuary that is Ferncliff, away from the hustle and bustle of the town immediately brought on a sense of calm and anticipation. Fresh Cups of Tea on the immaculate lawn as a welcome drink was always perfect with the sun keeping nice and warm. There is a new chef in place called Desmond, a charming host who looked after our every need, and what an excellent cook. His Breakfasts were fantastic, as was his traditional rice and curry. Desmond also made for us a beautifully roasted chicken for dinner that really hit the spot! I must also mention the fresh juice we got after a game of croquet on the lawn. It was yummy! I look forward to my next trip there. It can't come soon enough.

Room Tip: The Room with the Card Table is excellent for those who want a game of poker. Poker set included!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GForcePune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A step back in time to a colonial era. Lovely old tea plantation owners bungalow with fabulous gardens. Great staff who attend to all your needs. Breakfast on the lawns and dinner to order. Short walk to the town centre to see all the colonial building of time past.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

To start with the positives: Ferncliff is tucked away at the end of a quiet road overlooking the town. It is a 10 minute walk from the centre of town, but removed from the bustle. Our room was large and nicely furnished, with comfortable beds, satellite television and a beautiful bahroom. The team (of whom more later) prepared excellent meals which were very good value. They were very attentive and tried hard to make our stay comfortable.

Maybe too hard. The layout of the bungalow is strange. Our room was off the main dining room, which meant that we were able to hear tables being set and meals being eaten. While this was not an issue for dinner, early breakfast service was rather more trying. Most times when we ventured outside of the room, there was a kindhearted, grinning member of staff in the dining room or nearby hallway. Overall, we had a limited sense of privacy in our room.

Furthermore, having arrived without a driver, we were hoping that the staff might be ale to organise excursions for us, or at least find a local driver willing to take us around for a day. They were not able to arrange this, perhaps because many of the staff were new to the area.

Also, the advertised spa was not operational.

Overall, we had a largely pleasant stay, but would have expected more for the price that we were being asked to pay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonkantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews