We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. It is listed as 3star not true it is barely a 1star. The food offered was terrible and the staff very badly trained and surly. It was not a happy experience. Please take care if you are touring in Sri Lanka and get offered this hotel by your tour company.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncan_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed one night at the hotel, but it was absolutely perfect. The hotel, the rooms, and all areas makes you think that your are staying in a Swiss hotel somewhere in the Alps. Everything looks new, and spotlessly clean. The entire atmosphere is great. See it yourself on the photos. Breathtaking view from the balcony. As for dinner the food was very delicious. Regarding breakfast, it was okay for a limited continental breakfast, but I would expect more variety and food as well. Also it is a bit sad the hotel does not have liquor licence. For that perfect four-course dinner it would had been nice to have a bottle of red wine. Nevertheless since the overall impression was so great we could care less about breakfast and alcohol. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedingkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was the second stop of my honeymoon and this was by far the second best part of my vacation, the best being Mirissa. My wife considers this the best part of her travel. This is a very well built hotel but with a few shortcomings. The price we were offered was lower than what most others were charging. So the rooms with the balcony facing the main entrance are great! You have views of the mountains and fields and sweeping misty changing clouds. Excellent! Cant say much about the others though. The rooms is cozy, could have sacrificed a bit of the humongous bathroom to make it a bit bigger. They do not have inroom heating but will give you a heater on request. Do not keep your hopes high, this is a fairly small handheld thing but serves well. The nights are cold and the room does stay warm, I did not hear much of the wind like a few others mentioned. But what I did have a complain about was the intermittent hot water supply. It will just shutoff and you then are shocked by this blast of cold water. The food was fine, good breakfast, we only had dinner one time, very little variety, but well there are few other options around. I would recommend this place if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shri_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stay was pleasant, however the hotel needs to improve on the variety & quality of food available for breakfast. Room service is good albeit a little slow, but that somehow adds to the laidback culture of the town.
Rooms were neat & clean, nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sushant_bhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Apple Holidays booked this hotel for me and I was terrified after seeing the room.Internet does not work in the rooms.They switch the wireless off at 10pm which is unbearable.Blocked view from all rooms. They charged me for a 3 star and offered this 1-2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uaeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked in to another hotel that was horrible, so we had a look around few others, and by far Heaven Seven was the best in the area. We stayed in room 103 that was a twin room, lovely and clean with a big bathroom and huge balcony with beautiful views. The down side of the stay was the staff spoke very little English for the hotel industry so it was hard making yourself understood. But it was a cold night and they provided a small electric heater for our room and extra blankets. The breakfast was fine, an English cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a basic hotel but in comparison to other hotels surrounding it, it was probably the best choice. It is clean and had what we needed. The bathroom is nice, modern and clean. It has a small balcony but view will depend on which room you get, ours wasn't great.

The staff here are very friendly and helpful and overall the service is good. The food they had on their menu was all western food and it was very dissapointing, not enjoyable. Breakfast was a bit better than dinner. The wine is also terrible and there is no other option except can beer. So after the first we didn't order any more drinks. There is no atmosphere in the restaurant. We stayed 2 nights and on the second night we asked for Sri Lankan food which was very nice and tasty, but we only got a small portion. However they were more than happy to accommdate our request. I recommend asking for Sri Lankan food instead because they just do not know how to cook western food, and I guess that is understandable and i think it is common unless you stay at luxury places. I hope that they will incorporate curries into their menu, perhaps they don't realise that westerners do eat curry.

As for the rooms, well it's a basic room with unpleasant decor, no fridge or minibar, no bath mats or hand towels just bath towels. But it's clean and comfortable enough. We were warm and the wind is loud but that's not their fault. I note that their website says they are a luxury hotel with a five star chef, this is simply not the case. This is a basic budget hotel by western standards, and I can't comment on the price because it was part of a package for us so I do not know how much it was, but I'm guessing its not expensive.

It's walking distance to town if you dont mind walking back up the hill, but town isn't that exciting anyway. We went walking around town and the lake only because there wasn't really anything to do at the hotel except sit in the room.

If I was to come back to this area in the future I'd stay at a tea plantation further out of town although it would probably cost a little more.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clsyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
895 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Address: No 24 A, Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $78 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery, Heaven Seven Hotels is located in the peaceful Nuwara Eliya. Free WiFi is available at all areas and guestrooms come fitted with a private balcony. The accommodation is located 1.6 km away from both Nuwara Eliya Golf Club and Royal Colombo Golf Club. Enjoying panoramic mountain views, all the rooms feature a flat-screen TV, a dining area including an oven and a dishwasher. There is also a private outdoor terrace and an attached bathroom. Guests can utilize the free motorbike rentals and free parking facilities. The friendly staff at Heaven Seven Hotels can arrange for various activities including horse-riding, cycling and hiking. Other facilities include car rentals and barbecue facilities. Traditional Sri Lankan-style meals can be enjoyed at the on-site restaurant. Room service is available and packed lunches can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing