We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestay”
Review of Sincere Wilderness

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sincere Wilderness
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Homestay”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Lal, Grace and Romeni plus cousins and dogs, a really fun family to stay with. Food with cooking lessons was fabulous. Plenty of interesting discussions on everything from Sri Lankan animals to the history of this beautiful island. Recommended for anyone wanting a home for a few days in Nuwara Eliya.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent two nights with Lal and his family . His wife and daughther are lovely and also they are great cooks . The food was delicious , many different dishes , every thing fresh and made at home . Lal is the perfect host , will do every thing for you and for your comfort . We had a full cottage for ourselves . We slept in a big comfortable bed upstairs and there were two more rooms downstairs with a big table and fully furnished. They made sandwitches for us to take to Horton plains and even when we left they gave us sandwitches to take to the train . Such a warm family . Even the three dogs are part of the family and are nice to be with . Lal told us that they plan to build another cottage so they will have more rooms shortly . You do not want to miss this place when you visit Sri Lanka .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a real privilege to stay with Lal, Grace and Romeni. It was incredible how hospitable they were - it was very hard to leave! Food was the best we had in Sri Lanka, and it was great to see how Grace prepared it and learn about the different ingredients. There was plenty of space for the 4 of us, and the beds were very comfortable. Lal and his family could not have been more helpful, and it was incredible how they thought of every little detail, making sure we were well prepared for our visit of World's End and our onward trip to Yala. It is all down to Lal that we went on the unforgettable train journey from Nuwara Eliya to Ella which he helped organise, as well as the trip to Yala. He also showed us round the surrounding forest and taught us a lot about the flora and fauna. He even helped with the Easter egg hunt for the kids in the garden on Easter Sunday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustrianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The best experience we had during our traveling through SL. This family is amazing! Warm, true hospitality, amazing food...new friends.
Lal, Grace and Romeni thank you so much for everything!
Rens and Anne

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rensjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Not much to add, we had a great time.. meals were 350rp/person at time of writing to save some confusion and indeed they were delicious enough to leave us depressed going back to normal restaurants.. We did a 4hr hike around the local mountain forests, we paid 1500rp for the owners friend to guide us. The cottage felt huge to us, really cosy! About 200rp to by tuktuk from town but the walk really isn't more than 15min.. two great dogs teddy and brownie will be missed too! There's only one cottage so we were very lucky to get it reserved the night before, it was already booked for the next few weeks ahead otherwise.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

our stay with Lal and grace was a highlight of our trip to sri lanka. They are a special family and it was a real privilege to meet them and their friend Jaya. They are welcoming, kind, really hospitable, great company and have such a fntastic attitude to life.It was really good to get an insight into sri lankan life. Grace is a superb cook and it was lovely to watch and learn as she prepared meals. Jaya thank you so much for taking us round the sunday market it was a great experience. We will always have really fond memories of our visit ...hope one day we can return .

liz paul cal & alex xx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birchy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you are looking for a home stay in the hill country don't look any further. High in the hills overlooking the town Lal and Grace have a little cottage for guests with plenty of space to relax. You can eat breakfast and dinner in their kitchen all of which is prepared using only fresh ingredients and tastes amazing. Be prepared, there's a lot of different dishes but it tastes so good you can't stop eating, even when you're full. They are great hosts and are lots of fun, offering lots of tips where to go and where to stay. If we come back to Sri Lanka we will book Lal to take us on a tour around lesser known parts of the country.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalimar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,477 reviews
7.5 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nidwalden Resort
Nidwalden Resort
#3 of 193 in Nuwara Eliya
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#5 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sincere Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sincere Wilderness

Property: Sincere Wilderness
Address: Water Field Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sincere Wilderness Simple cottage family stayThe Piduruthalagala (Mount Pedro) is the highest mountain , of Srilanka 2552 meters above sea level, classified as a “Upper Montane Cloud Forest region” of the Island, this forest range is one of the unique high biodiversity hotspot, confine with exclusive range of native endemic plant and wild life this wilderness is a paradise for birders.The cottage nestled in the lap of the said forest range, with mini lobby, sitting area, attic bedroom and modern bathroom with hot water. Wi-Fi access is available. Enjoy range of mountain fresh tea on cottage, complimentary day along, make your own cup.Variety of meals is available with authentic Srilankan cuisine. (Enjoy home made cooking while you learning with our family)Tekking expedition for our cottage guests in the cloud forest.There is range of information available for your travel needs, things to do in, Nuwara Eliya as well as rest of the Island.“Spend your valuable holiday in the mountain holiday resort, exploring with unique nature and colonial memories” Access From the central bus station of the town, please ask for St Andrews drive and to Waterfield Bank, 15 minutes walk from the city via Waterfield drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sincere Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing